We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oMG who rated this 5 stars???.?.?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am awake in my crappy room in the middle of the night being kept awake by the owners television blaring intomthe quiet night. This has got,to be the WORST place to stay in Wales. Do not ever be enticed to stay here. We are the ONLY guests and the owners are making so,much noise we cannot sleep. And themplace is cramped and hot and horrible. There is no fridge. The place is miles frommanywhere and you would expect amgood nights sleep, but themowners make so much noise you might as well stay ina city where at least you could get a meal.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not directly above the owners TV room. Better still don't stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llansabbath, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I think these are a very confused couple.As for who rated us 5 star it was the Welsh Tourist Board
not only are we 5 star but we have won the gold award every year since 2009.This couple stayed
with us on wed and thurs .Thursday we watched no t.v.at all as we were out and Wednesday we went to bed at 10 p.m. No t.v.was on in the middle of the night.We think this review is without any
Basis in fact its total fantasy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Llansabbath Country House to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed from Friday 26th through until departure on the 28th July. Upon arrival we were greeted by Lilian one of the ownders, we also met a number of cats including Fabian who I nicknamed Dribbles for obvious reasons because she does, and numerous chickens. We were shown to the Willow Room by Lilian. Passing from the entrance to the stairway it is obvious that this property has been well thought out with numerous awards. The Willow Room was excellent and the bath room larger than average all spotlessly clean and the wonderful white cotton bed sheets and superb bath towels plus a favourite of mine a power shower. The weather upon arrival was hot and we walked along the country lane to the local church by the river. A fantastic location for peace and quiet as well as leaving us free to keep the window in our room wide open during the whole time we were there, superb when sleeping to breath real country air and also to enjoy the sounds of the country side. We spent a lovely weekend visiting various places and restaurants etc and cannot speak to highly of the many friendly people we met in Abergavenny both in the shops and also the old fashioned retail market. Another feature of the stay with Lilian was her husband Chris an ex Bristolian like both myself and my wife hence the Gert Lush title which for those who do not know Bristoleeze is in fact a descriptive reserved for the very best of everything. Chris was great fun and we spent many times laughing on our city of origin. Any cause for complaint none and with WiFi as well we had all we could want.
Oh by the way I should mention the breakfasts because their menu actually has more items thereon than the average hotel including the very best Porridge (Porage as spelt on the menu) I have ever tasted.
Yes a wonderful weekend and one which we really are keen to repeat if only to see "Dribbles" and the Chickens. Sorry Chris and Lilian no offence meant thanks again for a great time.

Room Tip: No tip would be required as all the 5 rooms at the property are all individual and we are sure they...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a lovely surprise this guest house was, down a very long country lane stands a house that looks just like any other house but wow step through the door and it all changes to 5 star plus, a very warm welcome and the rooms are so big and comfortable. The breakfast is to die for, free range eggs melt in the mouth bacon + loads of fresh orange. tea or coffee with refills if needed. We now wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The perfect setting and excellent accommodation. Four of us stayed here for one night and loved the warm greeting and tasty breakfast. The rooms were tastefully decorated and both were very different. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Although raining we were warmly greeted by hens, cats & host alike! (Still beautiful whatever the weather!) Welcomed in with a happy birthday (made me feel special to be remembered) into a cozy room with homemade flapjacks & welsh cakes (scrumptious!) with a choice of fresh coffee or tea etc...Time to relax in comfy sofas, before being shown to our room!

We would both like to thank our lovely hosts Chris & Lillian for upgrading us, as it was a birthday surprise; also for their great hospitality, humour, wonderful breakfast, great individual touches & warm welcome! We had a FABULOUS time & completely agree and would like to confirm all the positive comments made which are too numerous to mention! (Sorry if we have missed anything out, but you only have to read the other comments to fill in any gaps!)

Had our breakfast in a wonderful conservatory! The breakfast menu was amazing. We have never seen so much choice! So hard to choose! The freshly laid eggs & fresh fruit salad were particularly enjoyable! (Thank you too for my special edition Marmite too!)

Loved the individual touches! MUCH APPRECIATED and we cannot wait to be able to visit again for an extended stay for our wedding anniversary in July!

NB : Recommend 'The Angel' in Abergavenny to eat at, as this too was wonderful - & although pricy at first glance to most, was worth every single penny & very worthwhile! Food, live pianist, decor & service first class!

All in all we had a really WONDERFUL break which has great memories & we are so looking forward to returning as soon as we can! Thank you! XX

PS: I would also like to thank my darling husband Lee for finding Llansabbath Country House & for making my birthday one of the best ever! XX

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the 'Topsy Turvy' room which had a separate living room! I am sure all r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On arrival at the farmhouse (freezing cold snowy day in March!) and having received a warm welcome, were shown to the 'Twin Room'. Later that evening after a rather busy day we returned to Llansabbath House to relax. Unexpectedly at 9.30pm a loud hoover noise was heard directly in the room above! Rather too late to be using a vacuum!! Not long after 9pm also, the room began to feel very chilly, and the bathroom was 'freezing'! Obviously a problem with the heating. Milk was kindly left in a small fridge on the landing for us - however the fridge was not plugged in! A complimentary bottle of still water had been placed in our room, but it had been already opened and used! Although coffee and tea were provided, they had not been checked and fully replenished for our arrival.

On the plus side... the beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was tasty and well presented.
We feel that being rated a 5 star establishment is huge praise for Lilian and Chris, however to maintain the standard expected, attention to detail is crucial - particularly when wording business cards!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated, the owners were very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was delicious! Would definitely recommend to anyone. Topsy Turvey room was great - books and cd's are a nice touch! Loved the little jars of sweets!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank lp888p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llansabbath D, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, however, we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas, with improvements along the way (please visit our website). and we hope that potential guests reading these reviews will take this into account, as we seem unable to remove these older reviews from TripAdvisor, having kept the same trading name. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanover
2.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
907 reviews
2.6 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
532 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B

Address: Llanover Lane, Llanover, Abergavenny NP7 9BY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Llanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanover
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawn and Emily warmly welcome you to five individually styled rooms, sleeping up to ten adults in this tastefully modernised former farmhouse. Spacious en-suites. Powerful showers. Exceptional breakfast choice and quality. Fine/mid-range evening dining such as the locally popular Hardwick restaurant is 6 minutes away or the Michelin starred Walnut Tree Inn only 12 minutes drive away. Garden, countryside and mountain views can be appreciated all year round. Monmouthshire Golf Club is only 2.5 miles away. Monmouth and Brecon Canal, the Usk Valley Path, Offa's Dyke and the Three Castles Walk are within a 5 to 30-minute drive as are Sugar Loaf, Skirrid and the Blorenge mountains. The Brecon Four Peaks Walk (Corn Du, Pen y Fan, Cribyn, Fan y Big) and the waterfalls at Pontneddfechan are an hour away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing