We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, brilliant rooms”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here with a friend - we were booked in for kitesurfing for the week and spent our last two nights on the island here (earlier had been in a villa with friends). Almost wished we'd stayed here the whole time - the place is lovely. Our two bed two bath apartment was way bigger than my flat in London, with a very well equipped kitchen for cooking yourself. Take food when you go, or hire a car to go grocery shopping as there's no store on site - but the food in the restaurant is very good and decently priced if like us you didn't cook. Highly recommend their piña coladas, especially when drunk by the infinity pools. Will definitely come back, especially given 40 knots kite school on site.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Adlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Nonsuch Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 593 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having stayed at many resorts in Antigua This is by far the best.
From the moment you arrive you are greeted with a rum punch at reception which was handled with elegance.Everyone here is friendly and professional Zoe goes out of her way to explain everything.The manager Grant made you feel welcome and escorted you to your room.
The accomodations are first class,everything was clean and the whole villa was airy all the time.
The restaurant was excellent food gourmet With a changing menue evey few days how can you not like ? While it is out of the way you are away from all the busy touristy areas of Antigua
which makes this place exceptional.You are within a 10 min drive of the best beach in Antigua Half Moon Bay!
Dont pay attention to the bad reviews this place is a GEM

Room Tip: Try room 712 partially blocked by palm trees but still you can see the water very private
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I am recently back from an 8 day visit to the island of Antigua. I was lucky enough to hear about the resort through friends so I was really looking forward to staying at the Nonsuch Bay Resort and left wondering how I can get back and stay for even longer.

Apart from the sun and the great food I most wanted to try my hand at sailing. Up until this trip my total sailing experience had been one of sitting on a friend's boat and drinking g and t's. The resort's combination of great instructors (thanks Mickey!!!), a variety of boats and a non stop on shore breeze helped me to go from a total novice/menace to an able helper and a quasi confident skipper. On the last day I went out with both my girlfriend and a couple of teenagers and we really had a blast. Between the turtles, tuna, sun and wind I couldn't believe that our trip was coming to an end!

I would be amiss if I didn't mention three other special people. Charmaine, Juanita and Chef Mitchell thank you for making my trip so special. Each in your own way and in your own profession you made a difference and for that the least I can do is say thank you again and I hope to see you when I next come back.

Sincerely

Peter

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We recently traveled with our 11 year old son to Antigua's Nonsuch Bay hotel. Yes, it is off a dirt road, but once you are on the property it's all well landscaped and serene.
We loved the in room check in
and Zoe explained everything.
Zoe and all of the front desk staff are very helpful( I'm bad at names but the Hotel's owners should know that they are doing an exemplary job!
The waitresses staff is just ok.
This is typical Caribbean waitress service( slow and uninspired), no big deal.
The chief is phenomenal!
Every order was perfect!
My only complaint is that there is an "extra charge" for a second pot of coffee( the waitresses warn you)Come on, really? $10 for a second pot!
How much could some coffee beans and water cost?
The waitresses bring a basket of toast to every breakfast- how about eliminating the toast especially if I've ordered Pancakes or French toast as my meal. The coffee was outstanding French press- always hot and tasty.
The rooms are spacious and well decorated. Maybe add a mat to keep sand away.
The rooms have huge covered porches- perfect to relax and read under. Our room (602)had an annoying buzz from the A/C but otherwise was great. All of the doors swing open wide to the breezes, but despite no screens, few if any bugs flew in.
The beach was ok: mostly seaweed but gentle waves. There are many sailboats available to rent, maybe the hotel should offer a few free kayaks.
All in all, a good value for the money, breakfast is pricey so consider buying a few groceries on the ride in. Also I think the hotel not charge extra for asking the cab driver to stop for groceries unless there is excessive time spent at the store. Somehow this cost could be included and reconciled with the cab company.
We wish the hotel owners well
and hope to see the resort prosper.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Having read other reviews we expected a lot from Nonsuch Bay, but our expectations were exceeded! The location, while remote, is beautiful. The two bedroom apartment was as nice in person as in the pictures. The restaurant has an amazing view, chef and staff. David was bartender par excellence! What really made our vacation though was the waterfront staff. They made us feel like royalty! Boats were ready when we asked, Natasha sailed with us just long enough to confirm that we knew what we were doing, and they took us out to several beautiful, deserted beaches on Green Island and picked us up exactly when we had agreed. We would definitely recommend Nonsuch Bay to anyone that wants to relax, dine, sail and snorkel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

While on holiday to Antigua again I was treated to a couple of nights at Nonsuch Bay resort for my Birthday and it was heaven. The resort was fabulous, the apartment was lovely it was pure luxury, the staff were friendly and helpful and really made my Birthday special. We had a fantastic time relaxing by the infinity pool and we even went on a trip they organised to Green Island for a spot of snorkelling which was amazing.
The apartment was self catering so we went to the restaurant on the resort and it was sooooo good that we ate here for all of our meals and didn't need to leave the resort.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As part of our tour of Antigua we stayed here for 2 nights arriving by jeep (rental). Before hand I was unsure of what to expect and booked mainly for the sailing, we are in our late 20s and like relaxing but also with activities. When we arrived the resort looked huge but quietly built into a steep cove overlooking the large bay. We were greeted by the manager and rum punch while booking in and then shown to our room.

The rooms, which are actually apartments, are huge, 1st floor. Enormous lounge with dining table, plenty of seating, very modern kitchen, huge king-size bed, even bigger bathroom with jet bath tub. There was a huge rap around balcony lovely to have breakfast on, overlooking infinity pool and bay. These apartments could fit a large family and they are just for 2 people! It seems the hotel manages most rooms but a lot of the smaller apartments are owned privately.

We didn't have the half-board option. Decided just to have dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant was amazing. Best food we had in Antigua and this is reflected in the price but well worth it. The Service was exceptional. Expect 25% taxes and service on top of every price you see. We were invited to a managers cocktail party with complimentary wines to try, good to talk to people. It was pre-high season but still a good mixture of guests. Mainly 40-60s with a few younger couples.

Pools were great and big enough for swimming a few lengths. The restaurant pool has an amazing view but does catch the breeze. Good for sipping a cocktail. The beach is good (probably man made). The sailing was great. I recommend the Hobie cat. It was so fast and we had great wind. Beached at green Island which was beautiful for a little walk. The guys on the water are great, they prep everything for you and keep a look out incase you're having any trouble. Go for the pre-booked sailing package, it is great value.

Overall this place is great and relaxing, amazing service, apartments, sailing, food. Would stay 4 days max (but we like to keep moving). Good for couples (off-season). Also, there are no local shops so make sure you stock up in St Johns if you want to self-cater. Half moon bay is an amazing beach round the corner so rent a car. Dirt track is not that bad. Recommended!

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking first pool from the beach. Other couples recommended the sunset sailing cham...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbenk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
471 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range: $324 - $920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing