We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average B&B - a real find.”
Review of Anstey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anstey Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on bookings.com, and was a little apprehensive at first as there are no reviews.... So thought I'd be the first as my stay was lovely.

This place is odd, large country house, huge boutique style rooms, Not your average B&B by any means. Basically this place is has been a wedding venue (with rooms available) for some time and, from reading those reviews, are pretty good at it. They have just started doing B&B for a week or two hence no reviews on here.

Anstey Hall is in my opinion unique, it looks like a boutique style country house hotel, and if it was, would probably charge 3 times the price, but it isn't. This is someone's home, and they treat you (in the nicest possible way) like a guest. This is what makes it unique and why I think it's such a lovely place. All members of the family and the few staff (this is a big place) were very welcoming, happy, and friendly.

My room was great, very spacious, lovely decor, beautiful antique furniture, large wet room with shower and his & her sinks, as well as all the other things you would expect in a hotel room, even a little fridge - it was all very clean and tidy, I couldn't really find any faults with it - Okay, i thought the multicoloured hanging rail was a bit out of place in the room at first, but this is where I forgot that it wasn't a 5 star hotel (its very easy to do here). It's someone's home and that rail is
there because they like it.

The rest of the house is filled with weird and wonderful items some in keeping with the style, and some not, it's all a little quirky at times, but again reminds you that it's not a hotel, its a home.

The bar was a great place to spend time in the evening, guests and family members coming and going, but always happy to spend time for a conversation, and the terrace was a nice place to sit and enjoy the evening.

Breakfast was a self service continental style buffet with cereals, bread, toaster, croissants etc, lots of fruit, fruit juice etc, lots of different teas and coffees, and yogurts, cheeses, meats, etc - there was pretty much everything you could possibly want and I'm probably not doing it the justice
it deserves but all really good quality from the Waitrose down the road.

In summary - This place is an absolute gem, I loved it and will definitely be going back there again not only for future business trips but also as the perfect base for a weekend in
Cambridge. Yes there were a few things I didn't like at first, but after spending time there and getting to know the family a bit - everything is exactly their taste and character and that's what makes it such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulyandems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Anstey Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 298 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se supone que en el edificio principal se encuentran las mejores.No acepte alojarse en los anexos.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CVL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualquer quarto irá tornar sua hospedagem inesquecível.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karênina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Giusi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
Thank bloodflowers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: le stanze nell'edificio principale sono decisamente migliori
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Massimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giuseppina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
2.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,385 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anstey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anstey Hall

Address: Anstey Hall Maris Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range: $116 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anstey Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast acommodation features:- Huge bedrooms, some with four poster beds.- Beautiful antique furniture and a world class collection of Post Impressionist paintings all around you.- Bathrooms with massive roll-top baths or modern wet room showers.- Tea and coffee making in each room.- An honour bar with a well stocked collection of drinks.- Free wi-fi throughout.- Modern TVs in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Anstey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing