We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but beds were bad”
Review of Ayah Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayah Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
1 review
“Clean but beds were bad”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

B and b was very clean the beds were very uncomfortable both woke up with very sore backs. States on there web site that full cooked English breakfast was available but when asked the philapino she couldn't understand a word we were saying to her so give us the managers number and he said there haven't done cooked breakfasts for 2 year so u get a kids box of cereal and cakes for breakfast apart from that everything was fine or and stay away from room 1 as the philapino was doing washing and drying and it's against the bedroom wall and hear everyone coming and going

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1grafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    81
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
62
79
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This should be a glowing review all about how easy this hotel was to get to the Addenbrook Hospital and how good value the booking was. However, whilst those two statements are true our lasting memory of this hotel will be of not getting a wink of sleep due to the unbelieveably hard and uncomfortable beds!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonnieMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad m, Manager at Ayah Villa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our guest house. I am sorry to hear you had an uncomfortable night’s sleep in regards to the mattress being to firm for you.
Most of our mattresses here are medium firm as a recent online survey suggested majority of guests preferred this.
We are now looking into ordering a range of mattress toppers so guests have a bit more choice for their comfort level.
We do hope you would consider staying with us again should you return to Cambridge, if so please contacting us directly and I can assure you we will do our very best to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here in July for 2 nights over the weekend. The hotel is situated in Trumpington which is a stones throw from Cambridge City Centre, yet is far easier to travel to and from when visiting surrounding areas. The staff were great when we had queries and very helpful with directions and guidance on what to do in the area. There is a Waitrose nearby to buy nibbles and the hot breakfast was top notch.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h4rryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I've stayed in four different B&Bs in cambridge recently, all similarly priced and the ayah villa was by far the the best and most pleasant. big room, clean, fresh, décor wasn’t dated, staff were tremendously helpful - i arrived late and they offered me drinks etc. very good service. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I arrived late at the place, and staff was waiting for me, offered drinks and made it a really cheerful experience. They allowed late check-out as I had an appointment around noon time and needed to change clothes before going there and they gave me the feeling of being in a family. Will definitely get back one day or the other.
On the minus side, the place is pretty far away from Cambridge city center and buses do not commute on Sunday evenings. So, better get there before 6pm on a Sunday.

Room Tip: there is one room that opens to the garden side which was perfect for me in order to have an early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruesselpassionata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the room with the double bed and sofa bed, which was relatively clean and large enough, except for the small bathroom. However, there are two uncovered skylights, which means it gets very bright very early in the summer.

The walls and doors are also thin, which makes it very hard to sleep when the staff start moving around and talking loudly from 7am, and playing music from 8am (yes, staff, not guests).

Only the continental breakfast, consisting of fairly cheap bread, yoghurts, etc was included in the price of the room, which wasn't clear on booking. We chose not to pay for the £6 cooked breakfast, as turkey bacon and chicken sausages didn't appeal to us.

One of our two bath towels was also removed when the room was serviced after the first night, and not replaced.

The price was cheaper than most Cambridge alternatives, but still £90 for two people over two nights. We would look elsewhere next time and wouldn't recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
1.7 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayah Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayah Villa

Property: Ayah Villa
Address: 157 Shelford Road, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayah Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
property description; A stylish contemporary Cambridge UK based bed and breakfast / guesthouse located just off the M11 motorway offering exclusive off street parking, ideal for business and leisure visitors. Located approximately three miles from Cambridge City Center, and London Stansted is 25 miles. The Ayah Villa guesthouse offers fully en suite single, double, twin and family rooms as well as a buffet style breakfast included in all bookings. Rooms are equipped with free view television and DVD facilities as well as wireless (WIFI) Internet access and travel cot available for family rooms (on request) all inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ayah Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing