We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub”
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmdu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Farmers Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Cwmdu B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I ate here recently & found it to be warm & friendly, full of character & charm. We had a lovely meal & my husband enjoyed the locally brewed beer! We would definitely eat here again if we were in Cwmdu.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I just called in on the hop, as we were just passing coming from Hay-on - wye, what a lovely little pub, excellent home cooked food, excellent real ales, don't know what the other people are on about we had an excellent welcome from Chris and Lynn, the next time we pass through Cwmdu we will definitely call in the Farmers Arms again.
Alan

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

hi . stayed in a bnb close to there,went there for lunch, asked for a busns card to be told "we only give them to people we wana see again" food was FANTASTIC tho and cute waiters who seem eager to please,,,,i thought the lanlord had a wicked s,o h,he was fun!!! and we have a similar s,o h,,,why is every one so serious these days chill out we aint here for long!!

Room Tip: didnt stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our visits to this pub in August 2012. Very good food and nice homely feel about it. Good locals and nice beer. Have no hesitation recommending this pub to passers by and people staying locally (as we did).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Looks can be deceiving! The flowers outside are better tended than the customers! No one in pub, which has lovely stone flags on floor, we were allowed to take our small and well behaved dog in and she sat happily under our table. The Landlord was not there. The food was OK, not brilliant, but OK. We went back in the evening and the lunchtime staff looked nervous, the Landlord just looked at us and gestured to us to get out - no curtesy, no hospitality, in fact we could have eaten outside as it was a nice evening but his attitude was dreadful. We won't be recommending this pub!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Crumblepie870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Food and drink ok, but avoid this pub if you have a dog; you'll end up eating outside in the cold and dark. The landlord even closed the door behind us since he was getting a bit chilly inside. No wonder we were the only people there. We won't be going back!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After a long journey we had a lovely warm welcome from the family & staff! Great variety on the menu service with a smile food was delicious would highly recommend the farmers arms for food or drinks keep up the good work

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TheRoyalHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Address: Cwmdu, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1RU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Cwmdu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmdu
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing