We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A FAB FIND! ”
Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Chequers is a traditional English pub & restaurant in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, close to junction 9 of the M40 and Bicester shopping village. We offer a casual dining experience throughout our lovely cotswold stone thatched 16th century pub & gardens. Our wide ranging menu features a "Bertha" charcoal oven. The secret of the Bertha is its enclosed charcoal grill that ensures food retains all its natural moisture and flavour. So you get unbelievably succulent, chargrilled food every time. On Sundays we serve a carvery featuring 5 different meats, roast potatoes, roast parsnips, selection of vegetables and all the usual trimmings.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited The Chequers for Sunday lunch with friends ( 22nd September ) on a recommendation and certainly was not disappointed! We all had the carvery and it was just simply delicious!
We had homemade apple crumble and custard to follow and again, was so enjoyable.
It is a traditional, English pub, full of charm and we were made to feel most welcome.
Well done to the management, waiting staff and the chefs, who certainly know how to prepare a fab Sunday roast.
Without question, we shall be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank delwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In contrast to 'Fawlty Towers' the Manor down the road, this pub has no pretensions. They just serve good food in a timely friendly professional manner. If you stay in the Manor and get hungry: Go here!

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We turned off the M40 at Junction 9 and stopped here for lunch, on our way south. What a lovely surprise! The Chequers is a lovely pub with a thatched roof, was beautifully dressed with flowers outside and a friendly greeting inside. Good, cheerful service, despite being busy. Despite not having booked, we were quickly found a table. An unnecessarily loud, ignorantly-oblivious-of-others foursome at the next table caused us to ask to be moved. This was quickly achieved without fuss and done with a smile. The food was excellent. What's not to like.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Xraydiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Chequers at Weston-on-the-Green is a lovely pub, well presented outside and in with warm and friendly atmosphere. Welcoming staff on arrival. Very good service despite being busy. Wide selection of food and drinks. Enjoyable Sunday roasts had by all.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank 259alistairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Not much atmosphere as there were few diners. Little bit disappointed with some of the food ( the bubble & squeak) was pretty poor, lots of bubble no squeak! My friends enjoyed their fish lunches the batter was superb! Soups & starters were excellent, the squid was especially succulent. All in all good pub grub.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing