We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Sir Henry,a relative of mine.

My father took me to the house museum some time in the 1950s,I was fascinated by the cradle... read more

Reviewed May 5, 2019
lynmorris
,
Corby, United Kingdom
via mobile
What an amazing small museum - and so inspiring

We have wanted to visit this place for some time and we were able to do so today. Do check opening... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2017
Walker047
,
Northants
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveler rating
6
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
6
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We called into the museum on their recent Open Doors weekend. This is an interesting museum run by a group of enthusiastic volunteers who are on hand to talk about Sir Henry, his life and the house in which he spent his early years.

In addition to artefacts relating to Sir Henry, there were also other local artefacts, including the infamous 'Welsh Not'. Although small it is packed with information and you will learn something about Welsh life in the 19th century.

It is off the beaten track but worth a visit, check the opening hours before you visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank TravellerFromNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We have wanted to visit this place for some time and we were able to do so today. Do check opening times which are quite limited - and adjust your plans accordingly. It is well worth visiting. Henry Jones left school at aged 12 but was encouraged to study in his evenings (and he apparently carried on through through the night) at the end of what must have been a long working day as a boot maker. He ended up as Professor of Moral Philosophy at Glasgow University.
It is humbling to stand within in a modest Welsh home and realise that with hard work, and ambition a child who sat at this hearth became as great and as good a man as he could be.
As a man who was wholly committed to improving education opportunities for others Henry Jones is a real inspiration. We visited on an 'open doors' day and were pleased to meet a number of locals who clearly value the history of this place. We would heartily recommend stopping here to be inspired. The village itself is beautiful and we would recommend visiting the ancient church, the incredibly old yew tree in the church yard and the warm and welcoming pub.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Walker047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014

Sir Henry Jones (1852-1922) was born at “Y Cwm” and the museum of his life was opened in 1934 by his friend David Lloyd George. Sir Henry advised Lloyd George on educational matters when he was in office. Sir Henry was a great educational reformer and thus he became a major influence on the educational system in Wales and beyond. He was a founding father of secondary education in Great Britain, a prolific author and a zealous university lecturer.

The museum houses a collection of everyday utensils and objects that would have been familiar to Sir Henry in his childhood and youth. As soon as you step inside the museum you get a feeling of the domestic and working life of the Jones family at the end of the 19th century.

We were very impressed with the vegetable plot in the cottage front garden as we walked up to the entrance of “Y Cwm” from the car park. This area is tended and used by some of the volunteers and the simple project has thus created an authentic period garden in keeping with the museum.

Sadie Williams is the Museum Development and Marketing Officer and she is based at the unit. This lady was very helpful and she gave us a very cordial welcome to the establishment. Her valuable work is supported by a number of energetic volunteers and also the Development Officer of Conwy augments the project at Llangernyw.

Sir Henry Jones left school at the age of 12 and went into employment like many of his generation. In his case, he went to work with his father who was the village shoemaker. A young Henry was allowed to study at home and later won a scholarship to train as a teacher and thence climbed up the ladder of education. Annual university prizes are still awarded in the name of Sir Henry Jones. In 1882 he married Annie Walker, of Kilbirnie. He died at Tighnabruaich, Argyll, on February 4th 1922.

The admission price of £2.50p to the museum is moderate and represents good value for money. The unit is not really suitable for visitors who are disabled because the authentic stairs inside the museum are rather steep and it is necessary to climb these to access the bedrooms. When you move about inside the property you gain some understanding of life in a bygone age without the modern facilities we now take for granted.

Make sure that you come to scenic North Wales in the first place and you will find that the Sir Henry Jones Museum is certainly a “must” for people who love social history. You don’t need permission to come to “Y Cwm” but remember.. "We'll Keep a Welcome" in this spectacular corner of North Wales!

Lastly, remember when you come and visit the museum there’s lots more to see and do in Llangernyw and remember to check the opening hours.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank ChasNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you want to see what a small, humble Welsh cottage in a remote village was like in the early years of the last century; visit this little museum. Sir Henry Jones was a remarkable man. From very humble beginnings he became an academic and promoted education in Wales and Scotland. He was knighted in 1912 and made a Companion of Honour in 1922, the year of his death. Combine your visit with a look at the Parish Church of St Digain in the village and see the remarkable 4,000 year old Yew Tree and the grave of Robert Roberts, whose life is also recorded in the museum.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found this museum to be really interesting and well worth the visit. It's probably one of the less well known museums and I suspect visited by very few people but if you're interested in local history and people who make a difference to the education of people then this should be on your to do list

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank PJSSESDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews