We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manor
Botley, Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at The manor in April for my wife's birthday and enjoyed our stay so much that I booked again for our wedding anniversary last Friday (9th August)

We received a very warm welcome from Betsy on reception, who very kindly escorted us to our room. As previous visitors we'd been upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the driveway and gardens which was most appreciated.

Having unpacked we went downstairs for afternoon tea which was served in the snug, and Mr Macedo the operations manager popped in to wish us a happy anniversary which we thought an extra special touch.

We ate out for dinner having discovered during our last visit the best Italian food we've eaten at Rigolletos Middleton Stoney (including in Tuscany!) so our only experience of the food was breakfast. The team at breakfast were most attentive and accomodating to 'off menu' requests, I like my fried bread!
One young waitress displayed great knowledge of the house, I'm sorry to say I didn't ask her name as she was especially good.

Checkout was dealt with by the ubiquitous Betsy who is an undoubted asset to the reception team. The manor is now our number one choice for a country house special occasion stay.

Room Tip: Room 3, a recently refurbished triple suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    167
    90
    41
    37
See reviews for
80
319
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Birthday treat and despite having an arm in a sling (long story) had a very enjoyable stay in this super old manor house. The room was lovely and very spacious. The grounds were magnificent and the atmosphere was very peaceful. Thoroughly enjoyed the taster menu which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 161sunshine161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay here with some friends - booked through Secret Escapes at a very good price. The manor house is delightful and, having had a good look around, we requested that our evening meal be served in the panelled dining room c/w gallery. Nicely positioned although may be stretching it a bit to call it 'The Cotswolds'! Very close to lots of interesting places (Waddesdon particularly good). All the staff were charming and our room - in the coach house annexe was very good. We were on the top floor and our friends, one floor below us, were in a newly decorated room ... would imagine the top floor might be next on the decorating list. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just stayed at Weston Manor at Weston on the green.Sunday 28th- All Staff where Great, including the Recepitionist who met us, ( my tip to her would be to vist each room so that she could tell us which had view etc.Only 28- Poor management training) The Itailian chap behind bar was great, could not do enough.... Really looking forward to english Breakfast, unfortunatley would say average. (did not like sausage, poss should have had black pudding) Went out of Hotel for dinner...
For me it was the Carpet in our room, unbeliverable, so bad... l am a property Developer, and for the price of the one night we stayed l could have replaced it with a really good one....
Paul

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our first Secret Escape break which we thoroughly enjoyed.As we stayed 2 nights we were offered the a la carte menu on the second night.We enjoyed the taster but the alc was even better.The hotel is well placed to visit some intersting places
(NT Waddesdon).During the day you can hear road noise from A34 but this does not spoil the overall peace of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafalgar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed via Secret Escapes. The hotel and grounds are stunning and the staff extremely helpful. We enjoyed the tasting meal but the portions are tiny unlike the fabulous breakfast which was very plentiful. Overall we had a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dotangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed Saturday night, I booked via secret escapes with room, meal and other items included. The main problem was the tasting menu - it wasn't really 5 courses more like 3 with palate cleansers and each course was very very small; not worth the £65 noted - we also had the wines to match, of which there were only 4 (how does that match a supposed 5 course) half glasses and cost us £70 for two. The first three courses were extremely rushed including the sommelier having to catch up the meal with the wine. We had to order a cheese course (an extra £13) just to feel like we had eaten something, and the menu was basically tomato soup, chicken and chocolate brownie, not exactly high end.

The other problems are the overpricing and charges; we had a couple of afternoon drinks and although we expected a service charge on the meal, we also had a service charge on the drinks which was not good. We ended up with a few drinks, matched wine and service charges with an extra £161 bill, on top of what we had paid for the supposed deal. Other items; chocolates in room on arrival - was told would have melted with the weather so we got a small amount of fruit and macaroons - well not even a full macaroon just the meringue part, the room above we could hear everything, walking across floor, door and flushing toilets.
A very nice setting and grounds don't make for a good stay, they didn't even ask us, when we said we were disappointed, whether we wanted to speak to someone about this, just basically ignored us.

I would say go somewhere else, don’t think you are getting a deal, you will be disappointed and with all the other great hotels out there, this one is not competitive, and not worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank THorton810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.3 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing