We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very run down, I stayed four nights and my room was never cleaned. They only'made' the bed. I had take cold slightly warm showers. Dirty vents, molded shower, hard bed, stiff towels. I was locked out of my room twice because the staff said they thought I had checked out. Funny, because 2 other guests were at the front desk with the same complaint.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your stay and feedback. We would like to sincerly apologize for the issues you experienced with housekeeping and your room keys. It is regrettable we fell below your expectations. We take all comments seriously and always strive to provide clean and comfortable accomodations for our guest. Again, thank you for all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    83
    29
    33
See reviews for
93
45
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Forest, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Restaurant will rip you off if you order room service. I paid cash for my room service only to find out they had charged my card as well. The food was awful and I paid $20.61 for it once. Sure didn't want to pay for the nasty stuff twice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank your for your stay and review. Sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with your billing at the restaraunt. I hope I have resolved this to your satisfaction adn we look forward to you staying with us again.



Mickeah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Hills hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I liked this hotel. I am originally from St. Louis and moved about 13 years ago. I returned, and stayed in this hotel for a family reunion on Memorial Day weekend 2013. I have forgotten the manager's name (although he gave me his card to have me call him when I came back to town) but he was exceptionally nice and accommodating to our family.

After working the Ritz Carlton-St. Louis for 5 years, I can honestly say that some people just cannot be pleased (apparently some of those people are in my family). Yet, a hotel concerned with its image must at least try. I can say that this hotel does a fine job of going out of its way to make people happy.

The hotel was really clean and the location was excellent- right off of I-55 and I-270 (both of these highways will make a trip to almost anywhere in St. Louis less than 30 minutes long).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are always very happy when guest contacts is and bout wonderful service they have receoved. As soon as i received your comments I forwarded them to all management staff. This will ensure the staff knows what a great job they have done and also they are recognized for their efforts. Thanks again for your for your kind review.

MIckeaH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is my fourth or fifth time staying at this property in as many years and I feel that there has been some sort of construction every year. Allthough I don't love this hotel, I am traveling with a client and this is their choice as it is close to the office in St. Louis that we travel to. Parking can be a challenge dependinng on how busy the hotel is and part of the parking lot was being used for contruction materials/vehicles, etc.

The front entrance is currently under remodel and so you have to enter from the conference area - which is fine and not an issue. The lobby itself has just been renovated and it looks very nice. The check in process was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The room I was in appears to have been remodled in the past few years and it is larger than most rooms in this hotel class. But, it is very basic and has a little wear. The bathroom counter space is amazing and I wish that all hotels offered this much counter space!

The hotel is attached to a bar and we have always had a good time here - apparently it is a pretty popular place as it indicates they have received awards for best bar in the area. They have live music every night and we have never been disappointed. The food is good and servers are helpful.

I was not impressed with the bed and it seemed old and was uncomfortable. In addition, the heater/ac unit was loud and couldn't seem to regulate the temperature and was incosistenet. The hallways were VERY loud and I didn't get much sleep. Anytime anyone in the hallway opened/closed their door, you could hear it. And, if anyone was talking in the hallway, I could hear every word and the hallways were busy all night long - odd for a Tuesday night!

The staff at the front desk mentioned that there have been new owners within the past year and they are putting $40 million into the renovation. I am glad to see this as the hotel was definitely a bit dated. If the lobby is any indication of how the hotel will appear when complete, I am excited to see the end results. I do hope they invest in new beds and work on getting the noise under control.

I know I will stay here again in future years and I look forward to see the improvements!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear SDRivergirl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the renovations being made. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
265 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was very difficult to find the front desk given all the construction. I had a terrible time. Staff is apologetic and understanding--don't take it out on them, but my guess is that it will be nearly a year before this mess of a dump is put back in service. I can see the potential. If they were offering less it would have been one star. I just found out that not reviewing is worse for an establishment than a bad review, so I will stick with it. However, they have a long way to go before I recommend this place word of mouth.

Room Tip: Somewhere else, for now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb_organic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We understand how renvations can negatively affect ones stay. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Yes, this is an older property. Yes, it is undergoing renovation. BUT, our room was clean, the staff extremely friendly and the 4th floor room quiet. If you want a luxury hotel, this is not it, nor did I expect it to be. I found what I expected and would stay here again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review our property. We look forward to serving you again soon once our renovations are complete.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is under construction/remodeling and the website did not mention it. I booked a room with free breakfast in hotels.com and the hotel charge me 25$ for the breakfast and said that I have to call hotels.com for refund. Do not waste your vacation booking this hotel, we will never stay there again..!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank your for your stay and review of our property. We sincerly apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We are in the process of a mulit-million dollar renovation and we do understand how it could negatively affect ones stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you once our renovations are complete.


Thank you!
MickeaH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Hills
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center
3.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Property: Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Address: 10709 Watson Rd, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed newly renovated guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe for breakfast & Twisted Tree for lunch and dinner or in-room dining. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within short 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking for your convenience. Guests that didn't arrive by car but want to explore the city, we offer Avis car rental on property. Our central location positioned at the intersections of Highway I-44 and I-270 offers an ideal location no matter what brings you to St. Louis. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium home to eleven time World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals. Adventurers visit the tallest man made monument in the US, the Gateway Arch soaring into the sky at an impressive 630 feet. Thrill seekers gear up for massive roller coasters at Six flags over Mid America & then cool down at Hurricane Harbor. Little explorers enjoy a full day of hands-on learning, creativity, experimentation & interactive play at the Magic House located just up the street. Nearby corporations include Liberty Mutual, ADP, Maritz, Lutheran Church Missouri Synod & General Electric. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 Saint Louis, MO - Sunset Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing