We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in a Perfect Location”
Review of Styan Bew B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartsop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Styan Bew B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hartsop B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Spent two nights at Styan Bew recently. I defy you to find another B&B like this one. James our host made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him. There are numerous walks from the door and we may have tackled more had the weather been half decent. One thing that was lovely is coming back to Styan Bew to find the woodburner on and the sitting room warm and welcoming. Good for drying out those wet walking clothes and boots. A very comfortable sitting room with a table where James serves the biggest breakfast ever and a good sized bedroom with en suite bathroom. A birdwatchers paradise sitting watching the birds on the feeders in the garden. Woodpeckers, goldfinches, chaffinches etc. Would definately recommend to anyone who is wanting accommodation in the Ullswater area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

From your own cosy private sitting room to the amazing views of Hartsop and variety of birds in your own little garden, not to mention the comfy bed & delicious breakfast, our stay at Styan Bew was perfect. There are walks from right outside the door or Windermere, Ambleside and Bowness on Windermere are all just a short drive away. Like all the other reviews say, James is a really friendly and helpful host and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just the best B&B ever, no questions!

We went in April 2012. Lovely sitting room all to yourself, tastefully decorated and cosy. All the benefits of a hotel and self catering all rolled in together.

Set near Brotherswater at the foot of the Kirkstone pass the mountain views from the windows are stunning. Blissfully quiet apart from the multitude of small birds eating from the feeders just outside the window.

James the owner was very helpful but also very laid back.

Can't wait to go again

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave-Keele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My partner and I are going to trek the Inca Trail in Peru this May. We thought a weekend tackling Helvellyn would be great training. I found Styan Bew and thought it looked perfectly located and at a great price. Once there, it was nothing but perfect. Cosy room, great big bed, fab shower, the biggest breakfast we have ever had and James was the perfect host; he really couldn't do enough for us. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a fantastic place, a little piece of heaven even though it was raining cats and dogs when we arrived. The accomodation is first class i defy anybody to find a hotel room as good as this.
The hosts are friendly and very helpful but give you complete privacy. The bed was the biggest i've ever slept in and is so comfortable, you go to sleep with the sound of the river, you wake up with chickens clucking and birdsong, the best night sleep. Breakfast is a veritable feast, which will set you up for the day, absolutely delicious. When you have breakfast you can enjoy watching birds feed, just outside the window and there is a handy bird book to help with identification. Sitting in your own little sitting room of an evening after coming back from a nice meal out is a bonus, woodburner, cosy, what more do you need?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

After reading the wonderful reviews Styan Bew has received, we had high expectations for our one night stay there as part of our Coast to Coast journey, and we were not disappointed!! What a magical place! We were made to feel so welcome, the accommodation couldnt have been more perfect and the breakfast was fantastic!!! We loved it so much we booked to go again before we left!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

James and Ann were the perfect hosts and could not have done more to make us feel truly welcome. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast served in the private dining room which set us up for walking for most of the day! Hartsop is a lovely hamlet set in one of the most beautiful parts of the Lakes. Fantastic walks straight from the cottage with the opportunity to start with a boat trip on Ullswater from Glenridding and return via High Street / Thornthwaite Crag. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for peace and quiet and total escape from pressures of everyday life.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMCVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Styan Bew B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Styan Bew B&B

Address: Hartsop CA11 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hartsop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hartsop
Price Range: $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique rural en-suite B & B catering for just two people situated in the hamlet of Hartsop at the bottom of Kirkstone Pass. The accommodation has a private door, own lounge and wood burning stove. Ideal location for some of the Lake Districts favorite walks. Ullswater, Helvellyn and Dove crag are virtually on the doorstep while Ambleside and Windermere are just a few miles away. Patterdale and Glenridding are a few minutes drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing