We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite B&B”
Review of Frondirion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frondirion
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanfair B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favourite B&B”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed at Frondirion several times and highly recomend it. Each stay has been first class. The owners are friendly and interesting people to talk to. We have stayed in both the twin and double rooms, which are very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are excellent with homemade foods from local sources. The local area is beautiful, with Harlech and the beach at Llandanwg with its ancient church and railway station within walking distance. The slate mine just down the road is also worth a visit. We very much enjoyed sitting on the seat outside looking at the sea, drinking tea and chatting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rowley Regis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

"Like staying with a good friend"... A very warm, pleasant and personal service where nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and cosy with great on suite facilities, and as others have commented.. like staying home from home.. Reasonably priced too..
"The breakfast experience" was fantastic, home cooked and locally sourced "a true foody's indulgence.. Home made breads and jams.. a joy..
We would not hesitate to recommend to anyone, we,ve payed a lot more at other establishments expecting more... but not comming close to Frondirion level of personal service..
WILL be visiting again sooon... if but only for the breakfast... thanks for a great break....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trefeglwys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very pleasant stay. Lovely decorated room, with very comfortable bed. A great nights sleep was had.

Personal service from the owners was a delight (tea and some lovely homemade bara brith was lovely on arrival) and the breakfast was delicious.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Very comfortable in good style. I stayed 2 nights in Green room. My boyfriend propoused to me and the owners gave us a shampane to celebrate. Taste food. Home made bread. I will never forgot a scroumbled eggs with salmon. I do Highly recommend this place. Adriana and Sebastian from Northampton :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ada23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is by far the best bed and breakfast in Wales. I have no complaints whatsoever about the product or the service offered. I received a warm welcome, excellent food and an extremely comfortable room to lay down my head. This place is brilliant value for money, never before have I had the luxury of having my own living room in a b&b which had it's own fireplace and entertainment system. For the two nights I spent there, I truly felt at home. A big thanks to the owners, they really do care about their guests. I look forward to the day I can return to Frondirion.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryW754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

A warm welcome. Our most memorable bed and breakfast stay. Stayed 3 nights at the end of August. Every need was catered for, even down to the good selection of board games that we could play as a family. We were treated to some of Beth`s lovely home made biscuits one evening. Michael advised us to try out the local theatre performance at Harlech castle, which we all enjoyed. With lovely sea views, the bedrooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Since we`ve come home, all we can think of is the amazing breakfasts including home made jams and nice warm soda bread. Hope to visit again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed three nights here and wished we could have stayed several more weeks. Not only is this a breathtakingly beautiful place, but the owners, Beth and Mike, were incredible hosts. They greeted us scones and tea upon arriving the first day and regaled us with stories of the area and advice about the best places to visit. They were warm, intelligent, and quite a joy to be around. As if the spectacular view was not enough, the breakfast that Beth prepared each morning was an absolute treat. Truthfully we were a sad the first morning after we returned home since we didn’t have Beth’s stewed plums or her six varieties of homemade jam. Wales was a treat, but it was the bed and breakfast that made it unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfair
0.9 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
124 reviews
7.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Bryn Eisteddfod Country House
Bryn Eisteddfod Country House
#1 of 1 in Clynnogfawr
35 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Crown Lodge
Crown Lodge
#4 of 14 in Harlech
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frondirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frondirion

Property: Frondirion
Address: Frondirion Ffordd Uwchglan, Llanfair, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech > Llanfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable rooms with sea views, good home cooking and a warm welcome then Frondirion, nestling between the mountains of Snowdonia and the beaches of Tremadog Bay, close to the historic town of Harlech, is the place for you. For many of our guests one of the delights of their visit has been the full Welsh breakfast complemented by jams, preserves, marmalade (all homemade by Beth), Fair Trade teas and coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Frondirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing