We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Saint Nicolas- Always a nice hotel to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Remich
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Hotel Saint Nicolas- Always a nice hotel to stay at”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The hotel was always a nice place to stay, with its friendly and helpful staff and excellent
central position in the town, opposite the Mosel River promenade.
Since the wellness section of the hotel was opened in 2008, the hotel has taken on an additional attaction for anyone staying there.
Monsieur Lucien, Madam Isobel....see you again on my next visit to the Trier/Luxemburg area.
Thanks...
John Abbotts, Wuelfrath-Germany

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny10048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    78
    20
    15
    9
See reviews for
31
98
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed here following the enthusiastic reviews - indeed we diverted some way to savour this establishment. We were very disappointed - mainly in terms of value for money. Prior to reserving we had sought their publicised 2-night deal but were advised this was not available at that time so were charged 130Euro per room for B&B. Strange as in the event the hotel was very far from full.
The rooms we were offered were at the rear of the hotel and very small - equipment (flat screen TV, etc) and hospitality items were good and fresh milk was readily provided for tea/coffee making in the rooms. Beds were comfortable and there was little noise.
Breakfast was OK - not really up to a German small hotel where we had stayed which was less than half the price.
Although not of interest to us the hotel is just finishing an excellent swimming pool and leisure area which we were enthusiastically shown around by the Leisure manager. If you wanted those facilities we would unreservedly recommend.
We checked out after one night - the four of us unanimously agreeing we could do much better elsewhere (and did so).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naishcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucienHoudremont, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Naishcombe,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Saint-Nicolas & SPA.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations,
please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Saint Nicolas over Easter last weekend.
We enjoyed the stay at the hotel and everything was fine. Because it was Easter we received painted eggs in our room on arrival (must be a local tradition as we received them 4 times from various places) and a lovely chocolate rabbit. We also received a present on our departure which was also great.
We took the half board option and the 2 meals we had in the restaurant were excellant, the restaurant itself had exceptional staff and on one night provided some nice music from a piano player and violinist.
We had a pleasant surprise to find that it snowed overnight and was still snowing in the morning. Very unusual for late march but lovely.
Breakfast was adequate and available until 10:30 on weekends.
Not a great deal to see in Remich at this time of the year but plently around the area and only a short drive to Luxembourg or Trier.
The hotel is very close to the town and cruise wharf. There seems to be some major renovations happening next door but we never experienced any issues, probably because of easter weekend.

  • Liked — Reastaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wareinbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The St Nicholas is a really nice hotel, in a good water-front location. We liked everything about it, from the well presented public rooms, the spacious clean bedrooms and the excellent restaurant. Overall, a top class place which we and our two small children really enjoyed.

  • Liked — Cleanlines, comfort and high quality furnishings
  • Disliked — No car park
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Lovely hotel with excellent location in Remich. Staff are extremely friendly. Rooms are newly furnished, very clean and quiet. We enjoyed a late night dessert in their downstairs bar, and they even had a checkers set for us to play with while we ate. Great breakfast selection. Upon checkout, they gave us a calendar/address book with the hotel logo embossed on the cover.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank somedayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

"Perfect” was our opinion of the Hotel Saint Nicolas in Remich, Luxembourg. Remich itself is a joy to visit, but our five night stay at our "home base" at the hotel made our visit even more delightful.

Mr. Lucien Houdremont was the perfect host (and owner, I believe). He not only ensures, but truly desires, that all of his guests are pleased with their stay. What a wonderful man.

The rooms were roomy and modern with comfortable beds and windows that opened out for the nice breezes along the Moselle. I recommend the jacuzzi tub room. Complimentary internet access is available on every floor. There is a dry sauna on the property, or you can have use of nearby amenities at other locations in Remich where Mr. Houdremont has his connections.

Guests enjoy a full breakfast in the secondary dining room from around 7 am until 10 am (there is a formal dining room/restaurant...more on that later.) For breakfast there are hard and soft boiled eggs, all kinds of jams, cheeses, creme fresch, breads, teas, fruits, yogurts, spreads, meats and more. Coffee is brought to your table by a waitress if you desire it.

This hotel was booked for us by friends who live in Luxembourg and we couldn't have been more pleased with their choice. The Hotel Saint Nicolas is right on the Moselle in Remich, near to shopping and several outdoor cafes. We felt completely at home and perfectly rested while there.

The bar is very quaint and was excellent for meeting with friends/family prior to a night out (see photos). One night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Lohengrin, where you can order an a 'la carte dinner from an extensive but specialized menu, or order from one of the "Gastronomique" option dinners (vegetarian, fish, beef, etc.) which is served in three or four courses. There is an excellent selection of wines as well to enjoy throughout. Everything was very fresh and perfectly prepared and presented at table.

Repeat guests are the norm I understand so reservations are ideal.

In a nutshell, I very highly recommend the Hotel Saint Nicolas in Remich.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Have dinner at the hotel's restaurant at least one night.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mimifg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remich
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Vignes Restaurant Du Pressoir
0.9 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Schloss Berg
1.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#1 of 1 in Stadtbredimus
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Domaine La Foret
Domaine La Foret
#3 of 4 in Remich
59 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mondorf Parc Hotel
Mondorf Parc Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mondorf-les-Bains
123 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa

Property: Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa
Address: 31 Esplanade, Remich 5533, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Remich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Remich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charm hotel is ideally located in an idyllic valley full of vineyards on border of the Mosel River. The rooms include flat-screen TV, minibar as well as offer access to the Wellness center and an extended breakfast buffet. For relaxing moments the superior rooms include spa tubs. Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel. For you comfort a private car park can be optionally booked, free public parking is available along the promenade. During their stay guests can enjoy free use according to season of the outside pool and inside pools, fitness room, sauna, hammam, ice-grotto, infra-red cabin and Dr. Kneipp feet basins during their stay. Massages must be booked in advance. Restaurant Lohengrin enjoys a beautiful panoramic view on the river, serving elegant and light French cuisine. Fresh and seasonal products along with local and international wines will be recommended by our primed sommelier. (Best sommelier of Lorraine) The hotel is located only 21km away to Luxembourg capital, conveniently accessible by bus (2min walking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Nicolas And Spa
Hotel Saint Nicolas Remich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing