We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Atmosphere and Child Friendly”

Gower Wildflower Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Fairwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: cafe/ deli fresh local food exciting specials delivering seasonal treats great coffee and scrumptious cakes available for special occasions bespoke menus a speciality great friendly service and stunning location.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere and Child Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

As a mother of a typical, energetic toddler I am always searching for cafes and restaurants where my husband and I can enjoy our food and not feel uncomfortable and claustrophobic. There are several cafes in Swansea where we feel we cannot go for fear of being stared at but this is not one of them.

This café is clean, airy and spacious and has a generally friendly and relaxed vibe. The surroundings are absolutely stunning, as you would expect from the Gower, with plenty of space for the little one to run around and let off some steam after food.

The menu is beautifully simple and offers wholesome food for all the family. The prices are more than fair considering the high quality of the food. My son was happy with his food, most importantly!

The site has ample parking and is really easy to find for those who are looking to avoid a headache on a family day out.

Overall I would say this café offers the perfect eating experience to compliment a day out down the Gower.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    17
    3
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A refreshing change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

When you visit a new cafe you can't be sure what to expect.

Many cafes have seats crammed in, and can be loud, messy and characterless.

The Wildflower Cafe is in contrast relaxed, spacious and there is a lot of space. After one visit it has become one of our favourite meeting places in Swansea and we've recommended it to loads of our friends.

The food was really good - I had one of the burgers that have been raved about. The food isn't the cheapest, but the value for money is really good because the quality is so good. As someone who doesn't mind paying for good quality I loved it.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“largely disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having read such good reports we visited the place today. What a disappointment. The variety of food was rather limited, the salad was pale and limp and the prices excessively steep. The local produce was much like one can purchase in Swansea Market (with much more variety) for a great deal less and we found the owner to be somewhat brusque, almost to the point of being rude
There was no wild flowers to speak of anywhere to be seen. The "wild flower" meadow (as that's what it pertained to be) was a a poorly ploughed field containing solely grass and thistles with a milky looking pond and decrepit, worn out signs pointing out non- existent plants.

The ambience of the area was not much better with heavy machinery digging foundations for new holiday homes in the old garden nursery adjacent.

On a plus side, our little one did enjoy the swings and watching the blue birds and finches feeding

Maybe we called on a bad day but I would certainly not be recommending it to anyone

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jane-Beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An little Gem in Gower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had read about this on trip advisor and were certainly not disappointed. SO much so we returned two days later on our way how from our stay in Gower. The food is so fresh. We had the burger with the most delicious chips and pie and sala the first time and the second time the incredible Breakfast. One of the best I've ever had! All faultless, but it was the setting that made it for me. What a treat to sit outside listening to the birds, watching people pop into the little shop for locally grown seasonal fruit and veg. The staff were brilliant. We're going back to the Gower this year and will definitely be visiting!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“never disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been to the centre several times and never been disappointed. Don't expect too many wildflowers but the cakes and coffee are lovely and the garden birds feeding just outside the window are joyous and truly mesmorising. The shop is very interesting, stocked with local produce, and now it is spring there is an excellent range of garden plants for sale.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gower Wildflower Centre also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gower Wildflower Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing