We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A more traditional B & B! Shoes not allowed!”

Trecoed Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Disserth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trecoed Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Disserth B&B and Inns
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“A more traditional B & B! Shoes not allowed!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here recently and I have to say that I cannot work up the enthusiasm of other reviewers. I usually stay in 4 star B & Bs and there is quite a difference. To access my room I had to go through the sitting room where Elsie had her TV. I was ordered to remove my shoes at the door which I have never, ever done before. This was due to new carpets upstairs. I would have gone for a darker colour and let guests keep their shoes on. There was snow outside and my feet were cold all the time I was in the house. The heating in my room had only just been turned on when I got there and it was decidedly chilly!

The bed was comfortable, the room was fine and the breakfast was good but personally, I would not stay again. How unlike the other two B & Bs I have reviewed recently where the heating was on full blast all night and it was far more cosy!

Room Tip: Take your own heater!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911euf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie P, Public Relations Manager at Trecoed Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
First of all I would just like to say that I am sorry that you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay at Trecoed Farm which is our aim.

Being a traditional working farm bed and breakfast as opposed to a custom built hotel or guest house does mean that there is no separate entrance for guests and we also find that keeping outside shoes at the front door ensures that the floor coverings stay at the high quality and level of cleanliness that most of our guests have come to expect from us.

We do provide slippers for the use of our guests and had I been made aware at the time that you were feeling cold, I'm sure that I could have rectified the problem.

Thank you for your stay with us and your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed Trecoed Farm in Feb with my parents who has never been to Wales before. They loved this place. We booked all 3 rooms avaiable in this farm and each room has beautiful view of brecon beacons. The lady who runs B&B is very kind and welcoming. Breakfast was better than 5 star hotel food and we really had fabulous time in the B&B.
Deffinitely recommended and hopefullly i can visit there near future.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ji Young K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were extremely lucky to secure a late booking for two nights in a twin room at this lovely bed and breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely Elsie and the breakfast was extremely good and set us up for the day.We did not have an evening meal but I have no doubts that it would have been excellent.
A working farm and the proprietors home - as bed and breakfast were in days of old but with the added luxury you could need . Will soon return if we can get a room :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenuineUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The lady who runs this bed and breakfast is very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was gorgeous - and indeed, friend's baby was looked after whilst the mum managed to eat relaxed. Lady is very accommoating. Everything was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneC357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've stayed with Elsie and Dilwyn quite a few times over the past 2 years and every time it's been really great, the scenery, the family, the animals and the fried brekkies are all amazing. Our team stays in the double, twin and single rooms when we visit, so I can assure all the rooms are of very good size and are very clean. The location is great for nipping into Builth Wells or Llandrindod Wells and is just a stones throw away from the Brecons and if you want a more gentle walk/ hike you have the vast surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Well it was that time of year , time to return to Trecoed Farm after the winter,for my spring break . It was as good as ever , My stay was perfect . Lovely clean comfy bed ,excellent food and very fine hosts . It really is home from home .I have already booked again in the autumn..... Grace

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent ,clean quiet & cumfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bagshot
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

i have been returning to trecoed farm for many years, its like a home from home , i even got sent on my way with some duck eggs. As ever the room was very clean and,comfortable . Elsie and Dilwyn made me feel very welcome.Trecoed is set in very peaceful surroundings and is a great base to go mountain biking or walking.Elsie cooks a superb breakfast .I hope to return again this year ,many thanks to Elsie for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Disserth
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
0.0 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neuadd Henllan
Neuadd Henllan
#9 of 16 in Builth Wells
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecoed Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecoed Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Trecoed Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Disserth, Builth Wells LD2 3TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Disserth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Disserth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trecoed farm is located about a mile from the nearest main road so it is the ideal location for a relaxing stay. It has open fires, structural beams which are visible and oak stairs and flooring. The upstairs has recently been refurbished and there is plenty of parking. All Windows have spectacular views. It is the ideal location for any visitors who like the outdoors, the area is superb for mountain biking, walking/hiking and general outdoor activities. The Elan Valley is a lovely day out for everyone, whether you like admiring different scenes or like taking advantage of being outdoors it is a good central point, located about 20 minutes away by car. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing