We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel with fabulous grounds”
Review of Rectory Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rectory Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Coton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Rectory Farm last weekend and we found the staff was friendly and the hotel very well kept. The room and the bathroom were clean and totally lived up to our expectations. The breakfast was on for just an hour but it was abundant and the food was good. The grounds are really well kept.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 587 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

Such a relaxing place to stay.. Our room was very clean, nice white bedding and towels, sashed windows and good views. Classic antiques throughout. Loved the rasberries and all the fresh fruit served at breakfast. Roger advised of two local village restaurants for our evening meal and we eat at The Three Horseshoes - it was excellent and we were able to order our favourite oysters to start and the main meal was of a high standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

In our trip to England last week we stayed at 4 B&Bs and I had been looking forward to our last stop the Rectory Farm the most. What a let down. Yes, the manor house is nice - but the interior is a bit stale and it needs to be aired out. The room was 105 pounds and it wasn't even big enough to have a suitcase. It's very hot and stuffy and the beds are hard as a board. The innkeepers are a bit reserved and not your typical welcoming English folk. They nickel and dime you for everything - 2 pound surcharge for using a credit card - an extra fee for a full English breakfast. It's that kind of thing that puts one off when you are already paying top dollar for a B&B. Every other place we stayed in during the week was 85 pounds and full breakfast was included.

Oh the other thing that is so annoying - check out is at 10 am? WHAT? I have never stayed at a place that makes you check out so early. I guess that explains why breakfast, even on a Sunday, is from 8 am - 9 am.

All in all, not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AEKnSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed here with 4 friends on a motorbike trip. We stayed in the bungalow which is a little dated but clean, comfortable and secluded. The accommodation is isolated and very secure and the setting is beautiful. We would stay again, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The main house is amazing, the bungalow is great and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

First impression: nice garden, great loking old farm, but lots of noise coming from the M11 right nextdoor. The room: very 'british' interior, very hot and moist (although only 20 degrees outside).
Okay breakfast, but don't expect anything special. Quite dull, and if you want anything else you pay more.
What really bothered us: we didn't get clean towels. We stayed 4 nights, put the dirty towels in the bathtub, and then ... nothing. The room -supposedly cleaned- still had the dirty towels in the bathtub, exactly where we left them. A dirty cup -used for coffee, which was available in the room- actually left the room and wasn't returned. Cups from downstairs in the bar had to be paid just to use them... And when you want to take a shower... the water just drizzles a bit on you. So don't expect a nice shower. When some other guests commented on this, the owners just told 'they were aware off this problem'.
The garden as already told: very nice and big, but the swimming pool wasn't that well maintained.

And last but not least: When using creditcard to pay the bill, you get to pay 2% extra.

So really: not worth the 115 pounds we payed per night. For that money you can expect (and find) a lot more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This gem of a B&B near Cambridge was set on spectacular grounds, with immaculate gardens and a gorgeous, but frigid, swimming pool. Our room was neat, charming, and english, with a spotless bathroom and large windows. However, at night we had a problem: an outdoor floodlight light shone through our curtains, making sleep difficult. We brought this up to the owners the next morning, and our problem was promptly fixed. The breakfast was nice, both continental and hot traditional breakfasts were available. It was also a bit of a walk (15 minutes) to the nearest park & ride to get into Cambridge. The owners seemed a bit chilly, but overall our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My husand and I had a wonderful 5-night stay at Rectory Farm. The house is beautiful and our room was immaculate. The setting for the house is very private and the grounds are lovely. We walked to "The Plough" , a nearby pub, using the local footpath through the woods and enjoyed an excellent dinner. Buses into Cambridge center run from the nearby "park and ride" facility, an easy walk from Rectory Farm. The owners were very helpful and recommended several places of interest for us to visit. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coton
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,248 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Farm

Address: Rectory Farm Madingley Road, Coton, Cambridge CB23 7PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Coton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coton
Price Range: $77 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50 acres of grounds, Rectory Farm is 2 miles from Cambridge centre. This country house offers a heated outdoor swimming pool (summer), a tennis court, ample parking and free Wi-Fi. Set in a grand period building, the elegant bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea/coffee facilities. Rooms also feature a TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, and all have scenic countryside views. Rectory Farm features a heated outdoor swimming pool. There are croquet lawns and a spacious terrace with outdoor seating. For an additional cost, a generous continental breakfast is served in the grand dining room, including fresh fruit and pastries. Just 5 minutes' drive from Cambridge's scenic College Backs, the Rectory is 2 miles from Castle Hill and Kettle's Yard art gallery. The Grand Arcade shopping centre is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rectory Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectory Farm Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing