We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST B&B in Swansea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatcoombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sketty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chatcoombe
Ranked #1 of 1 Sketty B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST B&B in Swansea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked a room here purely on reading the reviews online & we certainly were not disappointed.
Richard & Merle greeted us on the doorstep like old friends,
We were shown to our room, lovely, spacious, spotlessly clean & en suite was suited for every need.
We were left bottled water in the fridge, along with wine glasses & bottle opener to use (which we did), also lovely Welsh tea & coffee, along with fruit & camomile tea, Hot chocolates, Horlicks & gorgeous biscuits.
Bathroom included usual toiletries & plenty of fluffy bath towels.
The power shower was especially appreciated.
The bed was extremely comfortable & the situation of B&B very quiet.
We were attending a wedding at Sketty Hall (just a short walk away) the weather was unfortunately typical for an April weekend & Richard kindly offered to drive us to the venue.

Breakfast was outstanding & would put most Hotels to shame,
Including Fresh fruit & fruit juices, cereals, yogurts, croissants, brioche & a whole bunch of local jams, honey & conserves.
The full welsh cooked breakfast was to a very high standard using locally sourced sausages.
Along with toast & tea, me & my partner were full to the brim until that same evening.
We left with a heavy heart,
Merle kindly ordered us a taxi & waved us off.
This couple know exactly what they are doing, the hospitality trade is their forte.
We will DEFINATELY be returning & cannot recommend the Chatcoombe B&B high enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great friendly welcome from my hosts Merle and Richard.... spotlessly clean throughout.... fantastic selection at the breakfast table.... nothing left out, if not there just ask....
Lovely double room with en suite shower.... great sleep at night... Have stayed here before and look forward to staying there once again when in the area.... "highly recommended"

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for two nights in late March 2014,and would have loved to stay longer. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we were not disappointed.Attention to detail is Merle and Richard's way. In a compact and cozy room with en suite shower room, and free wi-fi, everything you could possibly want is second guessed. There's a nice cold fridge with fizzy and still Brecon Water and cold glasses; two wine glasses and a bottle opener; a good range of coffee; tea; Horlicks; hot choc etc.& biscuits with the tray of mugs and cups; teapot and good sized kettle. All replenished daily. The double bed is clean and comfortable and the towels, plentiful and fluffy. Freeview TV in the bedroom. The situation is quiet and there is good street parking outside, walking distance (if you like walking) to shops and restaurants, if you need a taxi it's ordered by Merle. You feel more like family or friends rather than paying guests, as your every wish is catered for at breakfast, and it was all delicious. Near The Gower Peninsular and Swansea Uni it's the perfect place to stay in the area. Well done Merle and Richard, your B&B is the best!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights with Merle and Richard (who has a cousin in every corner of the Gower)
Sketty is a good springboard to launch into the Gower and there's no problem parking nearby. Merle and Richard are indeed wonderful hosts - the breakfast would shame large hotels, though I'd be tempted to cut down on the massed rank of marmalades as you begin to wonder how old some of them are. Our room was small but well equipped with a slight condensation issue in the bathroom. We would certainly go back as by the time you leave you feel like you're related. Richard told us some great stories about his childhood and the trains into Mumbles and watch out for Merle saying, "Don't be sad now..." when the sad bit approaches.

Room Tip: The room without the ensuite has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGoesToHinchleyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatcoombe, Owner at Chatcoombe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We would like to thank all our guests for their excellent reviews.They are really appreciated.Thankyou for taking the time to write them.
(Just as an aside,to reassure future guests,all preserves are stored chilled,checked daily,and all have manufacturer's date coding).
Look forward to seeing you all again,Kind Regards, Merle and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a night when working in Swansea. What a lovely place! The welcoming you get is warm and straight away we got offered a cup of tea. The room I stayed in was incredibly cosy and had everything you could possibly need. The breakfast choice is just unbelievable! There was so many choices of fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast was delicious. I really can't rate this place highly enough. Richard and Merle who run it really have got it right!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheggers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Chatcoombe with two other couples for 2 nights.
Lovely B&B with excellent hosts
The breakfasts were fantastic!
Lovely rooms with everything you could wish for.
Thank you very much Merle and Richard

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCluskey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Chatcoombe for one night during our holiday visiting different part of Wales. It was a last minute booking and Merl and Richard could not have been more welcoming and accommodating! It was a lovely and very comfortable room! The wide range of choice for breakfast was fantastic! Merl and Richard were wonderful hosts, full of great advice for our holiday! We definitely recommend Chatcoombe to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sketty
1.3 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatcoombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatcoombe

Property: Chatcoombe
Address: 20 Rhyd-y-Defaid Drive | Swansea, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Sketty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sketty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed and Breakfast in Swansea of exceptional quality, Chatcoombe is ideally located to visit the beautiful Gower coastline, Mumbles, Swansea City and the Maritime Quarter. We are a few minute's walk to the University, Singleton Hospital, National Pool and Sketty Hall. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing