We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Dolanog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alkmaar, la ville de fromage
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Tucked away in the countryside of North Powys, you’ll find this gem of a B&B. The rooms are tidy, the beds are great, breakfast is generous. What makes it outstanding though is dinner at Gwaenynog. You will not easily find a restaurant in the area that serves such great food. Apart from being a great cook, Fiona is an excellent hostess. She’ll tell you the direction to all the right places in the area and beyond. Oh and one last thing: don’t forget to ask her what the name Gwaenynog actually stands for. You’ll love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminConstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response here, we're always grateful to hear what guests thought of their stay with us.

And for saying such nice things about our food - thanks again! Its nice to know our efforts are appreciated.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Regards,
Fiona & Norman
& Bonnie & Beau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bara Brath (cake) and pot of tea served on the patio in the sun was very welcome on arrival. Lovely room with scenic view, comfy bed and smashing shower all much appreciated as was the free Wi-Fi, open access to lovely comfy lounge for guests and lovely breakfast including noteworthy porridge - definitely not out of a packet!. One of us was doing the Powis half marathon and an early breakfast request was no trouble to Fiona at all which made a real difference to us.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the garden and fields was lovely but guessing all rooms are equally peaceful wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of us, and for saying such nice things!

And yes, its real porridge! - I'm always grateful when guests order it, as I make double and have it myself - I don't often bother for just me! As for the early breakfast - we've done 6am before now, so 7.30am is easy!

Hope the half-marathon went well, and with no ill after-effects. The Lake Vyrnwy race is on September 15th if you fancy it...

Regards,
Fiona & Norman,
and Bonnie & Beau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My review Just beautiful includes Fiona and Norman's warm welcome,the scenery,the excellent food,and comfy,clean room.Had a wonderful stay and was made to feel so very welcome. Good value for money and so relaxing.Will most certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Heron room has excellent views of the local wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on here, we're always grateful people take the time to do so in their busy lives - especially when travelling! ;-)

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, even if you wished it were for more than one night - and even wanted to move in - maybe next time you'll stay a little longer!

It was lovely to meet you.

Regards,
Fiona & Norman, Bonnie & Beau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We thought accommodation was as expected and value for money however the meal was expensive compared to other similar establishments that we stayed in and in particular the charge of £2.50p each for a cup of coffee and a few mints is greater than a lot of restaurants, especially when no refill was offered. We would have made our own in our room had we known.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We do appreciate when guests take time to do so.

We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cost of your evening meal or the service you received. However, we’re glad to hear that you felt the accommodation was good value for money.

The price of £17.50, plus drinks, for our 2 course home-cooked dinner using fresh local ingredients is clearly stated on the menu, which was emailed before your arrival, and from which you made your selection; we send this to everyone who books a stay with us, as well as having it available on our website. This cost is comparable to other places in the area, in both price and quality, as we have done a lot of research to ensure we're competitive. Free refills of coffee are always available, on request - so we’ll make sure this is clear in future. Given the quality of the Columbian filter coffee and after dinner mints served to you in the dining room, we feel that the price is fair. This cafetiere of filter coffee and personal service in our inglenook dining room would not have been available in your room.

We must admit this review came as a surprise, as the vast majority of reviews have all commented on the quality and value of our evening meals – and is at odds with your very positive comments left in our guest book:
"Warm and friendly welcome. Nice comfy room. Good Food and Great Surroundings”.

I think these comments probably represent a more balanced view of your overall experience, so perhaps the marks put against each category could be seen as a little harsh. However, we have taken note of your comments and will endeavour to utilise your feedback to good effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

An absolutely fantastic place to stay with the nicest hosts you could ever wish to meet.
Difficult to put across in words how lovely an experiance it is to stay at Fiona and Norman's wonderful B and B. Have stayed 3 times in the past 12 months Its a home from home in a wonderful countryside setting.

Location idilic, food lovely, attention to detail in the house and your room could not be better. Super comfy bed. Fiona and Norman make your stay feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, its nice to be appreciated - and we're always happy to see you!

We look forward to your next visit...

Regards,
Fiona & Norman, Bonnie & Beau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a great place to stay, and not as difficult as we thought it might be to find either. A lovely house with great attention to detail and the couple are very welcoming and helpful and breakfast was great. Both the room and bathroom we stayed in were decorated with a great attention to detail and little touches made all the difference. Waking up to the sound of a woodpecker outside and the new lambs was an added bonus. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful words - we think it's stunning here too, but then we would!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the details we've added were appreciated. Its nice to know that our efforts work.

It will be lovely to see you again.

Regards,
Fiona & Norman, Bonnie & Beau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a hidden gem, very remote but beautiful and peaceful. Very friendly hosts, Fiona & Norman have thought of pretty much everything! We stayed 3 nights in the B & B, our room was small but well-equipped. Breakfast was amazing, fantastic choice and very yummy. Others from our family camped / caravanned in the adjoining campsite, which is a small field with good facilities. We even had sun for two of our days, what more could you want? Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in Woodpecker, which is a small double room but well-equipped and cheaper than the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionafew, Owner at Gwaenynog Farmhouse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate when past guests do - it lets us know if we're doing things right.

We were so glad we were able to accommodate you all, both in the B&B and on the campsite - it was something we hoped would work for groups. And we were happy we had the kennels for Soya to stay whilst you were at the wedding - he's a sweet dog.

Regards,
Fiona & Norman, and Bonnie & Beau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolanog
0.0 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Dolanog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwaenynog Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwaenynog Farmhouse

Property: Gwaenynog Farmhouse
Address: Dolanog | Welshpool, Dolanog SY21 0LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Dolanog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolanog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwaenynog Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwaenynog is a beautiful farmhouse in a quiet and scenic location, surrounded by 16 acres of land - a mixture of fields, woods and wetland; there's a lot of wildlife and flora, plus a variety of birds, including Peregrines and our resident Tawny Owl. There are extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers, generous towels, lovely shower gels and shampoos, a choice of teas and coffee in all the rooms with fresh milk, flat screen TV's with Freeview & DVD players, and free wifi; all with varying views from every window. We offer tea and homemade cake or biscuits after your journey to help you unwind, between 4-6pm. Relax in the guest lounge or out on the patio if the sun is shining. After a relaxed night's sleep rise for a leisurely cooked breakfast of locally produced ingredients or perhaps something lighter. Our breakfasts are plentiful and varied - made for vegetarians, coeliacs or other allergies too - if you let us know in advance; and all made from the best local produce. Bordered by ancient woodland and hedgerows that offer seclusion, the campsite offers some wonderful views. You can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet that is synonymous with Gwaenynog. Quiet country lanes, ideal for walking or cycling, can join up with marked walks such as Glyndwr's Way or Ann Griffiths walk (a mile away); or utilise other public footpaths and bridleways that cross the surrounding farmland. Or walk to the local pub (2.5m). And now, are you thinking of getting married somewhere rural and connected with nature? Then why not come to Gwaenynog. We're now licensed to offer civil partnerships and marriages in our barn or guest lounge. The only restriction is your imagination and budget. So, why not visit Mid Wales - it's worth a look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gwaenynog Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing