We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Ayah Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayah Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2014

we stayed as a family for two nights on a visit to Cambridge. We found the staff very friendly and attentive and the whole of the guest house was spotless. We had the large family room overlooking the garden which was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, and we were able to eat our take away in the dining area. A lovely family feel to this guest house, and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room overlooking garden was great
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Ayah Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Some friends and I stayed for two nights. The guest house was well placed on the outskirts of Cambridge in Trumpington. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. there was a television and Wi-Fi which worked well. The breakfasts are continental with boiled eggs, but given that we were going to a wedding , that was fine. there was coffee and tea from a machine available. The staff were most helpful, welcoming and friendly. There was a garden available in which we sat reading our papers on Saturday morning. There is parking at the front. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A group of us travelled to Cambridge for a wedding. The venue was about half a mile from the guest house so its location was perfect for our needs. The breakfast was more than adequate although it was unusual not to have a cooked option in a guest house. There was free coffee and tea available throughout the day and free wifi which is good to see. I think all hotels and guest houses should be able to offer free internet access these days !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel overall was excellent, clean and professionally run.
We arrived mid afternoon and were able to help ourselves from the free drinks vending machine which made really good coffee, hot chocolate etc. to have with our sandwiches.
As others have said, the staff were extremely attentive and most helpful.
The double room was not huge but is fine for two for a few days. Ensuite bathroom was small but very clean, fully functioning and the normal range of towels, soaps etc. provided.
Our room was located at the front of the hotel which was a bit too warm at night. It was therefore necessary to open a window but that increased the noise from the traffic travelling down the main road.
Couldn't believe an earlier reviewer who grumbled about paying £90 for two people for two nights. Have they seen what it costs for a very average hotel room a few miles up the road in Cambridge? The Ayah Villa is exceptional value and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to my friends.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel may be quieter, i.e. further away from the main road
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smolenskoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked an overnight stay at the last minute after looking at trip advisor. Late arrival was no problem, and we received a warm welcome. Very comfortable and well equipped room, all lovely and clean, and a nice well thought out shower room, spotless as well. Breakfast was help yourself, and all set out at 7.30 ready for an early start, but constantly replenished. Everything we needed for a good continental breakfast. Tea and coffee available from a machine in the dining area at any time, and it was very good coffee. Plenty of space in the room, so could easily have stayed for a week and had somewhere to put everything. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and it was very convenient for getting straight into Cambridge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We visited for the Cambridge Half Marathon weekend and had a most delightful stay. All we wanted was a bed for the night and breakfast in the morning. The continental breakfast, which included boiled eggs, was a very enjoyable experience and self serve tea and coffee when ever you wanted it, as well as water from a cooler were always appreciated. The welcome was very warm and friendly and Fazel took plenty of time in welcoming us and making sure we were comfortable. We knew we would be some way outside the city centre but we enjoyed the walk into Cambridge which took I hour in pleasant sunshine with half of it through parks and the river and the pub greeted you as you arrived! This is a B&B so remember that, but it is well run and the owners care about you.....well recommended. We will be back next time we come to Cambridge

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our booking:
My partner and I stayed at the Ayah Villa Guest House from 28th February - 2nd March 2014 in order to attend a friend's wedding in Cambridge. We booked our twin room (room 4) only two days before our stay via LateRooms.com. When I telephoned to confirm our reservation, I was very politely reassured that the booking had gone through ok.

The welcome:
A sign on the front door of the guest house claims "you will be sure to feel at home here" and that was most certainly the case from the moment we walked in. Although we unfortunately did not catch her name, the lady who let us in and took care of us throughout our stay was the most sweet, friendly and welcoming guest house owner I have ever met - I am extremely well travelled and stay in guest houses roughly once per month, so I have met quite a few! We didn't really need anything special on this occasion but it was obvious that nothing would have been too much trouble. The lady offered to push our beds together and re-make them as a double when she realised we were a couple.

Location and facilities:
The Ayah Villa Guest House is very easy to find with a well-lit and sign-posted driveway entrance right on the main road, and has ample off-road guest parking. If you are checking in later in the day you might be left with the parking spaces closest to the building which are a bit of a squeeze to get into, even with a small car, if the minibus is parked opposite (as it was when we arrived).
Although the hostel could do with some minor repairs and modernising, such as re-painting the skirting boards and doors and perhaps updating the decor a little bit, it is light, airy, warm and spotlessly clean throughout.
Our beds were very comfortable with high quality, white linen and two pillows each. The shower in our en suite was very powerful and very simple to use. The satellite television and unlimited free wifi worked perfectly - we were even able to stream a TV show. The only disappointment with our room was that the bidet attachment on the toilet did not appear to work.
There is a bus stop directly opposite the driveway which takes you into the centre of Cambridge in 20-30 minutes (the number 7). There is also a range of shops, including a Waitrose supermarket and some excellent food-serving pubs, only a 10-15 minute around the corner. Despite being situated on such a main road, we did not hear any traffic noise whatsoever, even with the window open.
Although hot drinks facilities are not available in individual guest rooms, there is a hot drinks machine available 24/7 in the breakfast area, which is centrally situated and very close to all of the rooms. There are even free biscuits left out throughout the night for if you get peckish! I am very stereotypically British in that I need and expect a supply of decent tea, and I was quite worried when I saw that the hot drinks came out of a machine. Having lived in Italy for a long time, good coffee and hot chocolate are also important to me! I needn't have worried at all as the tea and hot chocolate were all as nice as, if not slightly better than, what I drink at home! I didn't try the coffee. There is always fresh milk available in a jug in the mini fridge. Apparently the hot drinks machine is usually only available from 7.30am - 11.30pm but someone destroyed the timer and, as terrible as that is, we were glad because we were able to make a lovely mug of hot chocolate after getting back from the wedding reception at 2am!
Although we did miss the option of a cooked breakfast, the continental breakfast was very good with a range of foods available including: cereals, brown and white toast with a variety of jams and marmalades, two types of mini muffin, a range of fresh fruit, two fruit juices, millionaires' shortbread(!), and yoghurts. The yoghurts were Asda's own brand variety and there only seemed to be slightly strange flavours available - it would have been nice to have the option of plain, natural yoghurt with the fruit.
I feel it is worth mentioning that you can hear other people in their rooms. We only heard some very dim chatter from next door and the floor above creaked a little bit - but we had very polite neighbours so this did not bother us at all and we slept very well. Perhaps this would be different with inconsiderate neighbours.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend to friends and family.
Worst bit: lack of a cooked breakfast option.
Best bit: the wonderful hostess and the free biscuits!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
2.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,059 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayah Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayah Villa

Address: 157 Shelford Road, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayah Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
property description; A stylish contemporary Cambridge UK based bed and breakfast / guesthouse located just off the M11 motorway offering exclusive off street parking, ideal for business and leisure visitors. Located approximately three miles from Cambridge City Center, and London Stansted is 25 miles. The Ayah Villa guesthouse offers fully en suite single, double, twin and family rooms as well as a buffet style breakfast included in all bookings. Rooms are equipped with free view television and DVD facilities as well as wireless (WIFI) Internet access and travel cot available for family rooms (on request) all inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ayah Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing