We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gellilydan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyddyn du Farm Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Gellilydan B&B and Inns
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from another visit to Tyddyn Du. We stayed this time in the Beudy which is a lovely suite. The facilities are excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a really good nights sleep. The views from the suite are beautiful over the mountains. We always get a very warm welcome when we visit and have a relaxing time.

We have stayed in 3 of the suites and have enjoyed staying in every one of them. The cleanliness and comfort is absolutely first class. The breakfasts are extremely tasty and very enjoyable.

We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent two nights in this lovely place. At our arrival, Paula came to greet us and check if everything was alright. The place was fantastic! The location couldn't be more handy and we loved all the amazing views. Our two breakfast-morning were delicious. We felt as home with all the attention and easy chat from the other guesses. Because it was our first time in Snowdonia, Paula gave us lots of tips about the surroundings. Also, all the instructions that she leaves in the room are fantastic.
The animals are really friendly. We loved their dog Pero and wanted to take him home... shame that we did not have space! I highly recommend this Farm for a great time in Snowdonia. You won't regret to stay with Paula and her team.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in long barn with wfe and 2 children aged 7 and wished we had booked for longer. The barn was clean and spacious, the children loved meeting and feeding the animals, the views were spectacular. We all agreed in many ways it was a better break than the 2 weeks in Disney we did 2 mths ago.
For a small taste of farm life and country living, i could not imagine a better place with a more helpfull host. The location was fantastic being just 40 minutes max from all major ones.

We highly recommend the farm and will definately be returning soon.

Room Tip: The barn had fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEVSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Accommodation is great. Everything you need and more for a super break. We had breakfast delivered to our room which makes you feel very spoilt indeed. You can feed the friendly animals, ponies, goats, sheep, alpacas, ducks and chickens. Very well situated for all the sights and activities in Snowdonia and beyond. I would highly recommend a holiday stay at Tyddyn-du Farm.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1suzieQ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the beautiful self-catering village cottage named "Dolydd" in October as we had travelled over to Wales from Australia to visit family. This perfect little cottage is located in the peaceful village of Maentwrog, and it was ideal for us as it was central to everything, family, friends and even local restaurants. We were busy going here and there visiting people during the day, but we stayed in during the evenings and made the most of the beautiful kitchen and cooked our own meals. The kitchen was equipped with absolutely everything you could need in a self-catering cottage. It was like a home away from home. A lot of thought had obviously gone in to providing high quality essentials throughout the cottage for the guests.

As we stayed here in October the days were mild and nights became brisk. In the evenings we lit the log burner and the cottage became so homely. I loved everything about our stay at Dolydd, from the warm log fire, to the gorgeous fitted oak kitchen, and the stunning Jacuzzi bath & wet bathroom with overhead shower. The bedroom - even though it says sleeps 2 - had ample room for our little one to be with us in a travel cot. The whole cottage has been finished to a very high standard and is so comfortable.

We have recommended this beautiful cottage to all our family and friends, and we will definitely be coming back to stay again.
A huge thank you to Non & thank you Paula for making it a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed back in the summer holidays, five of is in the Long Barn. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, the kids 11,8&3 loved it so made the holiday easy. Accommodation is great, hospitality is fantastic and the friendly dogs, ponies, chickens etc just make it a wonderful place to stay. Ideally suited for exploring the national park, railways and loads of other stuff to do. I rarely go back to a place a second time as I feel there are so many great places to go and visit in limited number of holidays. However we all enjoyed this place so much I think we will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thommo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Thank you Paula - the weather was grim but that's not your fault! We had a lovely weekend, your apartments are just first class, as was the breakfast. Nicely placed for getting out and about - knowing especially that going out and about in the cold we had nice warm, clean, comfortable and quiet accommodation to come home to.
The perfect place to relax and your hospitality was welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofftheref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gellilydan
6.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
11.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
221 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn du Farm Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn du Farm Luxury Suites

Property: Tyddyn du Farm Luxury Suites
Address: Gellilydan | Ffestiniog Near Porthmadog, Gellilydan, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4RB, Wales (Formerly Tyddyn-du Farm Holiday Suites)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Gellilydan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gellilydan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn du Farm Luxury Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Gold Award Barn & Stable Suite accommodation on an organic working sheep farm in a Super Central Snowdonia location Bed and Breakfast or self-catering Suites Super relaxing, private barn suite accommodations set amidst spectacular scenery : Beautifully appointed & spacious Suite accommodation with jacuzzi bath : TV & DVD player, WiFi & iPods : Snack area with fridge, microwave & toaster. Some have patio windows & gardens. Abundance of places to visit & walk; Portmeirion 6 miles. Meet our friendly alpacas, sheep, goats, Shetland ponies, chickens & ducks. Warm informal atmosphere and welcome : Farmhouse Award : Welcome Host Gold :~ Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing