We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inviting pub in a quaint village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Arms

The Oxford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Oxford Arms is an award-winning dining pub in Oxfordshire run by Chef Patron Bryn Jones since 2003. We are situated 10 mins from Bicester Shopping Village. Reservations are highly recommended. Gluten free and vegetarian menus available.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Inviting pub in a quaint village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have lived in the area for 6 months and can't believe we had not eaten here before. The food was extremely good thoughtful and executed beautifully. The Pub itself is very warm and inviting with a large fire and comfortable interior. I had the posh pate, it was wonderful. We also tried the sirloin steak, again beautiful piece of beef, coupled with the chunky chips it was a delight. Lastly, the staff are very attentive, friendly and professional. They only add to the ambience and character. We will become frequent visitors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, General Manager at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Simken,

We're very glad that you found us! I am extremely pleased to hear about your great experience dining here, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - especially now that the log fire is becoming a must!

Thank you,

Chelsea Moran and the Team at the Oxford Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    46
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old English Gem with modern menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here for lunch as a last minute idea. This is a wonderful place with all the trappings of an old english pub but with a modern menu which was varied. The service was good and we were made to feel welcome. Nothing was too much to do.
This is not a cheap place so if you want to back pack I suggest you go elsewhere. All the food is freshly cooked and the prices are clear to see. Wonderful fresh fish.

Worth a visit and look out for the theme nights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lordstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, General Manager at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear 1Sticky,

I am pleased to hear about your wonderful dining experience here at The Oxford Arms.

We have passed on your positive comments to the team, who look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wam regards and thanks,

Chelsea Moran an the Team at the Oxford Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Warm memories of Oxford Arms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sophisticated food, thoughtful wine list. Unforegettable risotto and fish. Smell of real wood burning in the fireplace. Elegant and cosy atmosphere of old Britain. I only regret living far and not being able to come here every Friday night, especially now, in the autumn when it rains and you tend to get caught in the blues... I sincerely recommend to spend an evening here. Although I travel over Europe quite extensively, this is a very special nostalgic place where I want to come back again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Elena_Mordioukova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, General Manager at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Elena_Mordioukova,

I am very pleased to hear about your unforgettable dining experience with us, and thank you for your kind words.

Despite the distance, we do hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Chelsea Moran and the Team at the Oxford Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a delightful time at the Oxford Arms, wonderful food, service and atmosphere. We were in a large party of people and the table was dressed beautifully. The food was excellent as was the service. The whole party thoroughly enjoyed themselves and cannot wait for a return visit. Top marks all round

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, Owner at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Louise1611,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your "fantastic" experiences at The Oxford Arms.

We have read your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you so much again!

Bryn Jones and the team at The Oxford Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bit of a rip off, unfortunately”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

When we arrived I really wanted to like it and thought I might have potentially found a great new country pub to take friends and family to.

First impressions were good- beautiful decor, very friendly staff and a good mixture of locals and diners. Almost immediately we were advised that some menu items were unavailable, which was a shame but with the standard and special menus there were plenty of other options.

I often for the 'lime battered cod & chips' (£15) and my sister had the sirloin steak with sauce (£22). When the food came it was tasty but we were both disappointed and surprised that at those prices neither came with any vegetables or even a hint of side salad at all. We'd assumed this was included due to the price and the fact it wasn't mentioned at all when our orders were taken- something that is normal practice elsewhere. This left the meals feeling a bit dull and a sour taste in my mouth due to the poor value. On mentioning it to the waitress she advised she could bring it up with her manager but he wasn't working that night so would have to be tomorrow. Not really sure how that helped!

A real shame as the venue is stunning but I won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, Owner at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Travelling_Wide,

Thank you very much for your detailed post. We appreciate your kind comments about our venue and tasty food .

We treat all of our responses seriously and would like to look into your concerns further.

We feel our dishes are sold as a complete meal. If guests want to add any more side dishes (vegetables or salads), these are priced on the menu individually.

However, thank you for great idea, we will start actively selling our side dishes with our meals.

Again, our apologies that we did not live up to either yours or our expectations.

If you change your mind to visit us again, please make yourself known to me.

Thank you,
Bryn Jones and the team at The Oxford Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford Arms also viewed

Wootton by Woodstock, Woodstock
 
Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
 

Been to The Oxford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing