We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bron Afon
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$151
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
15
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was excellentrelaxing breaktwo nightseach morningfriendly landladycarrier bagfront of the housedouble roomcoastal pathnorth waleshostessmargarettescoopportunitymileswilliamsarmchairs
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 22 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed. By way of context, I write this review having since stayed at a 5* hotel in Brighton, which was thoroughly disappointing against this little B&B.

Pros
The view from the front of the guest house - completely stunning. The room, which was immaculately clean. The breakfast, which, although limited in terms of variety, was sufficient for any appetite, and always with an offer of extra if you wanted it. The location, which provided quick, central access to the many different areas of interest across North Wales. The hostess who was a really pleasant lady.

Cons
- Lack of access to the building due to no front door key being issued. This in turn leads to a 11pm curfew, which we have mixed feelings about. It is unusual, and quite irritating to return to the days of being concerned that you may be 'late home'. However, it did ensure that we turned it at a reasonable hour and made the most of the following day. I don't understand why no front door key is provided. It can't be a trust issue, as payment for our stay was made on the last morning. We could easily have left without paying and been £180 better off (obviously we didn't). Strange. This access problem isn't just confined to evenings though. Without a key, any time you exit the building and close the door you have to ring to get the door opened again. At one point I had to ring the bell a number of times over the course of around 5 mins before it was answered, although I should balance this by saying that this was the only time there was a delay. Unfortunately I needed the bathroom on that particular occasion which was bad luck.
- Set breakfast time. We were asked to come to breakfast at 8:20am precisely. Again, we had mixed feelings about this. Usually you get a window of time, even if it's just one hour to turn up at your leisure, which is after all the point of a relaxing break. However, the set routine did see us benefit from being on the road well before 9:30 each morning.
- No cards accepted. Make sure you have cash money to pay the bill.
- Rules. Everywhere. No food in the room, no credit or debit cards accepted, make sure you close the door etc etc. It's slightly annoying to read instructions at every turn.

General thoughts
Despite the mildly irritating restrictions and rules everywhere, this place is really charming, very reasonably priced, and super clean and fresh. We would stay here again. The location is truly special, right on the peninsula, which is a huge advantage of staying at Borth-y-Gest as opposed to Porthmadog town. There's also a fantastic walk which starts right outside the guesthouse and will blow the cobwebs away, leaving you feeling refreshed after just a couple of minutes. Priceless.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank EmmaTuckBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

a different world just 2 hours from where we live.the peace and silence is incredible.just step out of the door and your practically on the coastal path where you meet people from all over the world who are in awe of the location.mrs williams just leaves you to enjoy your holiday but is always there if needed. lovely lady.weather was wonderful.stepson dropped in for a cofffee which mrs williams was cool about.shared path with b+b customers is fine because you meet lots of lovely people.no 11pm curfew in cottage.anyone who finds fault with this place must be general malcontents.roll on our next holiday here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernieWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

What can I say about Bron Afon, well I have visited this B&B for the last 10 years and never tire of it, there is always something I haven't seen . The setting , the view , the hospitality is second to none . We always have the double room to the front with views to die for , get up have a fantastic breakfast curtesy of Mrs Williams then a stroll along the path with views right across to Harlech Castle , Portmerrion etc .
Porthmadog down the road and of course the Italian Village Portmerrion which is fabulous , you could spend all day in there and the walks off the beaten track are devine . Not an expensive break at all beats any Hotel in my books , it is a must and book early .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missred2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed in the self-catering cottage at Bron Afon for one week. The view from our front door was amazing. Little table and chairs outside the front door and weather permitting we ate breakfast looking out over the sea and Snowdonia in the background. Cottage very comfortable. Gas heating, so instant hot water, and if we put the central heating on (hardly needed to), house heated up immediately. You pay for gas and electricity at the end of your stay, but it only cost us a tenner for the week. Kitchen had fridge, cooker, microwave, and all the crockery and cutlery you could need. Comfortable living room with good TV. Little porch inside the front door for leaving all your wet clothes and boots in. Stairs are rather low - have to duck when going up or coming down. Two bedrooms upstairs - one tiny single, and one double (with an extra single, making it rather tight for space). Lovely strong shower over the bath. The welcoming owner, Mrs Williams, kindly leant us a catetiere for the essential morning coffee. Double bedroom has view of the sea from the bed, and it was so peaceful at night, no passing traffic at all, just sea birds and the sound of the wind in the trees. Slept so well. Borth Y Gest is a lovely peaceful little village, ate in the Moorings Bistro on two nights, it was fantastic, but apart from a little cafe, that is all there is. But Portmadog is a very pleasant ten minute walk away by the path behind the beach, taking you in to Portmadog harbour, and it has everything you could need there - Tesco, LIDL, ALDI, shops, restaurants, even its own brewery. Bit of a bottle neck of a town though, always took a while to get through it, and you have to go through it to go anywhere. But such a good spot for exploring. A couple of miles to Portmeirion, which is so strange and lovely, well worth a visit. The Lleyn Peninsula is beautiful, lovely beaches and villages along the way. It is no distance at all into Snowdonia, and the sight of the mountains from the cottage is fabulous (when not hidden in the clouds). Right in front of the cottage is the start of a path which takes you on around the coast, and when the tide is low you can walk around by the beach, we walked as far as Criccieth one day. Tides are pretty scary though, water sweeps up the estuary at such a pace, you'd need to know what you were doing. Only negative we can think of is that you have no private space outside your cottage - it is actually part of the B&B building, although with its own front door, so there are B&B guests passing by regularly. Nowhere really that you could sunbathe or barbq, that kind of thing. Wasn't a problem for us, and you have lovely parkland just a few yards from the door anyway. Car parking is tight enough, but there is enough room for about 5 cars right beside the cottage, and it wouldn't be a problem if you had to park on the road. We loved our week in Bron Afon Cottage, so glad we stayed in Borth Y Gest and not Portmadog, which is rather hectic. For a peaceful stay beside the sea, it is hard to beat. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BelfastTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

A great setting overlooking the bay with walks along the waterfront at the door. The owner is very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We had a wonderful room with panaramic views of the bay and completely quiet. Bathroom was small but functional, everything was spotless and the heating worked well. Restaurants and pubs 5 minutes by car or can walk around the headland. The magical village of Portmeirion is only a short drive away. A good English (Welsh?) breakfast was served to send us on our way in the morning. We left wishing we had time to spend more than just one night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toys_with_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews