We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nonsuch bay is the perfect Caribbean vacation destination!”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cartagena, Colombia
2 reviews
“Nonsuch bay is the perfect Caribbean vacation destination!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Nonsuch bay is one of the most serene, blissful resort in the Caribbean. Not only are the accommodations comfortable, spacious and extremely relaxing, the staff was incredibly hospitable. This resort has a wonderful sailing facility, with options for young children to competitive sailors. The all inclusive package is quite reasonable, including a gorgeous condo with a kitchen, incredible food named 2011 best chef in the Caribbean, serene pools and beach, and a plethora of on the water activities. I would recommend Nonsuch bay for a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joylmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    113
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
222
226
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We recently stayed at this beautiful resort for one week with our kids aged 1 and 3. We stayed in one of the cottages right on the beachfront. The resort is fantastic as it's quiet, clean, has a great kids friendly beach, has brilliant food and very friendly staff. If you like a high-end, not crowded, luxurious and kids friendly resort, you want to go here. The sailing facilities are terrific also, with great staff and excellent facilities. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed there for 7 nights and it was my first time to antigua. The resort offers Cottages and Villas that are self contained with all the necessary equipment required with unblocked sea view. I stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very well designed, furnished, well maintained, clean and with natural air circulation along with central air conditioning.

The restaurant offered us good quantity of meals with the right balance of taste and is reasonably priced.

If anyone is on Holiday or Business trip, i would definately reccomend this place as a true Sanctuary with unblocked views, Private Beach, Green/Blue Ocean at your doorstep and lots of water sport acitivities. The only drawback would be that it is far from the city but in my opinion you can not get this peace, beauty and a piece of harmony within any city resort.

Looking forward to coming back to Antigua in May.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexmeccti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

A wonderfully quiet resort set around a picturesque bay made our holiday to antigua very special. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, even to the point of entertaining our 2 year old every morning at breakfast. Our 2 bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed. I can recommend the sailing whatever your experience level. Very safe and great tuition. Restaurant was good with lovely breakfasts. We've already booked to go back again next year

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stwvensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived last Wednesday and stayed for four nights. It was my first time to Antigua so I did not know what to expect. We rented a car after reading various reviews that the hotel was 30 minutes from town, and we are glad we did! We drove in from the airport after stopping at a local grocery store to stock up on a few snack, lunch and drink items. First of all, the grocery store was one of the nicest I have ever been in- States included! It had everything you could possibly need. After a quick trip to the store, we made our way to the hotel via the directions they provided. The roads aren't marked as well as in the States, but the directions were good and we didn't get lost :) When we arrived, we were greeted with rum punch and extremely friendly service. We were taken to our 1 bedroom villa which blew my mind!

Our villa was complete with a/c, wrap around balcony, kitchen with stainless steel appliances, wifi, ipod/iphone dock to play music from, first class decorations and furniture (including a large dining room table), king sized bed, separate bath and shower, walk in closet and in room safe. It was great!

The first night we ate at the hotel and it was superb! The chef was actually voted 2011 Caribbean chef of the year. Nice food choices, great wine, and loved the little surprise snack they brought out before each dinner. They offer dinner every half hour from 6:30-8:30. We always chose the 8:30 dinner because we like later dinners. We usually finished around 10pm, enough time to have one more drink at the bar before it closed at 10:30! The restaurant is open every day and every night (not sure what other reviewers were talking about when they said it wasn't. Maybe this is a new thing)

We spent our first day snorkeling at Green Island. The hotel gives you a dingy ride over there (about 5-10 minutes) and comes back to pick you up when you want. They also give you a walkie talkie to radio over if you want an earlier/later pick up. It was BEAUTIFUL! We had the beach to ourselves for the first part and during the second part, a booze cruise came stopped at the beach. It was actually really fun! They invited us on their boat and gave us free drinks and a free lunch. (I forgot to mention that the hotel will pack you a lunch if you want to take a picnic.) We had so much fun, we asked to picked up later. The snorkeling was nice and the water was perfect.

The second night we took a taxi to Shirley Heights for sunset (great photo opportunity!), dinner and the steel drum band. It was nice to get such a great view, but I heard Sundays are the best night to go because that is their "big" night. Unfortunately, we were leaving Sunday, so Thursday it was. Dinner was bbq....yum! Our taxi driver then took us to English Harbor where we explored a little bit of the night life. The town is really cute and everyone is SO friendly! It was a mix between locals and yachters/sailors who were docking for the weekend in English Harbor. We returned to our hotel later in the night after the 30 minute drive back from town. The cab fare is $70 US roundtrip, but worth it, I thought. *Note: cabs only take cash and the closes ATM is in English Harbor. Make sure you have cash before getting to the resort (although at the resort everything is charged to the room) but just in case you want to venture out).

The next day we drove 15 minutes in our rental car to Half Moon Bay beach which is beautiful! It can get windy on some days, but our day was just perfect. We did some body surfing on the waves, sunbathing and walked the beach. Great afternoon! For afternoon lunch and drinks, we went to Smiling Harry's beach bar (right by Half Moon Bay beach). In the future, I think I'd pack a lunch and just go for the drinks. It was delicious, but there were some flies around the food that kind of grossed me out. (This didn't happen any where else).

Dinner was done at the hotel the rest of the nights (and it was great every night)

Our last full day we drove our rental car to the southwest side of the island to explore more beaches, and do more snorkeling. We drove down Fig Tree drive (beautiful scenery) to Darkwood Beach. It was about a 1 hour drive from the hotel. The beach was very pretty, although the snorkeling was about a mile to two out and we didn't feel comfortable going that far with out life jackets (which we forgot!) so, we swam and sunbathed. Then, went down the road to Gibsons beach restaurant. It is a very nice (and kind of expensive) restaurant RIGHT on the beach. It was a GREAT view and is everything I dream of when I think of a beach restaurant! After, we headed to Jolly Beach to see what a more touristy area of Antigua looks like. Just as you'd expect, lots of people selling trinkets on the beach, as well as jet ski rides, fishing excursions, etc. Not bad, but I liked the simplicity of Nonsuch better :)

Everything about this trip was just perfect! I'd have to say the friendliness of everyone on the island really stood out. The views were spectacular from almost every point on the island and the weather was perfect (it rained one evening for about 10 minutes, then was back to being great)

I highly recommend Nonsuch Bay Resort!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CourtneyC978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I grabbed my 3 children (all 8 or younger) and set out on a last minute trip to Antigua. Our "room" turned out to be a brand new, gorgeous apartment with hardwood floors, ocean views, a kitchen with Viking appliances, finest linens, etc. Property is gorgeous; lodge is candle lit and quiet. Staff was fabulous, the food was fantastic, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haskidswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I echo the praise of other reviewers. Excellent service- they brought us salt and pepper to the room, drinks to the beach, massages on the balcony of our villa, basically whatever we asked for. The restaurant was outstanding. Great seafood and presentation on everything. Beautiful, secluded beach. I had the beach to myself every morning at 8am to do yoga, and on the days we stayed at the resort on the beach, there were maybe 5 people at most on the beach with us. The infinity pools are lovely, but why go to the pool when the ocean is right there, and just as warm! I would recommend renting a car, as it is pretty far off the beaten path, and I imagine it would be extremely expensive and time consuming to get taxis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Property: Nonsuch Bay Resort
Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing