We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant country manor with oodles of charm & character”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manor
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife, I and our 2 year old daughter stayed at the Manor hotel over an April weekend. I had rung up earlier and made the booking over the phone, and since we all wanted to stay in one room together, they gave us a big room with a spacious bed where we three could sprawl around easily. The manor is a beautiful heritage building set amidst the idyllic Oxfordshire countryside not far away from the motorways, with lush green lawns, manicured gardens and an overall old-world charm that permeates every nook and cranny of the building. The rooms have plenty of character, and the dining hall [where breakfast is also served] is particularly striking, complete with timber paneling, high-beams, a spiral staircase and windows opening into a verdant croquet lawn, reminding us all how the barons from a bygone age used to wine and dine here.
We ordered room service from the bar menu, and the food was delicious. The staff was courteous, friendly and very helpful, taking special care of my daughter during breakfast next morning. Geographically, it’s conveniently located for exploring all the Oxforshire and Cotswold attractions, including the Bicester Village [just 10-15 mins drive from the manor] for those who are inclined to indulge in some designer shopping! The room rate was reasonable, given the fact that no modern hotel can recreate the ambience that one can experience in such a manor. I would highly recommend it, and without doubt will go back and stay there at the next possible opportunity.
PS: Don’t forget to take a stroll around the property after sunset to soak up the atmosphere when the building is lit up beautifully and everything is so evocatively quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subhodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leswood, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Weston Manor Hotel, I will share your comments with the management team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We really do appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 654 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Great hotel ,staff very attentive and helpful on arrival and all through the stay. Food excellent particularly breakfast which was not English buffet and staff asked what we wanted .Beautiful quaint hotel with country manor house feel in countryside surroundings. Our room was large with a big bathroom and was very comfortable. Definitely recommend this hotel and I will certainly be staying again when I need a break from city life.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leswood, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

We really do appreciate your feedback thank you for taking the trouble to review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Weston Manor Hotel, I will share your comments with the management team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

stayed at this hotel for the weeknd and was thrilled . Just what i wanted a beautiful old style mansion with a warm welcoming fire and comfy seats. Staff were pleasent and helpfull at all times. Standard double room was quaint and lovely, looking out over the grounds. Breakfast was great good selection!. Location wise hotel is situated on a road with pubs on either side which was perfect. And a park and ride facility to get into oxford is only a 5 minute drive away. Think its obvious but we will definately be returning to the weston manor ........ lovely :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The location is convenient being minutes from the M40, yet the position is private in a small village (with a great pub, the Ben Johnson if you tire of the hotel!). The building is steeped in history and the garden must be beautiful in season. Our corner room in the main building was large with comfy sofa and chair and beautifully warm, given the cold weather. The bathroom was in need of an update and had no shower but we decided not to seek another room as we liked ours a lot. The restaurant was in a fantastic baronial hall and the food at dinner and breakfast was good, although the menu did not alter much in the 3 days we were there. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. We would stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leswood, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Weston Manor Hotel, I will share your comments with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We really do appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

what a lovely place we booked a month ago never been before we went on the sunday before valentines as my present we had initially booked for dinner in the restraunt unfortunatly the day before we arrived we had a call to say that the resraunt was closed on that sun eve i was very dissapointed but they infomed us that the bar would be open for meals so we decided we would give it a go we were in room 1 spacious clean and comfortable the staff were brilliant they laid a table up for us in the front hall we had a wonderful dinner a whole bottle of delicious rose wine we couldnt of asked for more the breakfast was great cooked to order all in all i would heartily recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Based on the other reviews, we booked a weekend at Weston Manor, expecting a pretty nice hotel. Boy, were we disappointed. The room looked nothing like it did on the website. The bathroom was a shower room, one of those rooms with no distinction between the shower area and the rest of the facilities, so the entire room (sink, toilet, floor) gets soaked when you take a shower. There was no shampoo, shower gel or conditioner, just a big bottle of generic liquid soap affixed to the wall. However, we did have shoe shine and a sewing kit, which was weird?! We wound up not eating dinner at Weston Manor as the menu wasn't very appealing, and when I had breakfast the next morning, with a surly grumpy aggressive waitress and terrible food, I was glad we had stayed away and not shelled out a considerable sum for dinner. The location is great for visiting Oxford but this was NOT the romantic getaway we were hoping for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leswood, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Thank you for your comments, however after conducting a full investigation with my colleagues; I believe your comments to be unfounded. Your comments describe our newest bathroom (2010) which in fact has been designed as a wet room. This has brought delight to many guests that require ground floor shower facilities without the usual shower cubical restrictions. There is always Shampoo & Shower Gel in every room as standard. Considering your other comments you have made on trip advisor we believe you seek to make criticism when perhaps it is unfounded. We also believe if you had joined other guests celebrating Valentines with our romantic 4 course dinner and pink champagne in our full restaurant you perhaps would have enjoyed it. We are VERY DISAPPOINTED that you DID NOT MAKE ANY OF YOUR COMMENTS KNOWN before leaving. We have a high degree of satisfaction at Weston Manor Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for my husbands birthday. Whilst we dont live miles away, we thought it would be pleasant to stay the night after food and drinks. The room we were first given was room 11, I have to say, if you liked the 80's then this was the room for you. It was very basic indeed and the wallpaper coming off the walls where there had been a water leak sometime ago was most attractive! The bathroom, yet spacious, lacked a proper shower and again dated back to the 80's. The bedroom, again while large lacked in comfort and was unappealing to the eye. Saying this, they did move us to another room in the 'built on' part of the hotel, this was ok but nothing out of the ordinary for the price they were charging. Dinner was nice and good for the price. We have probably been spoilt with other places we go to, but the service here was slow, but as I say dinner was good. Breakfast in the morning was very slow indeed, there seemed to be only 2 members of staff on and they didn't seem to know what they were doing! The breakfast again was ok, but nothing brilliant. If you want something 'special' I would suggest you go somewhere else, if you're just passing then it would be ok. I have to say I am amazed at how many good reviews there are of this place, maybe they had some other rooms somewhere that we didn't get to see!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leswood, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Thank you for your comments, however after conducting a full investigation with my colleagues; I believe your comments to be highly critical and does not give a true reflection, it would appear you look for faults therefore considered unfounded. My colleagues made every effort to ensure your stay was comfortable, moving you to another room in the Coach house which you claimed were very happy with. With reference to high prices, we don’t consider £75.00 for a double room with a full English breakfast to be high. We are VERY DISAPPOINTED that you DID NOT MAKE YOUR COMMENTS KNOWN before leaving. We have a high degree of satisfaction at Weston Manor Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
446 reviews
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,392 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range: $112 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing