We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful but not suitable for 9 month old baby!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Teach Blathana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kerrykeel, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
kate d
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but not suitable for 9 month old baby!”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Firstly the cottage was well stocked with everything you could possibly need, and the location was stunning but it is not in kerrykeel -in fact it's about 15km away in fanad, which is stunning but very isolated. This was our first holiday with our 9 month old son who HATES travelling in a car, so this was our first problem. The weather was dreadful (our bad luck) and we struggled to find suitable things to do. The beaches which were a short 20 minute walk away were absolutely stunning we just didn't get the sunshine to fully appreciate them. Another problem, which again related to our little boy was the size of the living room. It is quite small so he spent a week running around in circles, with me in the middle spinning round and round!! This is a lovely cottage in a lovely location but I would not recommend it for young families, it would be perfect for walkers or surfers etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you so much Malachy and Marie.It was a pleasure having you stay and not forgetting Sam.So so glad you enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again in the future.Regards Sally.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cawpab
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Beautiful quiet cottage near beach”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We highly recommend this cottage. It is comfortable and well supplied, set in lovely gardens with a beautiful view. Sally is a great hostess. She made us feel very welcome and was helpful without being intrusive. The cottage is half a mile away from a lovely beach and a short distance from the lighthouse at Fanad Head. Wish we were still there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you so much for a lovely review.It was a pleasure having you and your family stay.Hope you had a great time in Cambridge and France.Take care.Regards Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inscotia
easdale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just returned! Want to go back right now!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to Ireland numerous times and stayed in many holiday houses. The Fanad Pensinsula need not hide behind its more famous neighbours Inishowen and Rosguil. Yes, there is less tourism which might be a bad thing for Fanad but was just what we loved. The eastern side is said to be more interesting, nonsense. We loved loved loved the west coast of Fanad! Beautiful lonely beaches, the finest sand, the clearest water, those views, that air! Amazingly nice people! And then to come home to Sally's holiday house...the most comfortable, cosiest, homeliest and cleanest house we have ever been to set in a fairytale garden. I can smell the sea breeze and the flowery fields in my clothes still as I write and look at the pictures and want to go back at once, so do all my family! Sally is the best host ever! We felt right at home and she is so kind and helpful and we had great laughs too!
Now, don't go all at once:-) Shhht:-) We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cannot decide, views, the welcome, the garden, the house etc...
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
1 review
“Best break ever”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just back from three night stay at Teach Blathana with my husband. We were met by Sally who was so kind and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for her. Teach Blathana is a lovely house with everything you could need. This is a beautiful part of Ireland and people are so friendly I can not recommend it enough.
We had a great break, it was so peaceful and relaxing we are looking forward to our next trip back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved everything about this property and location
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Charlotte thank you so much for lovely review.So glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay.It was a pleasure having you both.Hope there is a next time.Enjoy the rest of the Summer. Regards Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William B
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in Fanad”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great two nights at this property. A warm welcome and helpful advice from Sally. There was lots of coal left for the open fire and oil heating too (essential for Irish 'summer'. The cottage was very cosy, comfortable and clean, would highly recommend this cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luiscoelh...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“peaceful”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very good house, very good host in sally, nice beach, nice and freandly people, a good place to go.brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing