We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for dogs and lovely food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Stag

The Old Stag
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Llangernyw
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for dogs and lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We visited The Old Stag yesterday with our two dogs. The staff made us feel very welcome and we had a lovely evening. Our food took a little while to arrive, but it was worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JM-LABRADOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A true gem tucked away in a tiny place in Wales. Excellent food and service and what a quirky little pub. Woule most def visit again in ever we are in the ara.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stop for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lovely pub, full of character and a very pleasant lunch. Staff very friendly and although food took a little while to arrive, it was freshly cooked and very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, and again and again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this lovely pub a few times and the meals are excellent. We have to admit the service is a little slow but it's to be expected when the food presumably is freshly cooked. It's worth the wait.
We try the the special lunch menu and it superb value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic Pub Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This pub is a gem in North Wales. Outstanding home cooked food, more than generous portions and excellent value. We absolutely loved the atmosphere, sat at the beautiful inglenook fireplace. We had an evening meal and returned for one of the best Sunday Roast ever!! Our children loved the pizza (cooked by Welsh Pizza Chef of the Year 2012) so we discovered from the waitress when we commented on how good it was. My husband said the steak was delicious. Friendly and great service and the locals chatting at the bar add great warmth to the pub. Our family all agree we will definitely return to The Old Stag. Thank you again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weybridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Stag also viewed

 
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
Llangernyw, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Old Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing