We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, beautiful home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gaer Hall

The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
The driveway at Gaer Hall with uninterrupted views over the Breidden Hills and Rodney's Pillar Gaer Hall in all its' glory!  Croeso!  Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
The driveway at Gaer Hall with uninterrupted views over the Breidden Hills and Rodney's Pillar
Gaer Hall in all its' glory!  Croeso!  Welcome!
Breakfast al fresco, lunch al fresco - bbq later? Perfect for a small wedding party
Our well equipped kitchen comes with a Rayburn and double electric oven and dishwasher
Our glorious kitchen.There's a table and chairs for kids' tea as well as the dining room itself.
The kitchen again, bags of room for the cooks and helpers! There's two fridges and freezers as well.
The ground floor lounge/diner with TV,woodburnerwith view to the hall where we have the pool table.
Ground floor double shown with 2 extra singles to make a family room with cot.
Ground floor single/small double with ensuite, ideal for those with mobility needs.
Ensuite bathroom with shower,part of the ground floor single/small double bedroom.  Bed converts.
Ground floor hall with pool table, cloaks with WC,laundry room and ensuite single/small double room
The Library bathed in sunlight July 2014.  No need for logs for the 2 woodburners this weather!
First floor Master bedroom,ensuite with cast iron roll top bath and shower.  Room for a cot, too.
First floor single/twin bedded room with cloaks - WC and wash hand basin- opposite.
Bunk beds!  Like the single/twin room next door it shares the cloaks, WC and wash hand basin
Second floor double bedroom with views over open countryside.  Can take an extra bed .
Same room from the opposite angle.Snug as a bug. Full oil central heating throughout the Hall..
Second floor double bedroom with fantastic views over Gaer Fawr. Can take an extra bed/cot.
Second floor family bathroom with bath, shower, WC, and wash hand basin.
View from across our hay meadows to Gaer Hall with Gaer Fawr behind.
If we haven't won you over already, maybe the sports area will clinch it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Guilsfield, Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AmyG1674
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful home”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Wow what a beautiful place to host my sisters hen do weekend! It has everything you would ever need to accommodate lots of guests of all ages; plenty of space to relax and entertain without being on top of each other. Lovely large kitchen and diner lounge and library room upstairs (we particularly enjoyed) with log burner which made it extra cosy. Being able to have my sisters dog with us made it extra special for her (wouldn’t be a hen do without the hen doggy). Margaret also allowed us to hire a hot tub for the occasion which was accommodated on the patio outside, she even kindly lay down a carpet walkway for our cold feet. Everyone had such an enjoyable time, we would like to thankyou so much for the bottles of bubbly and choc brownies. Would love to come back in the future with family. Many thanks again xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
1 review
“Best Christmas Ever!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

What a gorgeous location and a perfectly lovely host (Margaret). Many would find the prospect of six excitable children and six adults overtaking their property understandably overwhelming, but Margaret was seemingly un-phased. We were greeted with genuine warmth and given a friendly and informative tour of her extensive property, which had been aptly decorated for Christmas and boasted a huge real tree. The space was phenomenal and both the children and the adults had ample room to rest or play. My mum, sister and I took full advantage of the large country kitchen and Rayburn cooker, whilst my Dad, Husband and Brother explored the neighbouring hills and valleys. Margaret lives very near by and reassured us that should we need anything at all then just to drop her a line (thanks for the cake tin loan Margaret's Sister in-law). Concerned that we did not have enough fridge space Margaret somehow managed to conjure up a second large fridge to accommodate all of our Christmas food shopping, wine, beer and soft drinks. As if all of this wasn't enough Margaret had left us a large chocolate cake, some wine and a couple of bottles of Champagne for Christmas day. All in all this was a holiday to remember and we hope to revisit in the future.
A thousand thank you's Margaret. The Buttress Family x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fabulous 60th Birthday Celebration Venue”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely big property just on edge of small village which was ideal for our party of 12 ladies who all needed separate beds. The house although big was warm and cosy having a lot of old oak timberwork. It has a huge first floor lounge/library with woodburner but I also like the dining/siting room which had another woodburner (which we didn't actually light as the house was so warm) . The furnishing is very eclectic - a mix of antiques, stripped pine, painted furniture and some less inspiring modern pieces. The bedrooms vary in size and style but all are clean and very warm as are the bathrooms. Beds are very comfortable too (except the bunks -which swayed) The kitchen is large and very well equipped. The owner, Margaret, provided us with a brilliant celebratory 6 course meal on the Saturday night which was just perfect served in the candlelit dining room. She really went the extra mile to ensure that we all had a lovely time (which we did!!.. too many canapés and lots of Prosecco!!). Margaret was also very helpful giving advice about a local walk and she kindly left us Welsh cakes and Prosecco for our arrival. Its a great house for a big party of adults like ours but would also be good for children - lots of games around, toys and goal outside and a snooker table. Highly recommended!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thanks so much Heather for the great review. I am so pleased you had a wonderful birthday weekend at Gaer Hall. It was fun planning and preparing your celebratory meal and I'm delighted that you and your friends had such a brilliant time. I hope you'll come again soon when your group finds something else to celebrate ! Thanks again, Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suraiya Z
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We travelled as a group of 15+ with 6 children and grandparents too.

This unique property made our stay special as it was large enough that you didnt feel you were stepping on anyones toes but cosy enough to make it feel homely.

The original beams and fireplace features added character, style and elegance to the property.

The location was brilliant with easy links to the main road. The grounds and views were beautiful.

Theres a little fishing stream and a fossil beach at the bottom of the grounds.

Theres also shops not too far should you need anything.

Communication with Margaret (owner) was easy. She had made us a cake for our arrival which was really thoughtful and tasty.

It is a well thoughout property with all the amenities you may need (pots, pans plates etc)

Loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Big house, lots of space and nearby walks, amongst other things to do. House was well stocked with equipment, towels etc... Good ground floor en-suite bedroom for grandma & plenty of rooms for the rest of us. Owner Margaret was very helpful.
Our only problem was that some of the beds were a bit small, saying that we are a tall family (5ft 10 to 6ft 5) so thats not unusual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dametwidd...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked a very last minute break and found this place quite by chance, we simply needed somewhere big enough for us all to stay, a family of 12 aged between 3 and 62! One of our party was concerned there would not be enough space looking at the pictures, but those pictures did not do this place justice, as it is huge! We had breakfast in the dining lounge each day and dinner on the terrace each night. Every bodys favorite room was the library of course, with its magnificent beams. Tv was mostly watched downstairs for the breakfast news and weather but at night some of us chilled in the library, mostly just watching the horses play in the field beyond. Lots of wildlife to see here, all sorts of birds, and a few cheeky squirrels. The towels were lovely and soft and we had a glass of wine from the bottles that had been left for us by Margaret. Our hostess also allowed us to have some pheasants for our dunner one night, and having never eaten them before, I can tell you, they were delicious. We found the internet was a bit intermittent and Margret said we could use the house access if we needed to whilst it was being sorted out, so that was lovely of her. The furniture was an interesting mix of antique and modern, and each room was a discovery. The only downside was having to leave after such a short stay, but we will be looking for another break at some point in the future and would not hesitate to return to this lovely place.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you so much Deborah for leaving a review. It meant a lot to me that you were able to have a great break with your children and grandchildren. I'm especially pleased you were able to help me reduce the contents of the game freezer! We are given far more pheasants than we can possible eat in the season so I'm thrilled you enjoyed them. Wishing you and Les all the very best and I look forward to welcoming you all again at Gaer Hall in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchef
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my girlfriends family over the weekend of 25-28 march and had a great time . 14 of us but with plenty of personal space when you needed it, kids loved the gardens to run about in, the lounge on the middle floor is just awesome.and toasty warm. We had really comfy room with very powerful shower next door. In the kitchen was a arga or something similar which we never used and a electric cooker which just about coped , it's also well stocked with glasses and plates galore, the wifi wasn't the best and there were one or two small issues which one of the group let the owner know about but it wouldn't stop a second visit. It's a lovely area with Welshpool only 10 minutes away which we took advantage of getting the train to Aberystwyth, also nearby kings arms v friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Hi Macchef and thanks for your positive review. So pleased you had a great time at Gaer Hall, Guilsfield and that you had an equally warm reception at our village pub. I'm reliably informed that the imminent arrival of fibre to cabinet in the village will massively improve the wifi on offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Margaret ps catch on the Library door is now fixed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing