We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
View from Upstairs Balcony
Front Porch with swinging chair
Covered Patio
Side view with wooded area to the front
Side View with covered patio area to the rear
Clover Cabin
Childrens play area
Childrens Tree House
Master Bedroom with Adjoining Balcony
Adjoining the Master Bedroom is a kids room 2 x 70cm x 160cm Beds
Double Room Downstairs
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Bathroom Adjoining the Kids Bedroom
Counter Bar and Log Fire
Living Area
Extendable Dining Table Sits 6
Large sand/beach area down at the pond
Winter At the Cabin
Cabin at night
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gowran, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Peg N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

First of all, the booking process was fast and easy. Then, upon arrival, the cabin was truly spotlessly clean. We were presented with warm scones by Fergal the owner, and there were fresh eggs and milk in the fridge. .

Everything worked. The setting is lovely and secluded. The owners were available but discrete and not intrusive.

There is not a single negative thing we can say about the whole trip. I know all about Irish hospitality as I am Irish myself, but this beat everything!.

We will definitely be booking again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We hope to see you soon again in the future
Warm regards fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangerous...
mullingar ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“KIlkennys Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed in this wonderful cabin Friday the 29-1st oct.
We found the cabin easily but i had checked route planner and google mapped to the location prior to arrival.
When you drive up the short driveway and see the cabin first it's like something from a movie. The cabin has the WOW factor from the very start.
Fergal met us and we checked in in no time,he was so helpful and easy going.Our 5 year old son loved it and the tree house , slide and play area were well maintained.
I was amazed to find out the cabin is 15 years old, believe me it is like new!
It is spotlessly clean , everything you could need is at hand, it is self catering so bring your own tea and coffee so you can enjoy the scrumptious home made scones you receive upon arrival.
The stove is great and heats the whole cabin extremely quickly, there are 2 double bedrooms and a separate room with 2 kids beds. All the beds were spotless and very comfy!!
There are lots of board games and some lego for the kids, its great to get away from i pads and phones although there is wifi which worked no problem.
It is only 10 mins drive from Kilkenny , we shopped and shopped and made the most of our time there but it was great to get back to the cabin each evening and just put our feet up and enjoy the surroundings.
If i was to mark Clover cabin out of 10 i would give it an 11.
Its hands down the most fantastic place we have ever stayed in. If you want luxury and opulence of course there are 5 star hotels but if you want a little piece of heaven then you have to stay here!
As Arnie says " Il be back"

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
Ah lads , thanks so much for so many kind words about our place. We're really delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much. Looking forward to seeing you again
Warmest Regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel F
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our second time here and it was flawless. ..again. So peaceful, cosy and homely. We returned for my daughters 10th birthday, her pick, and it didn't disappoint. Fresh scones on arrival and the fire lit. The kids loved the tree house, the swings, the huge garden and sand pit. Beds are so comfortable and the cabin is really spacious. We were quite content to sit in, a bit reluctant to leave the cosy cabin! The kids enjoyed hot chocolate in the rocking chairs on the porch and I loved having my morning coffee on the balcony. Just so relaxing. Perfect to switch off and slow down for a few days. We'll def be back again, wonderful memories. Fergal and Annette think of everything. Fergal even rang the local pub to check they were still serving food when we mentioned we might head out for our tea. An absolute gent. Lots of stuff to do locally, only 10 mins from kilkenny city. Grest location for day trips to Wexford, waterford etc Great value for money. Didn't want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
Really really thanks a million for such kind words. We were delighted you came back to visit the cabin again.
Warmest Regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewsrevie...
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wow what a great space, the cabin was warm and cosy and the outdoor space was fantastic, with the wooded area and wooden playhouse and play apparatus and the ride on toys and a football pitch what kid could wish for more.

The outdoor under cover area was also brilliant, lazing around on the veranda what a way to relax and unwind.

Annette and Fergal were extremely accommodating, fresh eggs from their hens and warm scones on arrival, Fergal even went to the trouble to lend us a chimnea so the kids could replicate a camp fire (it was a bit wet for the real thing).

A definite place to come back to

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
Thanks so much for a lovely review
We so happy you had a nice stay
Hope to see you again in the future
Warmest Regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariamc20...
Athlone, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Haven”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here twice and could not recommend it higher. Firstly the welcome is fantastic with fresh scones waiting and fire lit on arrival. The owners are so welcoming and make it feel like home.
The place is spotless clean, cosy and quirky. The décor is beautiful. Everything is close by including take aways and cosy local pub within walking distance.
Its a very peaceful and secluded setting and amazing place to wake up. Everything is provided and I could not think of a better place to truly unwind and forget all your troubles.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thanks very much for your beautiful review. We're glad you like our place soon much . hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonnehef...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our family stayed here for two nights. We had a great time . The cabin is fab and the grandkids loved it great outdoor space for them to run around. Fergal was lovely to deal with . We relaxed totally it was like being in a different world. I would highly recommend the cabin for a getaway . We hope to go back in the future.
Yvonne heffernan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
A great big thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see soon again at the cabin
Kind regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierce R
County Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven? Try the whole cake!”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place blew. us. AWAY!
Myself, my husband, our two toddlers and my mother came for a 2-day stay and we still talk about it. Fergal met us with freshly-baked scones that we wolfed down before he'd gotten down the front steps and the place was like something out of our dreams! The play area for the kids was my daughter's first port of call and she wept when we told her we were going home. It's all very close to the city, a lovely pub that does GREAT food, the Reptile Zoo and a little town with an off-licence, shop and takeaway.
We had beautiful weather and made the most of it, but I know we could have completely enjoyed this stay rain, hail or shine!
Already planning our return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
That's a fab review . Thanks a million
Hope to see you again soon
Kindest regards
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing