We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful site, lovely scenery”
Review of Camping Birkelt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larochette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Birkelt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we stayed here with keycamp and stayed in a mobile home. Visited trier in nearby germany, visited vianden - birthplace of victor hugo, and when we were here you could go about 3 quarters of the spa-francorchamps circuit from blanchimont to les combes (as it was main road back then)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mighty_Dippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Camping Birkelt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

A word of warning - if you are looking for a location full of wild nightlife, this isn't the place for you.

If however you're looking for a well run site in a stunning scenic location this could be the one.

We'd booked through Eurocamp and a quick and efficient check in its a short drive to the pitch. A large Dutch group of caravans had just arrived so negotiating the road to the accomoadation was slow but nothing on the site here is (normally) more than a five minute walk away.

The park itself is well maintained and situated - trees break up the various areas, or for those bringing their own caravans or tents pitches are divided by low hedging. The facility buildings around the site are low rise and blend into the surroundings.

Facilities wise there is a small onsite shop (though the week we were there the hours had been reduced) and a small restaurant/bar. Food in the restaurant was very good although confusingly we were told we should have made a reservation despite it being half empty!

A pool, a mini golf course and play equipment complete the scene for younger visitors but this is unlikely somewhere that kids/teenagers would feel entertained.

The park provides free wifi but its a bit hit and miss at times of peak use and the accommodation doesn't have televisions included so make sure you bring your own entertainment for the evenings.

What sets the site apart though is its location in the heart of Luxembourg's 'Little Switzerland'. The small town of Larochette is a five min walk away down a steep step path (another warning, this isn't a climb for those with limited mobility or fear of heights!).
Winding through Larochette and the wider region are a network of well marked paths that give stunning vistas over the valleys and cliffs.

The park itself is a short drive from all of Luxembourg's main sights (given the size of the country nothing is really more than 40 mins away), or there's the option to head cross border into Germany, Belgium or France. Roads are well maintained and once you get used to driving down a hair pin valley descent are easy to use.

We drove down from the Stena Line Crossing to the Hook of Holland and it was a 3hr 30 straightforward drive. Luxembourg isn't a cheap destination but its clean, well run and full of scenic beauty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skywalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was the first stop of this year's european tour for my family. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. My 10 year old is happier in water than out, but the pool was a disappointment. The water was so cold a 10 minute dip was all she could manage during our three day stay (and the roof was never opened). It was peak season but overcrowding had already taken it's toll on the pitches and grassy areas of this site. it was not a pretty place to stay. What you could see of any pitches was a mix of bald mud and long overgrown grass. Toilets and washing up areas were clean but there were often queues, especially for showers. toilet blocks appeared to close for a long period over lunch, though you were told to use another. Some signs giving directions to the next nearest block would have helped. There were queues for the play equipment - long enough to give up. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday-Mum-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed one night to tour the Vianden area. We rented the Pacific Camper. It was very clean and very comfortable. But I didn't get any sleep because the campers are way too close to each other...you can hear everything that goes on all around...especially the party until 4am behind us. There is no big breakfast. The restaurant opens at 10am, but they want you checked out around that time. The campsite is filled with retired folks and families young families with litle kids. We paid 114 Euros and still had to clean the camper ourselves. The campsite is too far from the Vianden Castle...21 kilometers. Next time we'll stay in downtown Vianden to get a good view, some privacy, breakfast, good night's sleep...for less money!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We camped here for two nights in a tent. It is a large campsite that obviously caters well to children (we didn't have any with us).

We had selected a camp plot close to the reception office for convenience, but that also meant that we were close to the centre of activities (and noise). If you have kids with you, this would be a great choice. If you are looking for a small, quiet location, this isn't the best choice.

Our plot was a good size that allowed us to park the vehicle next to the tent.

The camp shop is very well stocked and had a nice selection of fresh breads and pastries each morning. We cooked our own food but the campsite has a restaurant and a snack shop.

There were only two showers in the bathroom block closest to us but the facilities were clean. We had a good wi-fi connection.

The site is well located for sightseeing in the surrounding area. A day trip to Vianden and Vianden Castle is very much worthwhile.

Room Tip: Book a plot away from the reception block if you want a quiet area
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A lovely campsite in lovely surroundings. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed static/chalet which was surprisingly roomy. The toilet was separate to the bathroom, very handy with children who always seem to be busting to go the moment you step in the shower. The chalets come with plenty of kit, a BBQ, patio furniture and sun loungers a radio with ipod dock,a fan, a hairdryer etc etc and ample cooking equipment. The pool is great, its in a dome which opens when the weather is good and its open until 7pm. There is a well stocked shop with good prices, a restaurant and a take-away/ice-cream counter. Also there is mini-golf and children's play areas with trampolines. We noticed the pitches for tourers/campers etc are a good size with room for your car too. The site is surrounded by woodland with good walks through and signposted well. You can pick up the Mullerthal trail right at the side of the site. The village is a 10 minute walk down through the woods and there are 2 castles easily reached from the site so its a good location if nature and walking are your thing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived at camping birkelt after a 4.5 hour drive from Zeebrugge, on our arrival the reception staff at camping birkelt greeted us in perfect english and booked us in.

Our pitch was very generous in size although on a slight incline which meant we all rolled to one end of the tent in the night! The pitches are allocated depending on your group, I.e families with young kids together, dog owners together etc this was great and meant it was really quiet in the evening with practically no noise after about 9.00 - perfect for watching the fireflies and bats!

The facilties were excellent with family bathrooms in addition to the usual bathroom facilities.

We ate in thr restaurant a couple of times, it was fine but the menu wasnt very interesting - thr snack bat was better value we did enjoy pizza night on Wednesdays!

The site felt very safe and was immaculate - rubbish is collect from your pitch twice a day!

Overall the site was great, a very international feel with the majority of camper s being Dutch, Belgian or German. We would definitely recommend it to other young families

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philandcarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larochette
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 3 in Larochette
26 reviews
10.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 3 in Larochette
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Air Sport & Wellness
1.2 mi away
Auf Kengert Camping
Auf Kengert Camping
#2 of 3 in Larochette
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Youth Hostel Larochette
Youth Hostel Larochette
#3 of 3 in Larochette
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Birkelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Birkelt

Address: 1 Op Birkelt, Larochette 7633, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Larochette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Larochette
Price Range: $69 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Birkelt 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Camping Birkelt Hotel Larochette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing