We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully cosy little nook in a spectacular...”
other travelers have booked this property
Cute stone cottage, your own garden space, exclusive  wood-fired hot tub and stunning countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cute stone cottage, your own garden space, exclusive  wood-fired hot tub and stunning countryside
2 super cute levels! Luxury heated bathroom...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Cute stone cottage, your own garden space, exclusive  wood-fired hot tub and stunning countryside
2 super cute levels!
Luxury heated bathroom...
Morning coffee?
Gorgeous private views
Super comfy bed to laze and dream...
Little sunlit snug to read and snooze in the sun...
Relaxing outdoor space with tranquil views
Breakfast hamper...bring a big appetite!
New tub arrival Aug 2018...lovely for couples
Lovely bathroom with spa-like atmosphere....just light lots of candles and relax...
Hot tub under moonlight (and not even photoshop'd!)
Snuggle up
Local baker delivers indulgent treats right to your door!
2 levels of unique character in the countryside
Summer flowers add scented beauty
Located in the grounds of a lovely Georgian country home
Marvellous walks and cycling in the area (owners' photo)
Joe & Edward might wander over to say hello
Your view from The Bothy.... lovely sunsets courtesy of nature!
Surf Snowdonia, cool surf venue in the middle of the nearby mountains
Amazing world heritage Conwy Castle nearby
Gorgeous North Wales beaches to visit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tremeirchion, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cosy little nook in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An absolutely wonderful venue which we will definitely be revisiting in the future. A stunning setting with fabulous views across the valley, in a charming little part of the world. There can't be many better ways to unwind than a couple of hours in the hot tub with a good book, pausing occasionally to marvel at the tranquillity and the view.

We went inside the Bothy to a delicious welcome of homemade scones and soon made the acquaintance of Thomas and Amanda, both of whom are among the nicest, wittiest and most accommodating people you could hope to meet. They are fonts of local knowledge and full of good suggestions for your time - if you can tear yourself away from the Bothy, that is. The accommodation is snug and crammed with everything you could want, but the high ceiling means it never feels cramped. The bed is extraordinarily comfortable and there's even a TV and DVD collection if you're so inclined - not that we turned it on once!

There's also plenty of wildlife to enjoy. Teddy is a brilliant, giddy little Border Terrier who will make himself known to you, while Joe the horse is also quite the character. Keep an ear out for Phil, a grouse who will punctuate the afternoon with his random exclamations.

The local pub - the Salusbury Arms - serves huge, excellent portions and the staff are super friendly. You can get to it via a five-minute cross-field walk from the Bothy

All in all, a flawless place to stay. Great hosts, wonderful setting. Can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Thanks for your generous words, we're so pleased you had a great time - the fact you never turned the TV on is a sign of really chilling out! But I have to tell you that Phil the Pheasant is deeply discouraged that you have called him a 'grouse' and may be puffing his chest out in an even greater show of vanity next time you visit! All the best, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daz850
Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Uber relaxing”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I stayed with my partner for three nights in the Bothy. We found it very tranquil, romantic and one of the most relaxing places we'd ever visited. The fire heated hot tub was the highlight of the trip; we found ourselves relaxing in the warm water, watching the rolling Welsh countryside and the wildlife for hours, even catching glimpse of the resident Pheasant "Phill". The bothy provides ultimate peacefulness. Whilst laying in the hot tub we could hear nothing other than the wind in the trees and bird song day and night.
Thomas was very accommodating and very pleasant; he recommended places to eat and things to see and even brought us some homemade scones, hot cross buns and Easter chocolates on our departure.
One important thing to take note if you're booking on a budget; something we didn't 100% expect when we booked is having to pay extra for all of the "luxuries". £18 for hot tub firewood (each use), £10 for hot tub cleaning and £5 for BBQ use. We originally thought the £130 a night would cover these sort of expenses.
However; the extra costs are totally worth the relaxing and remote experience you are awarded from staying at the Bothy.
We're not the best planners and like to improvise when we arrive, luckily there are several supermarkets in close proximity, the closest being a 15 minute drive. All we required was food, as the bothy provides everything else you would need. This includes cutlery, towels, fridge, tv and utensils.
For 50% of our stay we experienced traditional Welsh weather (rain), but not once did this hinder the use of the hot tub or even the BBQ. If anything, it made the experience even more romantic. Being able to lie in warm water with rain splashing around you is something we won't forget any time soon.
Overall, an amazingly relaxing experience, and completely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Fantastic to hear that The Bothy provided all the tranquility you were seeking and amusing to hear that the local wildlife performed on cue while relaxing in the tub! All the best, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve B
1 review
“April 2 night stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very cute and cosy cottage with excellent views from the hot tub! Owners were friendly and had some great recommendations of places to eat nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Marvelous to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and experienced some great food at the eateries in the area. All the best, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra M
1 review
“Fantastic birthday treat”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The setting for the cottages was really idyllic with rolling hillsides and scattered copses all around. April is a lovely time to visit with young lambs bouncing all over the fields. Thomas and his wife Amanda were really friendly and welcoming. Thomas was very informative. Telling us everything from all the amenities in the Bothy to local walks and good pubs for food and drink. The wood fired hot tub was very romantic. Especially on a clear starry night with a couple of glasses of Proseco. We mentioned in passing that it was our joint birthdays and Thomas brought us some extra kindling and firewood along with some marshmallows for the fire pit. Very much appreciated

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
It's just great when we hear that guests had a marvellous time at The Bothy, whether a spontaneous break or a special celebration - we actually feel lucky to be a part of that! Thanks for choosing to celebrate your special days at The Bothy. See you again soon, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2017
So glad to hear you enjoyed our little slice of paradise, lovely to have to have you stay with us for your anniversary. Hope to see you again soon, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KendzF
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My partner and I booked The Bothy for a 2 night break to celebrate my birthday. The location of the cottage nestled in the North Wales valley's is breathtaking, exactly what we were looking for! The cottage itself is quaint and full of historic charm. Its own secluded outdoor area gives you the privacy and space to truly enjoy your surroundings and relax. The cottage interior has been beautifully decorated in a cottage chic style with a romantic touches. The lower level bathroom is gorgeous with freestanding tub, candles and fairy lights surround the room, perfect place to unwind and relax in the bubbles. Robes are also provided to make this even more of a spa experience. All essentials are provided by Thomas & Amanda such as cutlery, plates, utensils, towels etc. There are a couple of shops a close drive away to stock up on items for the mini fridge. With it being winter time, at night there was nothing better than cosy-ing up with a bottle of wine, ambient lighting and listening to the wind howling outside. We took full advantage of the wood fired hot tub and didn't want to get out, even in the middle of a small snow blizzard! We did the Zipworld experience at the Bethesda quarry (45min away) and stopped off to explore Chester on the way home (30min away). Thomas was extremely helpful and welcoming throughout our stay. Even bringing us some delicious homemade cake that his son had made earlier that day. These personal touches are what make a trip memorable. We didn't get the chance to meet his wife Amanda on this occasion but we will definitely be back in the future! This cottage is a hidden gem, we didn't want to leave!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2017
Thanks so much for your kind comments, it was great to see you had a fun time enjoying all that the local area has to offer (and even survived my lads' baking!). See you soon, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouJo16
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First Anniversary”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Me & my girlfriend booked this beautiful place to celebrate our first anniversary. Thomas & Amanda could not have been more welcoming or have done anything more for us, they made our stay very memorable and pleasant.

The hot tub was amazing and the views while in it are spectacular. Many hours can pass while you are enjoying the views and a bottle of prosecco. The BBQ was really high quality and cooked some beautiful steaks. Thomas was very helpful setting up both the the bbq & hot tub for us and giving us some directions for local shops and walks. We will defiantly be visiting again, our first anniversary was made special and this was a perfect place to spend it.

Thank you to you both



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2017
Thank you for choosing The Bothy for your special anniversary break, we're so glad you had memorable stay! Looking forward to seeing you again, Thomas & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing