We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

2 miles of very rough unmade road to the resort mars the overall experience. Site needs a couple of electric cars/golf cars for getting around as the hills are steep and the pools rather difficult to get to. Dinner menu could do with a bit more variation for those staying for longer periods.

Room Tip: Get a site map
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanilla45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    107
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
202
210
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for one week. We enjoyed the huge appartments. They come with a fully equipped kitchen, very spacious living room, big TV and Bose sounds system, huge balcony, great sea view, very comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and very quiet air conditioning units.

We also liked the restaurant and bar very much. Having spent 2 weeks in total in Antigua, I feel very comfortable saying that their cook is one of the better qualified cooks on the island. We dined in many recommended places on the island, but found the overall quality of cooking in Antigua very poor. Not so in the nonsuch bay resort, the guy knows how to cook and he prepares very tasty dishes.

The menu is a bit short, however, and we had finished trying out all dishes after about 3 days.

The breakfast buffet is also very nice, but unfortunately does not give many choices. You have scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, fruits, pastries, yogurt, and juices. Perhaps some variety on a daily basis would be a good idea. Maybe omelettes or other things (french toasts, waffles, pancakes, etc....) could be made a la carte or something.

We booked the sailing option and what this means is that you can take out the sailing equipment as much as you want during the day, if it is not booked by someone else. You can also take lessons and the staff that work there are very nice and patient. They take care of your kids too if needed. If you and your family like sailing, you will absolutely enjoy this place.

The beach is the only thing that is below average. Antigua has many great beaches, but this is not one of them. The water is very shallow, which is very good for little kids, but bad if you want to go swimming. There is a lot of seaweed growing just about 3 meters away from the shore, so only very few sandy patches in the water. You can really just use the beach to go sun bathing. I know this will come across as not eco-friendly, but if they could somehow rip out all the seaweed that is growing there, the beach would instantly look a lot more inviting. Having said all this, if you have a rental car, other beaches are very nearby.

The location of the resort is rather remote in the sense that this part of the island is not yet developed in terms of tourism. This is nice because it is very quiet. On the other hand, it is a bit inconvenient if you want to dine out a lot or if you book tours which depart from the other side of the island.

The staff is very very friendly and we enjoyed talking to them a lot. The only small thing I would point out is that they sometimes took too long to set up breakfast. If you need to be in St. John's for a tour or to go diving, you really need to finish breakfast before 8 am because the drive takes about 45 minutes. If breakfast officially opens at 7:30 then you should expect it to be completely set up at that time, especially if you have booked a tour that starts by 9 am. Otherwise you are forced to skip breakfast ...or just quickly swallow a croissant or whatever comes out of the kitchen first. This is what we ended up doing a few times.

I need to point out that the resort is not fully finished yet. The road leading to it is not on a map (it is difficult to find the resort), there is some construction going on, there is no gym and no tennis and no golf either. The landscaping is not completely finished and in a few places, here and there, you can see steel rods sticking out of the ground. Going running is also not possible, as the resort is located on a hill that is rather steep. If they could place a couple of treadmills somewhere, that would be perfect.

Overall we felt this was a very luxurious accomodation and we would recommend it especially to families and people who like sailing. It is a good compromise between staying in a traditional hotel and renting a villa. In a sense, Nonsuch Bay is a collection of vacation villas with some resort type services wrapped around them and that was exactly what we were looking for. I will be checking how this resort evolves because I am convinced that it can become on of the great places to stay at in Antigua once it is fully finished.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pumkin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We spent a week at Nonsuch in February 2011. It was our first trip to Antigua and we had never stayed at Nonsuch. I read many of the posts on the resort and the island before booking, and can say all of our expectations were exceeded. As this review is about the resort I will not say more about Antigua other than to say it is beautiful, the people are great and we will return soon.

Nonsuch was amazing. It is a bit off the beaten path but that was perfect for us as we rented a car and liked to get around to visit other beaches and find good meals at night. The food at Nonsuch was great, the restaurant staff very polite and attentive, and the bartender (and cocktails) superb. We arrived on a Sunday night and our unit was not exactly as advertised so i went to the front desk on Monday and we were immediately switched to an open unit which was exactly as promised during the booking process. The staff was helpful and acted quickly and with our interests at heart. I can not say enough about the staff and their high level of customer service. We traveled with two teens (17 yrs old) who also enjoyed the resort. We took advantage of the sailing school and also visited one of the islands in the bay near Nonsuch. The weather was spectacular.

Nonsuch is fantastic. There are still growing pains and I know they will make improvements over time (it would be useful to have basic food available to buy on site so you do not need to visit a market off resort), but the place is magical. I would return tomorrow and recommend Nonsuch to everyone without hesitation.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ehh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Accommodation is mostly in large privately owned appartments which have been furnished to a very high standard. The restaurant is probably one of the best on Antigua although the menu didn't change during the week we were there. (Jan. 2011) There was a good choice of wines, with red wines being served at the correct temperature rather than the usual hot Caribbean temperature. As there were not many other guests at the resort when we were there we had the infinity pools and the beach almost to ourselves. This is a very quiet resort with no nightlife, but superb food - ideal if that's what you want from a holiday.
They have a brand new fleet of dinghies, catamarans and small keel boats which can all be sailed singlehandedly or with crew in the large open sailing area of Nonsuch Bay. With a constant strong breeze, the sailing conditions do tend to favour the more experienced sailer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmmanfordJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

superb sailing, fabulous food, very quiet location- great holiday if you want to sail!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herculesSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is not a resort, rather it is a private development in which some owners rent their property. Our apartment was 1st class, immensely roomy with excellent quality furniture and fittings. It was ridiculously comfortable for a family of 6. A daily maid service kept it clean and tidy. Nonsuch is about 1/2hr to 1hr drive from most of the 'busy' parts of the island, hence if you want to get about regularly I recommend a hire car. Otherwise a very efficient taxi service will ferry you around on the odd night that you want to get out and about. Each trip will cost you up to USD100 return though, depending on how far you go.

Life here revolves around the excellent bar/restaurant and the sailing club. Both are superbly managed. You will get through most items on the menu in about 5 days so you will want to go out to eat a couple of times in a week. Otherwise buy provisions BEFORE you arrive and use the excellent kitchens in the apartments. I found the restaurant to be good value given the quality of food. Count on about USD35 per head for 2 course dinner (less for lunch). The wine list is fine and affordable. If you prefer total informality there is an extensive menu of cooked snacks available all day.

The sailing club has everything you could want in terms of dinghies, keel boats and cats. In addition if you want to wind or kite surf a local team of instructors called "40 knots" are on hand. Our teenage boys were up kite surfing with only 4 hours of instruction! The sailing is very safe with good local instructors and safety boats always out on the water. The bay itself is almost perfect for dinghy sailing. 2 miles long and 1 mile wide, protected by an invisible reef, with constant wind. In addition a regular procession of HUGE mega yachts enter the bay to spend the day (and even night) and they are fun to sail around. Young children are well catered for at the sailing club with daily activities. Our older children tended to spend most of the time on the water. 16yr olds and up might crave a little more action unless they come with (or make) friends in which case the bar is probably adequate fun for a week's stay. For more action they need to head to Falmouth Harbour which is 30 mins and USD80 return taxi.

For us this holiday was perfect. Not only were the staff universally friendly, they could not do enough for you if you asked for something. If I had to change one thing I would choose a date when older teenagers are present, or I would bring a couple of friends for my two oldest (aged 16) to hang out with in the evenings.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank latinbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

If you love to sail, or want to learn to sail or just love watching the beautiful water this is a great resort. We love quiet and relaxed holidays but we also like to meet new people and chat about our love of travel or sailing. Nonsuch feels like you are meeting people in a lovely home.The dining room is intimate with a beautiful view of the bay. The chef is first class, the food fresh and innovative and the service attentive and very professional.
The bar is a friendly meeting place where you can have a cold beer at noon or a lovely cocktail before dinner. The sailing school is a gem, the staff do all they can to make every age and skill level welcome. I am looking forward to returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer_hatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
13.0 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
4.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
13.2 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Property: Nonsuch Bay Resort
Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing