We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a hidden gem”
Review of Chatcoombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sketty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chatcoombe
Ranked #1 of 1 Sketty B&B and Inns
Swansea, South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent - a hidden gem”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed here for a few days in March 2013.
The guest house is located in a central, but peaceful location within easy access of the seafront, Clyne, Mumbles, Sketty, Singleton park (University) and local shops. The guest house is close to the local university - about a 5-10 min walk, so perfect for those here on business or pleasure.

The guest house is on a lovely quiet road, and there are some views towards the sea. I describe this as a hidden gem as I hadn't known about this place until I did a web search on visit swansea bay.com.

The proprietors were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
The facilities in the room were excellent - tea, coffee, etc replenished daily, a comfy bed and good en-suite.

The breakfasts were also excellent - there was plenty of choice and the quality of the food was outstanding.

All in all I am very glad I picked this guest house for my parents - first class service and very friendly proprietors. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again & can highly recommend it to other visitors to Swansea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElusiveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This B and B was immaculate inside and the service provided was top class. They were extremely helpful and the breakfast was out of this world. Best place I have ever stayed. If you are visiting Swansea this is the place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eveline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Chatcoombe is very convenient for Sketty Hall, Singleton Hospital & the University But it is much more. Great breakfast, nice clean room, super bathroom.
Also Merle & Richard were very welcoming & helpful. Whether it was where to go and see things, which pub to go to and the best way to get there. Nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit Richard and Merle on two successive weekends, in connection with family events in Mumbles. Both visits were entirely successful thanks to the diligence and seriousness with which they they take their business. Every need is attended to, the room we had was spotlessly clean and comfortable in every respect, and the breakfasts were "to die for." In addition, not only are Richard and Merle most friendly and pleasant to chat with, but they seem to cater to a clientele associated with the University that make the breakfast table conversation a real pleasure. As a final comment, Richard put us on to a nearby pub for dinner -- The Woodman -- that was top-notch. We'll definitely stay at Chatcoombe on all our future visits!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Came down for an overnight visit with my mother and 3yr old daughter to visit my eldest daughter who has just started university. My mum has stayed here before and told me how nice it was, and I wasn't disappointed. Firstly, you couldn't wish for more welcoming hosts - Merle and Richard were so friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and had everything we needed and more. And breakfast! Well, I've never been so spoilt for choice!! And thank you Merle and Richard for letting my daughter join us for breakfast - probably the last decent meal she'll have for a while ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great place to stay - a real home away from home! Richard and Merle are so friendly and welcoming, the bedroom was clean and cosy, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The only shame was that we couldn't stay any longer....We will definitely be back to stay at Chatcoombe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We Stayed at Chatcoombe for four nights. On our arrival Merle and Richard greeted us with a lovely pot of tea, and a cold drink for my daughter.

The room was beautifully presented, exceptionally clean, and light and airy. Both Merle and Richard had an exceptional knowledge of the area, and gave us great tips on where to go and where to park. They also had lots of leaflets on activities for sunny and rainy days.

The breakfasts were exceptional, there was a wide choice available even down to cockles and larder bread, fresh fruits and a wonderfully cooked breakfast. Out of ten i would rate it eleven.

Their hospitality was great and i felt more like a friend than a guest. Thank you both for a lovely stay, we were able to see so much of wales, but will certainly come back to see the rest.

Your kindness and generous spirit will be remembered. This bed and breakfast is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sketty
1.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#13 of 22 in Swansea
161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,529 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 22 in Swansea
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatcoombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatcoombe

Property: Chatcoombe
Address: 20 Rhyd-y-Defaid Drive | Swansea, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Sketty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sketty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed and Breakfast in Swansea of exceptional quality, Chatcoombe is ideally located to visit the beautiful Gower coastline, Mumbles, Swansea City and the Maritime Quarter. We are a few minute's walk to the University, Singleton Hospital, National Pool and Sketty Hall. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing