We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B we have ever stayed in!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cysgod y Coed Self Catering Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanfor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best B&B we have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Mick and Mel are kind, warm and very hospitable people, they made us feel very welcome. The B&B is situated in very peaceful and idilic surroundings. We checked in about 8pm on a friday evening and straight away felt at home, the room was clean and had everything you'd need for a weekend away.

on the staurday we enjoyed a lovely day at a local conservation centre where we admired local school children's woodwork skills as well as enjoying playing games with family that met us there for the day. we also went to lake bala which we really enjoyed, the weather was fantastic. In the evening we enjoyed a relaxing soak in the hot tub in the B&B's garden admiring the beautiful countryside.

On the sunday we had a ride on a steam train before heading home. Breakfast both mornings was delicious, especially the yoghurts, produced by a local farmer.

We will definately be returning in the future, and we highly recommend Cysgod y coed !

Ryan and Amy (Yorkshire)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhunt1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
102
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

A lovely welcome, which was just the start of a great 3 days. Mel was very helpful with local knowledge, restaurants and cycle routes. Nothing was too much trouble. We even had tea and biscuits in the hot tub! Just what you need after a day in the saddle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilarySurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

If you are thinking of a break in North Wales, Cysgod Y Coed is just perfect. The location is fab for exploring in any direction and Mel & Mick will be able to advise not just the best places to go but also the best ways to get there to really make the most of the beautiful views. When you arrive there is a lovely warm welcome, a cup ...of tea and you feel like you have known Mel for years after only 5 minutes. The house itself is simply stunning, a real home from home and you can even make use of the hot tub. We had a lovely time and pretty sure we will be back. Oh, I nearly forgot to mention the amazing breakfast, day one was amazing with the cooked breakfast made from local produce... but there was a special surprise on day 2... Mel had been busy in her garden and made us a Muslie, yoghurt and home grown raspberry cocktail...mmmmmmm it was good ;-) Thanks again for being so very hospitable x

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireypoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Warm & friendly hosts Mel & Mick made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and you felt like you had known them forever. Their beautiful home is one of the most comfortable places I have had the pleasure of setting foot in, the communal areas are light and airy, with Mel's artistic touches & Mick's craftsmanship there for all to see. The bedrooms are lovely, with the most comfortable beds ever. The locally sourced produce made a fantastic breakfast, and special thanks goes to Mel for introducing me to 'Llaeth y Llan' low fat yogurt, all I can say is WOW!! Would highly recommend this lovely b&b to everyone, not far from Bala & Corwen and of course the magical waters of Bala Lake and it's stunning surroundings. Will be staying at Cysgod y Coed as often as humanly possible, the tranquility and scenery is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffette24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Melanie and Mick were delightful hosts, alert to anything to make our stay more enjoyable and creative in meeting our needs. The breakfasts were great. The building is relatively new, but has a very cozy feel to it. It is very well designed. And Melanie has decorated it with an artist's eye. There is even a brook going through the back yard. This is everything a B&B should be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

After a long long drive from London we arrived with the help of Sat Nav to a very warm welcome from Mick and Mel and a very well needed pot of tea and home made cake.

We were given some great advice regarding what to do and where to go and found ourselves having a great meal in a local pub. After returning we were invited to spend the evening with the family.

We popped off to our clean and well presented bedroom with a sizeable ensuite shower room. Where we retired early with a cup of tea, locally made biscuits and a dose of Saturday Night Television.

The following morning I tucked into a hearty breakfest made with the best local produce whilst my partner opted for the more refined healthy option pending a day on the local river White Water Rafting. Mick and Mel were our Sat Nav and told us exactly how to get there and what to expect.

What a day! What an experience could not rate it highly enough.

Upon our return we were welcomed into the Conservatory where they were relaxing. We were invited to join them to discuss our days adventure..........a glass of wine and three hours later we all thought we should call it a night.

The following morning and sadley the last of this visit...... We were once again greeted and encouraged to tuck into our heartly fantasic breakfast preparing us for the journey home.

Mel and Mick are friendly warm hosts, they invited us into their home and treated us as one of the family, nothing was too much for them....even the request for a fried egg without the "white" was perfectly delievered without question.

Ideal location for both local and other activies further afield. Mel and Mick have a great knowledge of everything there is to see and do and could easily double as the Local Tourist Information Centre.

A very friendly, family orinitated establishment, where nothing is too much trouble and everything is done to a high standard ensuring your stay is........ "Simply the Best".......We could not ask for more 10 out of 10. Highly recommended to everyone.

Mel and Mick are amazing........we are already planning the next visit....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Cysgod y Coed is a wonderful retreat set amidst rolling fields with great vistas out onto the welsh hills. Set out only 10 minutes walk from Bala, it is conveniently located but quiet and relaxing. The hot tub is a unique experience after a long day by the lake or in the mountains, and the clean and welcoming room we had, was indeed a lovely place in which to lay our tired heads. Breakfast is sourced from delicious local produce and isexpertly cooked and presented. Both Mick and Mel have vast knowledge of the local area and are as friendly and as welcoming as you could wish for. This was one of the loveliest bed and breakfasts we have stayed in and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobShackleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfor
2.8 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
14.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodiwan
Bodiwan
#2 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cysgod y Coed Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cysgod y Coed Self Catering Accommodation

Property: Cysgod y Coed Self Catering Accommodation
Address: Cysod y Coed Church Street, Llanfor, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanfor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cysgod y Coed Self Catering Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small four star business set in beautiful surroundings within walking distance of the market town of Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. The location is great for a peaceful break, a base for touring or for activities such as cycling, walking, fishing, canoeing and white water rafting. We have self catering accommodation just for two people. Both properties are on one level. Cysgod Bach Cottage - is modern and stylish and has everything you need for your holiday. There is decking outside in the South facing secluded garden. Caban y Saer (Carpenter's Cabin) - for two people. It sits on the edge of the river Hafesb with a huge deck where you can enjoy the peace and quiet. Equipped with everything you need for your stay with us. Croeso mawr/A Big Welcome! Mel & Mick ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing