We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of Ayah Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayah Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The good: Good size rooms and very helpful and friendly staff
The not so good: Breakfast, only cold and very limited selection
The bad: About 50% of lights in the room were out, parts of the room walls had mold, no toiletries (when asked they gave us an "all purpose hand soap" as a shampoo), they do not clean the room or change towels on a daily basis, only between guests.

Think twice before booking

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaistlinMajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad m, Guest Relations Manager at Ayah Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear you were not entirely happy with your stay here at Ayah Villa,
We understand there were some aspects of your stay that you felt needed improvements which I am happy to address.
Breakfast;
At Ayah Villa we serve a buffet style breakfast, this breakfast consists of.
A variety of fruits
A variety of cereals
Variety of cakes
White and brown bread
Boiled eggs
Fruit yogurts
Fruit cocktail
Selection of cheese and butter
Selection of jams and marmalade
Selection of Fruit juices
Coffee, tea and hot chocolate
This selection was chosen following a survey of over 300 guest questionnaires stating what they would like to see in a buffet breakfast. We are also happy to provide more specific items such as soya products should the guest advise us upon arrival.

In your bathroom you will find towels, hand wash and also a separate hair and body wash
The company used is mason &miller this company is used in a majority of hotels and guest houses in the UK. We can also provide other toiletries upon request and often make special purchases on behalf of our guests.
In regards to cleaning we always do our very best to clean guest rooms to the highest standards and we will of course look into your complaints regarding this.

We do sincerely apologise to you in regards to your unsatisfactory stay here at Ayah Villa and hope we have assured you that we do take all comments on bored.

It is very important to us here at Ayah Villa that our guest have a very comfortable stay. Whilst a guest stays with us we do our upmost to ensure they have the most enjoyable stay possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 256 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I found Ayah Villa through LateRooms.com for one night at a really cheap price, so I wasn't expecting much. I was so surprised. The staff were really friendly and helpful, tea,coffee, fruit juices were available at all hours and the room was massive. The bed was very comfy, en suite clean and it was lovely and warm. If you are thinking of booking another B & B, think again. This one is close to the city centre and defiantly one I would use again.

Room Tip: I was in Room 2 which had a single and double bed and was massive. It was closest to the road but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The place did not reach the standard of the 3 stars that it claims to have. The décor could do with updating and the bedside lamp did not work. The main lights also started buzzing really loudly after a few minutes. The room and bathroom could have been cleaned a bit better as there was dust and mould in places. The breakfast was basic but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad m, Guest Relations Manager at Ayah Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear you were not impressed with our guest house we do try our very best to keep our guests happy. We can assure you Ayah Villa is undoubtedly up to 3 star standards as confirmed by two leading UK tourist boards.
We do our very best also to ensure our rooms are cleaned to a very high standard as previous guest reviews can confirm.
Please accept our sincere apologies Ayah Villa did not meet your required standards.

However pleased be assured we are continuously improving our facilities in order to give each and every one of our guests the very best stay possible.

Should you wish to discuss your views on regarding your stay any further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Simon (Guest relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Visiting cousins in nearby Grantchester this was the closest place to stay with room. I litterally used it for the bed and that was it, but very friendly staff who let me check in at 11am. The room was huge with a double and single bed in and the bathroom was perfectly adequate for a b&b. I will definitely use it next time I'm down and have already recommended it to the rest of my family when visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in Ayah Villa in January 2013 when it was very snowy!

The hotel is in a good location and has ample parking, it is around a 10-20 minute (traffic dependant) journey from the centre.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and tea/coffee are available 24/7. The rooms were compact but clean and the bathrooms were fine. There was no problem with heating and the hotel has free wifi which is of reasonable speed.

Overall I had an good stay, my only gripe was the waterproof mattress protector sheet that made me sweat. Whilst I appreciate it is important to protect the mattresses in hotels there must be a better way than this!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked at the last minute & stayed just one night. Easy to find. Lots of parking spaces. Convenient bus into Cambridge. Friendly staff, free self-service drinks. Slightly disappointed/surprised they no longer do cooked breakfasts (just fruit/cereals, white bread &a few random extras like boiled eggs & rice cakes) & only take cash/cheques! (good job we booked & paid online). Given the low price though (compared to other places that were available at short notice) we were pleasantly surprised & would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clownf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very good guest house. Room was big, simply furniahed with flat screen tv and clean bathroom.

Location is ok, it would be a bit of a walk into the city centre but perfect for my requirements.

Staff were excellent. Very helpful and informative.

Fully recommended. Exactly as advertised. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 37 in Cambridge
1,122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rectory Farm
Rectory Farm
#1 of 3 in Coton
598 reviews
3.5 mi away
Home from Home
Home from Home
#24 of 126 in Cambridge
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayah Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayah Villa

Address: 157 Shelford Road, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayah Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
property description; A stylish contemporary Cambridge UK based bed and breakfast / guesthouse located just off the M11 motorway offering exclusive off street parking, ideal for business and leisure visitors. Located approximately three miles from Cambridge City Center, and London Stansted is 25 miles. The Ayah Villa guesthouse offers fully en suite single, double, twin and family rooms as well as a buffet style breakfast included in all bookings. Rooms are equipped with free view television and DVD facilities as well as wireless (WIFI) Internet access and travel cot available for family rooms (on request) all inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ayah Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing