We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Fresh seafood and gorgeous home baking.””

The Curlew Cafe and Crafts
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Kerrykeel
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Open 6 days a week; closed on Tuesdays.
co.donegal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
““Fresh seafood and gorgeous home baking.””
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Curlew is a real find! We have been going there for 2-3 years nearly every weekend for either Saturday or Sunday lunch.We are seafood lovers and adore the crab and lobster caught by Packie and served up beautifully by his wife Nuala. The ham and chicken are home cooked too and much of the food is organic.It's a good selection and the rhubarb tart and lemon drizzle cake are to die for-sooo good!
The prices are great- more than reasonable-12 euro for a half lobster salad is hard to beat!
There is a warm friendly atmosphere in 'The Curlew' with open fires and they also sell some lovely crafts and jewelry.The house is set in a lovely garden just off the road- great to lunch outside on a warm day.
The down side is they close around 5 pm but evening dinner can be pre-arranged with Nuala for parties of 6 or more.We have had a few nights there with family and friends for intimate gatherings. She will cook french or Italian cuisine also and our nights there have been magic.
It's good to have such high quality local produce-they only use the best ingredients. We highly recommend. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernadetteCo_donegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
co.donegal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and gorgeous home baking”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Curlew is a real find! We have been going there for 2-3 years nearly every weekend for either Saturday or Sunday lunch.We are seafood lovers and adore the crab and lobster caught by Packie and served up beautifully by his wife Nuala. The ham and chicken are home cooked too and much of the food is organic.It's a good selection and the rhubarb tart and lemon drizzle cake are to die for-sooo good!
The prices are great- more than reasonable-12 euro for a half lobster salad is hard to beat!
There is a warm friendly atmosphere in 'The Curlew' with open fires and they also sell some lovely crafts and jewelry.The house is set in a lovely garden just off the road- great to lunch outside on a warm day.
The down side is they close around 5 pm but evening dinner can be pre-arranged with Nuala for parties of 6 or more.We have had a few nights there with family and friends for intimate gatherings. She will cook french or Italian cuisine also and our nights there have been magic.
It's good to have such high quality local produce-they only use the best ingredients. We highly recommend. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernadetteCo_donegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must if visting Fanad Beautiful Donegal”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a fantastic little cafe, quaint with style and a character one rarley finds. We have visting Curlew four or five times and each time is gets better. Its located on the way to some of the worlds best beach at Port Salon about 12 km away. The owner are great and unique. Pakis crap and lobster are freshly caught 20 kms away. The menu is simple but great and I am not sure which is better the Apple or Rubarb Tart both fantastic. Make sure you stop especially is cysling as the tart will get your home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wheelby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fav place for lunch in Fanad.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Love this little gem in Kerrykeel. Great seafood and lovely salads. All fresh / organic / local ingredients. The owner and staff are very welcoming. Some nice local crafts as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bringing it all back home.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

One of the most genuine Irish things on my trip home after an absence of several years. Amidst a sea of "fake" Irish pubs, overpriced restaurants, awful craft stores, The Curlew came as a breath of fresh baking, genuine smiles, amazing craft work and the best tasting and priced food i have had i many years. My only regret was we did not have the time or occasion to book a private function. As worth while a visit as the breath taking scenery around, sometimes you have to be away for a while to fully appreciate the beauty. Congratulations to Nuala i hope the place brings as much pleasure to you as you bring to others.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curlew Cafe and Crafts also viewed

Kerrykeel, County Donegal
Kerrykeel, County Donegal
 
Downings, County Donegal
Milford, County Donegal
 

Been to The Curlew Cafe and Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing