We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil get away.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
View from Upstairs Balcony
Front Porch with swinging chair
Covered Patio
Side view with wooded area to the front
Side View with covered patio area to the rear
Clover Cabin
Childrens play area
Childrens Tree House
Master Bedroom with Adjoining Balcony
Adjoining the Master Bedroom is a kids room 2 x 70cm x 160cm Beds
Double Room Downstairs
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Bathroom Adjoining the Kids Bedroom
Counter Bar and Log Fire
Living Area
Extendable Dining Table Sits 6
Large sand/beach area down at the pond
Winter At the Cabin
Cabin at night
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gowran, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Susie C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil get away.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Fergal & Annette for a relaxing weekend. We arrived on Friday evening with 2 very excited girls. The log fire was blazing away & a lovely basket of freshly baked scones were just waiting to be devoured . Fergal gave us the run down of how everything worked which was all very easy. We all got settled in, girls off to bed, wine open feet up. We even skyped some relation in Australia to show them round! Wifi a big plus. The girls were up early the next morning, listening to fantastic bird song, they then headed out to have great fun in the playground, tree house & sand pit, all within eyeshot of the cabin. 3 days of just pure bliss, highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for a really kind review, it was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests.
Hope to see ye all again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olly K
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful comfortable cabin, great location”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin itself is just beautifully made and maintained. It's very comfortable inside, lovely fixtures & fittings. Was ideal for just a couple, but would be lovely with one or two kids also.

The kitchen is perfectly equipped. The wood burning stove is very simple to use and really does heat the whole cabin. Bathroom, shower etc are lovely. It is cosy inside, the dining table isn't that big, But it was perfect for the two of us.

The grounds are delightful. There are wonderful areas for kids and it seemed very safe. The pond is a good distance from the cabin and any other water is fenced off.

I can also recommend the Chinese takeaway in Gowran! There is tea, coffee, sugar and some other bits there when you arrive. But no milk/bread. So you'd be best to bring some. We arrived late (about 9pm), the shop in Gowran was closed so make sure you have a few essentials with you.

There is WiFi in the cabin, which was a lovely surprise.

We would certainly return.

Directions are grand, but could do with a sign when you get in the gate as it was dark and we weren't sure to go left or right in the gate - v. minor issue I know!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cabin
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you to stay.A sign is a great idea after coming in the entrance, we will have to take care of that. Looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gar_w
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed in the Clover Cabin for 2 nights, March 20th-22nd. We found the cabin to be very comfortable and inviting. The stove was already lightening when we arrived and a basket of welcoming scones were on the counter top which was a very nice touch. As the weather was pretty poor during our stay we didn't get to enjoy much of the outdoor facilities which during the summer would be great for small kids, the playground, soccer goal, pond and the covered outdoor area for barbeques, complete with outdoor sound system and toilets. We travelled as a group of 5, my parents in law, our 1 year old daughter, my wife and myself and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The only drawback I found and the reason for not giving the cabin the full 5 stars was that to access the toilet upstairs you have to go through the babies \ children's bedroom and for us it was not worth the risk of waking the baby during the night, so we had to use the toilet down stairs, other than that I could not fault the place and will without doubt return before the year is out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thank you for a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19ll
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Would highly recommend a visit to clover cabin. I spent a few days there with my sister, neice and my mum. The downstair bedroom and bathroom were ideal as my mum uses a walking aid. Fergal was very welcoming on arrival and he had the wood burning stove already set up for us. My 5 year neice really enjoyed the Tree House and swings.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon r
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“wonderful wooden oasis”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

im not one to leave reviews but i think clover cabin deserves some kudos!
we have stayed all over ireland in selfcatering which normally ranges from terrible to functional or just plain ok! clovercabin is one of the nicest placest we have ever stayed anywhere. a really enjoyable week for myself my wife and our 3year old son.our week there was in winter in the middle of a very intense storm which did alot of damage to the surrounding area,but the cabin itself was incredibly warm and safe and we found it very comfortable.the cabin was very clean,everything you need for a comfortable stay was provided.its warm cosy and have a lovely homeliness about it.our son loved the garden and playhouse and playground.there is a massive roofed area outside so even if the weather is bad you can still get outside.it was febuary when we stayed but i would love to see it in spring/summer as the cabin is totally surrounded by trees,very private.kilkenny town is 5 mins drive which is great and the local reptile zoo was fantastic.all in all great stay! during the storm when the electics went,the owner provided us with candles ,torches and a gas stove,which actually made it even more charming!! really enjoyed our stay and wouldnt hesitate to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the woodburning stove!!!
Liked least: the storm!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
thank you so much for your very kind review we really appreciate the wonderful comments and delighted you chose us for your break away
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeeBeeKil...
Kilcock, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy corner in Kilkenny”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

So glad I stumbled upon Clover Cabin. My partner and I booked a two night stay in November and due to a family death in the locality at short notice we were accommodated a night early. We had our 5 month old son with us and it worked out very well. It is such a cosy place to stay and the facilities are fantastic. We curled up each night in front of the log stove and chilled out. There is an amazing outdoor area for BBQ's in the summer and a great tree house and swing set for kids. The garden is very well maintained and the porch and balcony areas are fab too! We were greeted with all info and some lovely home made scones which we devoured!! We would defiantly recommend to friends. We have done already... Also only a short drive from the city. One thing I would have liked is to be able to go for a walk with a buggy without driving. Oh and all the little personal touches around the cabin were lovely esp. the egg holder loved it so much I bought one!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A real log cabin experience
Liked least: Location to road
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we're so glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionalice
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really beautiful place, cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Myself my husband and our two children spent three nights at clover cabin a week before Christmas, even though we were with the children it still felt like a romantic getaway. The cabin is beautiful and has everything you need. It is a peaceful place with beautiful walks, everyday we went to the delicatessen in the nearby village just a mile away to pick up some of the best food! it really was a treat. The wood burning stove heats the cabin in seconds. It was lovely being there in the winter with the frost outside in the morning! Fergal and Annette were very accommodating they even provided us with fresh home made scones on arrival. I am looking forward to going back to clover cabin especially in the summer as the private playground looks fab! thanks again Fergal and Annette for having us.
Fiona and Gordon Bishop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2014
Thanks very much for your really kind review, it was a pleasure having ye to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing