We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old house, great service”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manor
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's a really fine, handsome building set in lovely countryside (though we didn't really explore) and comes with really friendly service. The tasting menu in a beautiful dining room (with hammerbeam ceiling and minstrels gallery) was very good quality, and I loved the little bar (again with very friendly service - a really chatty French chap) and the room next door with the roaring fire. The room and bed were huge though the bathroom was quite small and a bit of a letdown. The gardens are very pretty with some eccentric topiary. If I had to offer any suggestions for improvement, this place is crying out for a billiards room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, and we were all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Manor. It is a stunning property, and we are fortunate to be surrounded by beautiful gardens, carefully tended by our gardener. We are currently refurbishing the remaining few bedrooms within the Coach House, and whilst there are currently no plans for a billards room, we have noted your suggestion!

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Regards
Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 654 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

For the 3rd consecutive year, our workplace dined here on 20th December for our Christmas celebrations.

On previous visits, the food has been merely satisfactory and only secondary to the overall experience. The reason for our return, year on year has simply been for the fabulous, festive atmosphere, the historical ambiance and the fact that we were always made to feel very special. With recent changes to the hotel and the addition of a new chef, we were especially excited about our visit this year.

On arrival, we were greeted with a hello but sadly, not the warm welcome we had experienced in previous years. We found our way to the bar to take an aperitif before we dined. A member of staff arrived and took the drinks order for all but 2 of our party of 5. This order consisted of 2 bottles of beer and a glass of cider. I’m not sure this is a complicated process but unfortunately, it took almost 10 minutes for this part of the order to arrive in hand. We then ordered the 2 remaining drinks-Champagne cocktails. After 5 minutes of what we thought was preparation, the barman advised us that he would have to go and seek out the wine waiter for instruction on how to prepare the cocktails. By this time, 2 of the party had been waiting almost 15 minutes for refreshment. (The bar was otherwise completely empty). I confess to being a little ruffled about this and faced with further delay, asked if we could have a complimentary drink whilst the wine waiter was sought and the cocktail prepared. This request was (somewhat unwillingly) fulfilled and he returned behind the bar to split 1 bottle of lager between 2 glasses? Finally though, we were able to at least raise a toast. After preparation by 2 bar staff, the simple Champagne cocktails eventually arrived a full 10 minutes later.
At length, we ordered a few bottles of wine which also took far too long to appear. A taster of wine was poured into each glass by the waiter and the bottles then left on the bar. This would’ve been perfectly acceptable had he then been alert to our subsequent needs but ultimately, we had to retrieve the bottles from the bar to fill our own glasses.
This unusual approach was also mirrored whilst we dined. The degree of attentiveness in an otherwise completely empty dining room was sadly lacking and we had to remove from the table in order to retrieve our bottles from the sideboard. All the wine we ordered was of very good quality and at the right temperature. Unfortunately though, the reds were never decanted and as a result, we experienced unpleasant thrown sediment in the bottom of every glass. With the least expensive bottle being £35, it is disappointing that the fundamental act of decanting was lost on the wine waiter/s.

We had been looking forward to a Gin & Tonic but the charge of £11 for the Gin and then an additional £3 for the tonic rendered the notion rather unpalatable. It should never be a surprise that a hotel has a high drinks tariff but I’m afraid we found the bar prices a little too excessive, especially given the poor level of service thus far. This finding is also compounded by £50+ ‘service’ charge we paid on settlement of the bill.
The total bill at the end of the afternoon was not itemised and was simply shown as, ‘Bar - £ Lounge - £ Restaurant-£.’ We would've preferred more detail but when I requested it, I was advised, ‘This the way we do it here’.

The baron’s hall had been decked with carefully chosen, traditional decorations and looked wonderful as usual. The table had been laid with great care and the glasses/ cutlery were sparkling, the linen was crisp and white.
We didn’t have to wait long for the meals to arrive and the food service was excellent throughout.
The dishes were simply stupendous. The passion and preparation which had clearly gone into every dish was fully evident. Even the simplest of components had an extra special depth of flavour which only comes with a high degree of expertise and attention to detail. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all and we felt we had eaten something really rather special. We were fully content with the cost of this excellent meal and service.
We removed to the sofa in the lounge area (where there was coffee ready and waiting) and commenced with our parlour games and gift opening.

To summarise: A truly wonderful, historic hotel which had been elegantly decorated for Christmas. Luxurious surroundings and most excellent food was relished and savoured by all concerned.
However, the portrayals of a seamless, professional, refined experience reflected in representations of the hotel were unfortunately not evident on this occasion.
Rather sadly, we have to say that too many open opportunities for enhancement to the service and finer details have left us unlikely to return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoomer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Following your Christmas celebratory dinner at The Manor on 20th December, we were pleased to learn that you found the food presented by our Executive Chef, Larry, to be excellent and enjoyed by all your party. We note from your feedback above, however, that we failed to deliver our high standards of bar and wine service for which we offer our sincere apologies. I have discussed the issues you experienced with our Restaurant Manager, so that these may be addressed without delay.

I do take a very keen interest in all feedback and would be pleased to discuss the above further with you at your convenience. My contact details are brian.garside@themanorweston.co.uk

Regards
Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited this property recently for the first time to visit their restaurant since we heard that they had acquired a new chef recently. The welcome was extremely warm and we were shown around the hotel too. After a drink in their small but cosy bar area we went into the Baron's Hall for dinner. We had the tasting menu which was really excellent and Larry the chef is clearly heading for a michelin star. We started with an extra complementary dish of blowtorched mackerel which was succulent, and beautifully cooked. Then onto the open raviolo of game, followed by confit of salmon. The balancing of flavours and elements in the dish was excellent. The quail that followed was accompanied by pumpkin, red cabbage and blackcurrant and encompassed an essence of winter delights. The mango, passion fruit and lime granita was superb - surprisingly good. And finally the dark chocolate cream with praline and confit lemon was rich but not cloyingly so. All in all an excellent meal and for a tasting menu it was not too expensive. This is cooking of the first order and so you expect to pay accordingly. It was definitly worth a return visit especially as the new kitchen should be up and running soon. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the property is quite charming. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yolanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Yolanda W

Your restaurant review is very much appreciated, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the tastes and textures of Larry’s dishes.

It was my pleasure to welcome you to The Manor, and I sincerely look forward to seeing you again before too long.

With best wishes for 2014.

Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice setting and nice tea and lovely sandwiches. Scones were ok but cakes were not that nice. A nice roaring fire to sit by once finished in the hotel entrance. It was very quiet and just us, in the room, which was nice.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank monkeyeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear monkeyeve32

Thank you for your feedback and I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the tea, sandwiches and the cosy surroundings. Our cakes are all home baked, and have proven to be very popular with our guests but I note that these were not to your taste. It would be most helpful if you could please contact me directly via email at brian.garside@themanorweston.co.uk so that we may learn a little more in this regard.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to hearing further from you.

Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our usual NYE was swotted to one side to do something last minute. I must confess that everyone at the Manor pulled out all the stops to make it a night to remember with a great food menu and wine list to match. Considering the time of year I thought it was great value with all the staff being extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back when the weather is more pallatable. Well done to all the team and thanks for a lovely if only brief stay. Oh and by the way you will receive a VIP book for Bicester Village which will get you discount at all the major outlets. Saved us a fortune so thanks again The Manor at Weston on The Green :-)

Room Tip: If you like a four poster and under 6 foot then room 4 was lovely and in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments and it was our pleasure to welcome you to The Manor for the New Years Eve celebrations. We have a lovely team and I know they will very much appreciate your feedback which provides a great morale boost.

With our best wishes for 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A year ago we had a really nice experience, today we felt robbed by the over priced food. Yes the manor is nice but they are over charging at an astonishing level. Shame as a good location but £10 for an average soup with no bread is a disgrace. I would avoid unless you want to remortgage your house!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Our Bar Lounge prices are clearly promoted within our menus and we are sorry that you felt them to be higher than you expected.

Since your last visit to The Manor one year ago, we have been very fortunate to secure the talents of Larry Jayasekara as our Executive Chef. Larry has a wealth of experience in one, two and three Michelin starred restaurants in London and the South East. He has been trained under the watchful eyes of Gordon Ramsay, Marcus Wareing and Michel Roux Snr and held positions at The Waterside Inn, The Savoy Grill and most recently, was Sous Chef at Marcus Wareing at The Berkeley
.
Larry takes pride in creating exceptional seasonal menus inspired by local produce. Our homemade Roasted Fennel Soup with warm Ham Hock is £9.90, and does include bread as per the menu. We are sincerely sorry if this was not forthcoming when you visited us recently, and if you would kindly contact me directly, then I will arrange for you to recompensed for this ommission.

For information, we are currently refurbishing our local pub in the village, The Ben Jonson which is soon to be renamed The Black Sheep, and Larry has been busy preparing delicious pub menus giving our guests greater choice.

Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely hotel in great position- stopped here for a light lunch after shopping at Bicester - the bar menu was extremely overpriced - £16.90 for a club sandwich and £9.90 for a bowl of soup ! ( even no bread included) such a shame as won't be returning due to the over priced food.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank AbbottH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

I suspect you may have accompanied the reviewer, Ben A, since your comments are similar. As confirmed in my response to Ben A, bread is normally offered with our wholesome homemade soup.

We are not clear from your comments whether you ordered The Manor Club Sandwich which is prepared with freshly cooked chicken, bacon, lettuce, mayonnaise, fried egg, tomatoes and served with French fries. Whilst the price is £16.50, the majority of our guests recognise that this is a delicious and very filling dish for which we have received many compliments.

We are sorry that you have chosen not to return to The Manor in the future but should you change your mind, please do contact me so that I may personally meet with you and discuss your comments in more detail.

Brian Garside
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
446 reviews
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,393 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range: $111 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing