We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, lovely gardens, lovely restaurant!”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manor
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely gardens, lovely restaurant!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the West Manor. We were placed in one of the top rooms, which had ample room, a large bathroom and a beautiful view on the gardens. Really stunning and well maintained.
We were received in a very friendly manner, had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant and danced the rest of the night (we were at a private function). The bartenders were really lovely, especially Emma! : )
I would definitely recommend the house for a visit in the country site, or just visit the restaurant. Just don't forget to stroll through the gardens!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the top floor. It does mean very narrow steep stairs but it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    175
    93
    43
    39
See reviews for
84
323
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The Weston Manor is a place I've stayed in a number of times now. A couple of year's ago it was a bit disorganised and my booking was forgotten a couple of times. However I now find the staff much more switched on and willing to both help and take responsibility for any issues.

The meeting room out in the old stable block is light, airy and ideal for meetings.
The bar is convivial and well organised with a wide selection of wiskys.
The restaurant is well run and the food for the most part good. Also look out for the restaurant manager, as she can make miracles happen if you ask nicely.
My only grumble was that the broadband in the bedrooms didnt work.
One other issue guests need to be aware of is that if you intend to get very very drunk, them some of the bedrooms may be tricky to get to as the stairs are very steep and the fire doors open outwards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Office
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We chose this hotel restaurant for an anniversary dinner as it was within a short taxi ride of home. I `cased the joint` before booking and it was clear that the restaurant is mostly used by residents. The setting is beautiful and the internal decoration is excellent, particularly if you are not a fan of the plastic Hil*ton style of modern chain hotels. It even has a minstrels galleryl

On the Friday evening, the restaurant was nearly empty throughout with only one other cover dining. Nonetheless, the service was attentive and efficient without being overpowering. It seems the hotel was fully (and exclusively) booked for a wedding the following day, and we were perhaps lucky to have had a quiet evening

The food was all very good with my lady having the taster menu (good value at £35). I had sliced pigeon breast followed by monk-fish tail. As a side (and a special treat) I had triple fried Chips which were quite the nicest I have ever tasted. Well worth breaking a low carb diet for! The wines were very good.

Unfortunately, all the function rooms (Bar, lounge & restaurant) were quite cold - I think all the entrance doors were left open all the time - with Autumn fast approaching.

All in all a very pleasant anniversary dinner, in lovely surroundings, excellent food and good service. Ideal for that special occasion. Well done Weston Manor. - but can I suggest you make sure the doors are shut & the heating is on when the temperature drops!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel - just used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford-Oldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful house in a great location very peaceful and relaxing. We were made to feel very welcome the staff are particularly amazing, helpful and friendly.

We had a few minor complaints everything was rectified and improved. The manager is very friendly and takes time and care to speak to everyone. Some of the rooms are shabby so you must book a superior room. It's slightly old fashioned but has much character along way from a dull corporate hotel. Also I hear they will be sprucing everything up.

The food is excellent when they get it right plus an excellent outdoor pool to relax by. We will definitely return for the third time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was my second visit to Weston Manor and it was a lovely stay as usual; enough has been said already about the beautiful landscaped settings and the elegant manor house, none of which is untrue. My family and me thoroughly enjoyed our stay here once more; the ambience is fantastic, and the rooms were huge and overlooked the pictureque gardens that takes your breath away (I understand that the new management is undertaking a thorough refurbishment project, so hopefully the slightly tired rooms will get a much-needed facelift shortly).
One gripe though; I found the reception staff inexplicably grumpy, and apart from the lovely amicable lady in the breakfast room, the other staff seemed a bit uptight (not rude, just a bit repressed) every time we met them, which bemused me a bit. The place just needs a bit more cheer all around, and then it will be a true winner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subhodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Amazing hotel, rooms decorated in a very traditional style. The staff were very attentive & our every needs were met. I would highly recommend this hotel and am only disappointed we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, and the rooms downstairs - bar, restuarnt and lobby are all very attractive and full of charactor.

The bedrooms on the other hand are old fashioned. You can see that in their day they would have been high standard.The bathroom was a very old avocado coloured suite with no shower. The bedroom had terrible artwork on the walls and afew cracks in the walls.

The room was very very clean though and the bed was comfy so it served its purpose. Was just not great that there wasnt a shower when we had paid so much for our room.

The food was very nice.

This venue is perfect for Weddings with the pretty areas in the downstairs of the hotel and the grounds, but it is a shame the hotel hasnt updated the rooms a little. They can be traditional but not so old fashioned and out dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and constructive feedback. I am delighted to inform you about our refurbishment program which will ensure that ALL our bedrooms will gradually be of a similar standard to the areas you mentioned in your review. Weston Manor was purchased in March 2012 by a private investor and I was brought along to manage the journey from a tired hotel to a fantastic home where tranquillity, elegance and service are trademarks. We have already decorated the entrance hall, morning room, bar and gardens and early September, our rooms will be given same attention to detail. All our rooms will undergo cosmetic changes, new beds, fabrics and new bathrooms (very much needed) to give you just that feeling of visiting a very elegant home. In short, we are bringing The Manor back to past glory. Parallel to this, we are investing heavily on staff development; both front and back of house, ensuring this fantastic home deliver beyond expectations. I look forward to meet and greet you when you return to the hotel to discover the changes that are happening on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
226 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.0 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing