We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Where a dream came true"”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“"Where a dream came true"”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We felt like Hollywood stars. My new bride and I greatly enjoyed our world-class honeymoon at Nonsuch Bay Resort! We are so appreciative to the entire staff for all their first-class hospitality. Everyone was kind welcoming and attentive to our needs at every opportunity.

From the time we pull into the resort with a stunning view, entered our stylish apartment villa that looked like a fabulous "Pottery Barn" ad, to the Tommy Bahama feel of their restaurant right on the bay with fabulous food, to the time our heads hit the pillows on that utmost comfortable bed; it was all just magnificent!

The apartment accommodations were fabulous and like new. Very comfortable, whether we felt like cooling down in the well-working air conditioning, or opening the doors out to our terrace patio to have a refreshing sea breeze blow in. We also loved having the full kitchen to have the option to make some of our own meals or just have a quick snack. In addition we loved having another table to eat on the patio while taking in the postcard like view. The bedroom was a very comfortable size with a spacious elegant bathroom with a nice shower and a Jacuzzi tub.

The on property restaurant was also wonderful. They had just the right variety on the menu with delicious creations from the kitchen of Chef Husbands. The food came out looking as fabulous as it tasted.

The grounds were beautifully manicured, with classy infinity pools on the property and a perfect beach to relax in the sun or the shade of palm trees.

We also loved the option of all the fabulous water-sports. Leslie, the professional sailing host, gave us a exhilarating fun ride out and around Nonsuch Bay and to the beautiful Green Island as we returned to watch the gorgeous sunset over the resort, while sipping on a glass of wine.

Zoe at the front desk was such a help and delightfully answered a variety of questions we had. She was always a nice smiling face to see each day.

Our trip was restful, and peaceful, and we loved the serene surroundings. We also had a blast around the island of Antigua. Nonsuch Bay was just the place for making a dream come true!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have a great view of the beautiful Nonsuch Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    116
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
224
234
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

WOW! Was our first impression of Nonsuch. Our beautiful beach front cottage could have been from Homes and Gardens, Modern,elegant furnishings, with our master bedroom having a four poster bed with drapes and the bathroom sported a jacuzzi.!
My husband has mobility problems which could have been a problem .. not so! The staff organised a car for him every time we needed one, indeed at breakfast time we had a phone call from Donica on reception asking what time should they pick him up. Amazing. They anticipated our every need.
The staff (every one of them) were simply delightful, a great team. Well done to the training staff.
On the mornings my husband missed breakfast they made sure we took something back for him.
One very stormy evening they had to close the restaurant but took our orders for dinner and two beaming members of staff delivered a superb meal to our apartment.
The food at Nonsuch is just superb. Chef Mitchell does a wonderful job.
Thans for a great holiday Nonsuch

Room Tip: We read reviews that said that the dinner menu was limited. The answer is that they will do anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have just spent a luxurious week in the beech front cottages (we had two) with 5 friends from the UK.The team at non such from reception to chefs, from cleaners to bar staff, simply everyone, are amongst the best we have found anywhere world wide. The cuisine was excellent and the chefs very happy to vary the menu and prepare individual dishes to suit.
They often say to you - "Whatever makes you happy" and they certainly did. The water sports too were excellent and varied. We went out a couple of times by taxi to shop and tour the Island but mostly we stayed in this delicious resort and enjoyed everything it had to offer including excellent cocktail service on the beech. We found it good value for money and have no hesitation in recommending it. We'd love to go back one day. Top marks to the non such team.

Room Tip: It's a newish resort so I guess all the accommodation is lovely. Best to look at a plan of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Excellent stay at Nonsuch Bay resort. Staff, our one bedroom apartment, the property itself, the views were all wonderful. We loved coming back to our five star one bedroom apt. every evening. the decor was so beautiful. White flowing sheer drapes, gorgeous furniture, Viking appliances! Totally top shelf. Special nods to Natasha and Kimba at the water taxi. Thank you so much for being you! Territa and Dawnica at Reception were so great and helpful. We will not forget you! The bartender and waitstaff were wonderful! The food in the restaurant was very good!
Antigua is a pretty large island compared to other islands we have been to. It is a 45 minute drive from one side to another. So, we did do a lot of driving. Nonsuch is on a part of the island where there isn't a lot of action. If you are looking for nightclubs and easy access to lots of different restaurants this is not the place for you. If you don't mind driving yourself in a rental car and don't need a lot of action nearby, you will love this place. This is secluded luxury.
We rented our vehicle from Vernon's. I can't say enough how impressed we are with them. Customer Service seems to be a top priority. They were warm, friendly, helpful and went out of their way for us. They made the whole rental car thing a breeze.
What is near this resort is Stingray City, a fabulous time and highly recommend it! Long Bay beach and Devils Bridge are also nearby. (maybe a fifteen minute drive). Other than that it is typically 30 to 45 minutes to go anywhere else on the island.
The dirt road leading to the resort didn't seem all that bad to us. My husband seemed to rather enjoy it. He treated it like an obstacle course avoiding all the holes. He had fun with it actually.
I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I think any apartment or villa here would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaTravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We visited Nonsuch Bay in April this year, to celebrate a birthday, go kitesurfing and have a holiday with our two children aged 3 and 1. We booked Nonsuch so that we could have an apartment, be near the beach and have access to full hotel facilities. In short, we had a superb time and can't wait to visit again!

Apart from a stunning location, first class accommodation and brilliant sailing, the staff really are great from the reception and restaurant to the sailing instructors and the excellent kids club run by the lovely Natasha, who also teaches sailing.The resort is about 30 mins from the airport and yes, there is the bumpy last couple of miles to the resort along an unmade road, but to be honest it's not that bad and totally worth it when you arrive! The resort is nestled in hillside crescent overlooking the magnificent bay and Green Island.

We stayed in a two bed apartment which was stunning, beautifully furnished with a full kitchen (dishwasher/massive fridge/coffee maker) and washer/dryer room. A balcony wrapped around the whole apartment and had a table and chairs and two sun loungers and other easy chairs. Everything was top quality, the beds were enormous, the bathrooms large and clean, one with a whirlpool bath and every day we had fresh fluffy towels replaced when the room was cleaned. Milk, water, tea and coffee were supplied on arrival and coffee was replaced for the percolator every day. The dishwasher was put on every day by the maid who diligently cleaned and tidied up. The lounge had a enormous white linen sofa and chairs, a big TV with cable and WiFi. (Note: if you need a cot, there is a US$10 per night charge!)

Every morning we enjoyed a huge continental breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal yoghurt, more pastries than you could eat - all of which was excellent quality and served by the friendly staff in the restaurant. The restaurant was in a lovely position overlooking the bay and only a 5 min walk from our apartment which was on the far side. Lunch had a varied menu, pasta, panninis, sandwiches, wraps and steaks. Prices started from about $13US. The dinner menu had less choice, but all the dishes were really delicious and beautifully presented. The cocktail and wine menu was good too. Prices for dinner mains started at about $27US, so dinner there every night could bump up your bill. There are no other local restaurants to walk to, so if you prefer this, be warned! So we also headed for the supermarket. There is a round trip price of $70US to the enormous Epicurean near the airport. Here there is everything you would get at home together with a large pharmacy. If you're travelling with kids, its all here, nappies, wipes, swim nappies, creams etc etc. (Baileys at English Harbour, not brilliant if you need to get kids type food/supplies)We also hired a car from Vernons for one day, all in - with a gas fill up - it was about $100US which includes the mandatory 20 dollar permit. The car was the cheapest Toyota, but was very good quality and easily made it down the bumpy road - you don't need a 4X4! There's a couple of kids car seats available too.

There's a lot written about the beach by other reviewers, so here's our take on it. It is a small but perfectly formed beach. Similar in size to the beach at other resorts on the island. There's lots of shady palm trees and more than enough good sun loungers for everyone. There is some weed every morning on the beach, but the staff diligently sweep it up and by mid morning the main part of the beach is usually clear. The beach is fantastic for kids, buckets and spades are available from the kids club, the beach shelves gently into the sea and the harbour wall means there's no big waves. You're also a minute from the restaurant/bar to get your cocktails or drinks and two mins from one of the swimming pools. There's a freshwater shower too, situated between the dinghy beach and the main beach.
The sailing equipment was great and well looked after. They have RS boats, smaller dinghies and larger Elites, together with the obligatory windsurfers and Hobie Cats! The kite surfers could not launch from the beach, instead were sped over to Green Island (15 mins) which is a little paradise, you must visit even if you are not kiting! The daily fee for this is about $35US, but includes a couple of trips (back to the hotel at lunch if you want) and a safety boat at your beck and call. Good kiters were allowed to sail back to the hotel beach at the very end of the day. All safety kit was supplied. We 'bought' 20 hours for the week to use the sailing kit and just signed in and out.

We also used the kids club. They have a converted apartment near the main swimming pool decked out with loads of toys and a TV, a big sofa and cushions for napping. Our kids were looked after splendidly by Natasha and her team. They really love kids and they enjoyed swimming, playing on the beach, painting etc etc. Older kids could go on a Swallows and Amazons type adventure day which sounded great fun. It's not a cheap service but its good and you can get package rates. The girls were available for babysitting in the evening too.

The great thing about this resort though is that it's calm, easy and completely stress free. The other guests we met all seemed to be lovely and friendly too, there's a really nice vibe about the place which made it so easy to do anything. I also enjoyed a spa treatment in our room, provided by their mobile therapist Olivia. She is brilliant and if you need a good back massage - wow - she has amazing hands!

If you are hesitating on booking here, don't. The place is superb, off the beaten track but really worth it. The road is ok (!), the beach is great, the food fabulous and the accommodation will knock your socks off, we were utterly spoilt! Whilst we went with our family, we wished it was a honeymoon as it would also have been perfect!

Room Tip: The beach huts are great but have no view or steps to the beach. They are exactly the same as the ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frosties16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just got back from a five night stay in a 3 bedroom 3 bath villa. We were traveling with a 2 year old and three year old. First off if you are looking for a full service resort type stay this is not the place for you. There is no beach side cocktail service and you are kinda on your own thru out the day, but that is what makes this place so enjoyable.
We had a private pool in the villa and ordered all meals to the room and skipped the restaurant all together, as the villa was the nicest part of this trip. The pictures do not do it justice. It is 3700 square feet of luxury with so much space you do not know what to do with it. The pool is perfect, not too big not too small. It was spotlessly clean. There were locks on the tops of the doors so the kids could not get out.

Cons: The beach chairs near the beach were not the best and there were alot of ants.
If you wanted a drink while you were by pool or beach you had to go and get it which was not too close so it seemed to be more work than it was worth.
As in the caribbean everything is very slow so you have to be patient and expect to wait for things.
I recommend when ordering any drinks to order a bag of ice as the fridge did not keep things too cold.
There were no snack options between meals so pack some food or have the resort pack the fridge before you get there.

The food was delicious. Everything we ordered was amazing. They had a large kids menu which was helpful and healthy choices too. If you are staying longer than 5 days you will get a little sick of the menu but the quality was good so can't really complain.

The staff was very friendly but not overly intrusive. We stayed in the villa which was set back from the resort so when we wanted to travel to the big pools or beach we had to call for a ride which was slightly annoying but not too bad and is why we choose to stay in the villa most of the time.
The resort is still under construction so not all the villas and rooms seemed to be finished but was not an issue. I think in a few years this will be a top notch place once it becomes a completed resort.

Room Tip: we stayed in townhouse 18-BEAUTIFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The resort, villa and staff far exceeded our expectations. We booked a one bedroom and were upgraded to a two bedroom upon check-in. It was gorgeous with a fully equiped kitchen we used to cook meals which really helped keep down expenses. It had a fantastic view of the infinity pool & the bay. The staff was fantastic. Natasha who picked us up from Green Island after snorkeling said we should request curried goat for dinner since it is an island speciality. She said the kitchen will accommodate special requests if at all possible. At breakfast we asked and at dinner it was noted to be a special for the evening! It was terrific and it ended up selling out so it was a win win for everyone but the goat (I am a vegetarian, it was for my husband). As for the snorkeling to Green Island, go first thing in the morning or after 2pm as tour groups tend to be there in the middle of the day. We went one day at 2pm and were literally the only people there. It was very clear and the water was warm, perfect conditions. As for groceries, we did have to go back to St. John to get those. We went to the Epicurion which it is a large, US type grocery store. We rented an SUV as suggested in other reviews and it was definitely the way to go. It allowed us the freedom to go to other beaches and see the island without having to take expense tours. Driving is on the left which is easy with only two lane roads. The difficulities are that the roads are very curvy, not very wide and not all well maintained. The drive back and forth to the resort does get old but at the same time that is what makes it very secluded! We only suggestions for improvement: 1. It would be great to get some variety into the menus for breakfast and dinner (we didn't eat any lunches there) since they didn't change during the course of the week except for our goat dinner request 2. It would be great if the dirt road could be paved or at least the pot holes fixed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
452 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,736 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Property: Nonsuch Bay Resort
Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, West Indies, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing