We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in excellent surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Dolanog B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked one night dinner, bed & breakfast as a surprise for my husband for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived our hosts - Sue & John Gill made us so welcome...tea with fresh scones in a beautiful seating area overlooking the garden. Our room was beautiful. Sue had provided a mini bottle of champagne, a card & chocolates as a gift.
Dinner was at a time of our choice - a beautifully cooked 3 course meal & all for £15.99 each! The room was well appointed, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was huge! Once again beautifully cooked. As we are keen walkers, we wanted to find a walk close by. John not only gave us details of a wonderful riverside walk, he even drove us to the start point so that we could leave our car on their drive!
Our total bill for dinner, bed & breakfast came to £96.98. Such a bargain!
Our only regret....that , on this occasion, we couldn't stay longer. We hope this will be the first of many visits to Dolanog B& B!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CantallbeWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanG271, Owner at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words we always try our best to please our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a lovely modern B&B with fantastic scenery. The local walks were breath taking with Lake Vrnwy only a short drive away.
Service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.
Can't wait to go back in the Spring/Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pnutz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanG271, Manager at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you Dawn & Dave for your kind review looking forward to seeing you both soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent hospitality, the hosts Sue and John are very friendly, great food, very clean, lovely scenery great to look out of the gallery, looking forward to the fishing pool opening will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

High standard of accommodation and food with very welcoming hosts John and Sue. Very comfortable room and a delicious evening meal. One night was not long enough and we hope to return and stay longer. All the better for being off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A really excellent Bed and Breakfast and Sue and John were perfect hosts. Our every need was thought of, even down to drying out our very wet walking boots and jackets. We stayed 3 nights and had evening meals which were were tasty, filling and good value. We were walking Glyndwr's Way and John drove us to the walk and collected us on 2 days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fabulous accommodation, fabulous outlook, fabulous food. B&B's don't get any better than this.
We stopped for one night whilst walking the Glyndwr Way. It is situated right on the Glyndwr Way footpath in a small pretty village. There was no shop or pub but no problen as Sue and John provided us with everything we could have wanted. It was a pleasure to have stayed in such a comfortable home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sue and John are the loveliest of people who do all they can to make sure you have a wonderful stay, the house is beautiful and very very clean. The views at the back of the house are exceptional with wildlife to enjoy. The family suite with two bedrooms was self contained, with its own bathroom which was ideal for us. Breakfast is 1st class and when Sue found out my son liked pancakes she cooked them every morning for him and when we came this year it was on the menu (what service!), we just keep coming back with our family each year. I would recommend this as the best B&B we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Any of them they are all special
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolanog
5.1 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,530 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
131 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
#1 of 3 in Dolanog
164 reviews
10.1 mi away
Plas Uchaf
Plas Uchaf
#1 of 4 in Llanfyllin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolanog Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolanog Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tan Yr Allt | Tan Yr Allt Welshpool Powys, Dolanog SY21 0LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Dolanog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolanog
Price Range: $94 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to make our guests feel warm, welcome and extremely comfortable. We are a fully licensed 4 STAR Bed & Breakfast / fly fishing establishment set in the peaceful Welsh countryside near to Welshpool Lake Vyrnwy. Llanfair Caerainion Meifod Pontrobert and llanfylin We have a double room with ensuite a family suite with private bathroom. and a twin room with en'suite their is a gallery seating area that overlooks the newly built trout pool we also offer free Wi Fi throughout all room have TV/DVD players complementary tea coffee facility's and kingsize beds we also offer evening meals please order the day before ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolanog Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing