We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Red House Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red House Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Guilsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this gorgeous b&b for two nights. I would have loved to have stayed for longer. The cottage was spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming . We were greeted with afternoon tea both days! Jane was a wonderful and helpful host. The b&b was in a quiet and peaceful area but still close enough to visit attractions in the area. If I ever return to Wales (which I hope I do) I would most definitely stay at the Red House Cottage. Please if you are in the area, it is a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank meeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this welcoming and extremely pretty B&B with my sister and we had a fabulous time. The rooms are so well decorated and the quality of the accommodation and service was faultless. Jayne was a charming host and we will definitely be returning.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I would recommend anyone to go and stay at Red House Cottage. Jayne has fitted the cottage out perfectly and the rooms are brilliant. She cannot do enough for you, we had a warm welcome with tea, coffee and warm mince pies delicious!! The beds are comfy and feather pillows not something you find in many places. The cooked breakfast was lovely and there was a choice of cereal and other stuff.
It is worth going out of your way to stay here you will not be disappointed. Well done Jayne.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelJude54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Picked this Band B as a close friend of ours knows the owner. Beautifully renovated cottage with 2 ensuite rooms and a sitting room. Very cosy, beautiful location. We have no problem recommending it. Breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne R, Owner at Red House Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to look after you, really hope you will be able to come again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This has to be on of the most delightful BandBs that we have ever stayed. The grounds and the cottage were lovingly taken care of. The decor is warm and inviting. The owners were kind and courtesy..we felt so at home. The setting by the church added to the charm and the short walk to the pub for dinner was a bonus. An extra added touch was the brandy if one wanted a wee dram after dinner. Breakfast was delicious. Red house Cottage was a pleasure to be at in all regards to what a super BanB should be!

Room Tip: Both rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerLeClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne R, Owner at Red House Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

I hope your onward journey all went well. Thank you for your kind comments, you were delightful customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at The Redhouse Cottage Guilsfield when we went to a friends wedding. What a find! Immaculately maintained. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Excellent home cooked breakfast. The beds in particular were very comfortable with feather duvets and pillows.
We totally recommend this Bed and breakfast. Excellent for visiting the beautiful Powys Castle and good local walks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red House Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Cottage

Address: Red House Church Lane | Welshpool, Guilsfield, Welshpool SY21 9NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool > Guilsfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guilsfield
Price Range: $94 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red House Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful B&B accommodation nestling in the centre of the village of Guilsfield. A stone's throw away from the village church, perfect place for special occasions at the church for family and friends. Also good location for Powis Castle, Welshpool and Llanfair light railway and many good walking routes. Rooms well appointed with ensuite, television, hospitality tray. Well positioned for exploring Welshpool and the srrounding countryside. Hearty breakfast, beautiful guests lounge, free WiFi at very competitive prices.Bed and breakfast accommodation is seperated from owners home to allow guests complete privacy with own key for access whenever wanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red House Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing