We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not deliver its "gastropub" claim”
Review of The Black Sheep - CLOSED

The Black Sheep
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Does not deliver its "gastropub" claim”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I had an evening meal here with friends. We were aware that the menu was limited and the prices above average but would have been happy if the food was of "gastro" quality. Unfortunately, it was barely average and the staff showed little interest in serving us, especially with pre-drinks at the bar beforehand. A disappointing experience not to be repeated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HoPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    24
    37
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant I have ever been to.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I went to the black sheep with 8 other people. When we arrived at the pub, the barmaid wasn't particularly interested in serving us, was pretty unfriendly and had a generally had a bad attitude. This was our first warning sign. When we were shown to our table, it then took 15 minutes for the menus to arrive. We then had to wait 20 mins for the waitress to come and take our order. Our starters then took 30 minutes to arrive. By this stage we were all starving, and almost past the point of caring what the food actually tasted like. I had squid and chorizo salad, and the squid arrived in a big slab, that had been cooked in a soggy tasteless batter. It was one of the most revolting things I have ever eaten, had no seasoning and had been completely over cooked. However, by this point, as in have said, we were all so hungry we ate it. We did complain, and the waitress ( who was the same girl as the one behind the bar) wasn't really that fussed, and didn't make any attempt to make up for the fact that it was so terrible. We the then had to wait 40 minutes for our next course. I had fish and chips, the chips weren't cooked and the fish hadn't been seasoned and was again completely tasteless. We also asked for mayonnaise, and when it eventually arrived, it was thin and runny, and tasted more like cream than mayonnaise. This place is truly one of the worst places I have ever eaten, and the service didn't do anything to add to our experience. I will not go back, which is a shame, because the pub looks great inside, and could have so much potential, starting with having a barmaid that is friendly and welcoming. A smile goes a long way!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lamb burgers on the way back from the Grand Prix”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped here at 6 o'clock I the evening for food on a drive back from Silverstone.
We initially stopped at The Checkers which we had used previously but they close at 6.
We were greeted warmly by the barman who was pleased to serve us.
We all studied the menu and all decided on the Lamb burger.
And we all agreed it was super and a nice change from beef.
Service was excellent and when we declined puddings strawberrys and creme were offered on the house.
Thanks and we would stop here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific, just a shame about some of the other customers!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

So, ok, I was just going to review the place as all 5 of us loved it. That was until I read the last 2 reviews and got really annoyed by clearly the same customers who had angered me when we visited on Friday. The "defensive manager" comment and "beans on toast" remark clearly means that these reviews were from the customers in the pub at the same time as us. For some people nothing is good enough, the food, the service, the staff, these folk are called freeloaders. We overheared their petty moaning about the saffron sauce tasting awful, the pie not being a proper pie as it had no soggy base and the pie filling being rubbish. They knew all this as they have chefs in the family. The manager dutifuly apologised and asked if they would like the food to be redone or would they like an alternative. More complaining. The manager then asked how they would like the problem resolved and got told by them that he was being defensive.
We had the bream with saffron sauce and it was excellent, the pie, even without a soggy bottom, was great and the filling was very tasty. The staff were happy and friendly and the manager acted in a professional way, considering what he was having to put up with. They angered us so much that I felt obliged to go their table and tell them that we had had the same food and service and couldnt fault it. Well something had to be said.
Would we go back? Yes. Would we reccommend it? Yes.
Should that other table be allowed to return? No! They should try KFC or Mackie Ds where the food would be more suited to their pallates.
Black Sheep carry on the fab food and service.

PS other table, if you read this, next time you want a lamp for home, go to homebase and buy one, dont steal one from a pub. Yes we all saw you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst meal we have ever had”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My sister's and I took our mother for her birthday and although we had to find it funny in the end, this was the worst restaurant we have ever eaten in.

Terrible food, inedible in fact. Defensive manager, who eventually agreed not to charge us after we explained that the food was disgusting and we didn't have the confidence to accept is offer of free puddings after we found it impossible to eat the main courses. The worst food we have ever ordered and tried to eat in a public restaurant.

Would recommend you don't ever eat there, unless you like being told that the flavours used are in fact an 'acquired taste' by the manager! Will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 13chatters13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Sheep also viewed

Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
 
Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing