We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Relaxing Minibreak”
other travelers have booked this property
The Secret Yurts at sunrise ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Secret Yurts at sunrise ...
The Secret Yurts Kingsize bed Peek inside The Secret Yurts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Secret Yurts at sunrise ...
The Secret Yurts Kingsize bed
Peek inside The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts window to the stars and sun!
Peek inside The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts where dressing gowns are provided.
Romantic setting at The Secret Yurts
Luxury cosy bedding at The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts log burner and lanterns to keep you cosy!
The Secret Yurts luxury hot tub.
The Secret Yurts luxury hot tub.
The Secret Yurts sauna.
The Secret Yurts where you can dine alfresco!
The Secret Yurts kitchen
The Secret Yurts Kitchen
The Secret Yurts your own private, luxury warm shower room...
The Secret Yurts luxury wet-room.
Sunrise at The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts view from Oak Yurt deck.
The Secret Yurts luxury facilities are close by!
The Secret Yurts Rowan Yurt
The Secret Yurts
The Secret Yurts in the heart of Wales.
The secret Yurts king size bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Dolanog, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hayley C
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Minibreak”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Found The Secret Yurts after googling "glamping with hot tub", and booked immediately a 2 night stay for my best friend's birthday, to have a relax and go for a walk in the beautiful Welsh countryside.
On arrival we were greeted by Tracey, who showed us around the site, there are 2 gorgeous yurts (Oak and Rowan), hot tub, shared kitchen, sauna, and separate wash room/toilets that are on the kitchen site.
The yurt itself is like a tardis! Has a little decking area on the outside with 2 chairs for relaxing, and then on the inside, a gorgeous king sized wood four poster bed (with an exceptionally warm duvet), blankets, clothes rail, dresser and wood burner (equipped with fire lighters, wood and coal). We hadn't used a wood burner before but it was pretty straight forward to use.
The yurt has a smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector just in case.
There are little lanterns all around the yurt for tealight candles, which gives the yurt a gorgeous romantic atmosphere at night, which again are supplied!
There is also a starlight in the roof of the yurt, which lets light in during the day, and allows you to see the stars at night. Unfortunately when we went it was cloudy, but there is pretty much zero light pollution around the yurts, so I imagine the sky would look amazing on a clear night.
The views all around the yurts is gorgeous Welsh countryside, I think I could see one other light at night! And lots of sheep as you would expect!
The bathroom was a nice and clean wet room, with a shower (rainfall and a handheld one), sink and toilet.
The sauna was standard wood, and next to the bathroom so you could get changed and get straight in the sauna. You can fit 2 in comfortably, but could probably get 4 in all sat down rather than lounging.
The kitchen was a really nice size, and well equipped with all the extras that you'd normally forget to bring such as tin foil! There are also ice buckets if you are wanting something for the hot tub :) (we took some prosecco in..)
There are 2 small barbecues that you'd be able to use on a nice day, although we didn't use these.
The hot tub is under a gazebo, so when it rains (which happened to us!), you are protected, and you can close the sides if it is really awful weather!! It's quite a fancy hot tub actually, with some really nice light settings for night time, and with massage settings too which were nice! There are some plastic wine glasses in the kitchen for taking your booze in the hot tub (would recommend!).
There isn't much within walking distance of the site of the yurts, and we didn't plan to do anything in the day, although we made a spur of the moment trip to Lake Vyrnwy and did an 11 mile walk around the reservoir which was nice, despite the rain. There are some leaflets of things to do in the kitchen and on the website though.
There are some board games in the yurt which we really enjoyed playing when it was raining, nice touch.
Absolutely loved our 2 nights here! Thinking about coming back with my boyfriend for a romantic break or with another 2 friends. Would highly recommend!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah l
1 review
“Sarah”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Absolutely stunning yurts in wonderful scenery. Tracy and Terry were fantastic too. The yurts are so cosy and inviting, the hot tub was a great addition along with the sauna. The bathroom was fantastic and the kitchen was better than my own at home, beautifully funished and very well equipped. I've been recommending it to everyone I know!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments so glad you enjoyed your mini -moon here, it was a pleasure to meet such a lovely couple and we wish you all the best for the future!

Tracey & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE most relaxing place we've ever stayed at...”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I booked a two night stay for the Easter break as we wanted the tipi / yurt experience but with the added bonus of a hot tub! They actually have a LOT more to offer than this as we found when we got there. Beautiful setting off the beaten track but still close enough to small towns and villages for supplies. The Yurts themselves are wonderfully constructed and fantastically decorated / equipped and SO cosy with the central wood burning stove! It's the comfiest bed we've ever slept in and also sumptuously dressed with the warmest duvet ever! The toilet / shower block is exceptional with plenty of privacy. The sauna is also a massive bonus as you can go from hot tub to sauna easily. The kitchen is well equipped and has everything you need including a table and chairs for four people. We had wonderful weather in April but the evenings were quite cold. We enjoyed the seating area on the mezzanine right outside our Yurt and spent many hours enjoying the tranquil scenery until the sun went down with our Long Island ice teas! Retiring for the evening in a toasty yurt was splendid and at the end of our stay we didn't want to leave! Both Tracey and Terry were very friendly and supplied everything we needed even more wood for the stove. We WILL definitely visit again and would highly recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable adventure!”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at the Secret Yurt's for 2 nights in February and thoroughly enjoyed it! The facilities were excellent, the Yurt's were simply stunning and we could not recommend it highly enough. Tracey and Terry were more than accommodating and ensured our stay was unforgettable! Having the hot tub, kitchen, and wood burner in the Yurt ensured we had everything we needed for an unforgettable Welsh adventure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I took my boyfriend to the secret yurts for his birthday in November and i can't even describe how amazing it was.

We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves which made the experience even better. The yurt itself is beautiful outside and in. Set in the stunning welsh countryside, surrounded by fields of sheep. Once you enter you can see how special it really is. They have furnished it so well, lanterns of different designs, size and colour all around the place with fresh candles to create a romantic glow at night. The bed is stunning and oh so comfortable and our own wood burner meant that we never felt the chilly November air.

The kitchen is gorgeous with everything you would need and we found ourseleves flitting from hot tub to the kitchen for our lamb dinner to the sauna and back to the hot tub again...all wrapped up in the fluffy robes provided.

Tracy is a great host, really friendly and leaves you to in enioy the tranquility of the place. They have done such an amazing job of making this place the perfect getaway from reality.

Definitely glamping at its best.

Within an hours drive is the pistyll rhaeadr waterfalls which are beautiful and the stunning lake vyrnwy which is not to be missed.

Book with the secret yurts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma j
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just had a weekend away at the secret yurts, it was just wonderful! It was a brilliant escape From daily life, the yurts are beautiful, full of lovely colourful furniture with a very toasty log burner, which is definitely needed in December! You get the best of both worlds as your camping surrounded by fabulous views in the peace and quiet, (I've never seen so many stars in my life!) then there's a hot tub sauna And an amazing kitchen and your own wet room style bathroom. The facilities are of a very high standard. Both Tracey and terry are lovely hosts, they kept us constantly in wood and coal to keep us warm and if we needed anything they were just down the path.
I honestly couldn't recommend this place any higher. Will definitely be hoping to go back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kezzaj198...
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning!!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my partner stayed here over the weekend and felt welcome as soon as we got there. The yurt was perfect, the facilities brilliant and the hot tub, WOW!!!! The scenery is great and it is so quiet there. Definitely recommend and will be going next year. The fire was lit for us while we were out so got back to a nice warm yurt. Supperb place. Loved it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing