We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean/remodeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The most important thing to me is that I feel safe and the room is clean, this hotel was both. They are in the process of remodeling, which it needs, the staff were all very friendly.The bedding was clean and crisp, the shower was a bit worn but clean. If you want to save money and cleanliness and safety are important to you, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 305 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am from this area of St. Louis, so when I come back to visit, it is most convenient to stay near family. But even if that were not the case, I can see the advantages to staying here: it is very clean, safe, and central to many area attractions, with easy access to highways. The property is well-maintained and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoogieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lobby greets you with smoke. We booked 2 queen beds. We walked in the room to find 2 double beds. We called the front desk who stated they were queen - NO WAY! We were tired with 3 kids and a dog and thought we could deal with it. We put our 3 kids in one double and my husband and I in the other. These beds were so uncomfortable - springs in my back, bulges - did not get any sleep and I am pregnant. My daughter fell off the bed because she was cramed in the bed with her brothers. I did not think the room was dirty, old looking but not necessarily dirty. Then came breakfast. My husband took the kids down to the "buffet" and guess what no buffet that morning. Guess what - we immediately checked out and did not keep our 2nd night reservation.

Room Tip: Go anywhere but here if you have a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear CLM6,

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. I am glad to know that you found our location suitable for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if you found our bed accommodations uncomfortable for your family. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance at a latter time to show you what we have done.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked through Hotwire and received a very good value. The gentleman at the front desk was so pleasant and accommodating. After we were almost all checked in, my husband asked for a room where we could see our car, and he cheerfully changed our room. The room was clean and comfortable. Newspaper at the door in the morning, coffee and tea in the lobby. The lady at the front desk said they were renovating the hotel and it will be completed by early 2013. The room we had was not one of the renovated ones, but it was fine. We were only there long enough to sleep and shower, so did not get to check out pool, fitness room, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcbsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked through Priceline and normally I am happy with the ratings that Priceline uses but this time I was extremely disappointed. The room was just ok but when u went downstairs the first floor hallway was smoky and the carpet was taped together. Went into the pool area and the indoor pool was ice cold. The hot tub was dirty and stunk. It smelled so bad we didn't take the kids back down. I as extremely disappointed. Started researching other sites for future booking.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonomac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I were traveling through the area for work and stayed here for a night. As platinum Priority Club members we spend a lot of time at Holiday Inns, so I thought this would be another good experience, as they typically are. I was happy to see that there was plenty of parking for our truck, but other than that I was quite disappointed.

When we arrived to check in the front desk seemed to be understaffed. There were four people in line in front of us and it took quite a while for the lone front desk associate to take care of everyone. Just as we were next in line another associate jumped in and helped, but after a long day of driving it was not pleasant to wait so long for our turn to check in. The service was friendly, however, and we were checked in quickly.

The walk to the room was a bad sign of what was to come. The elevator was very old and it showed. The carpets in the hall were filthy, wrinkled, and badly torn. They smelled horrible, letting us know that at some point, this hotel had definitely allowed smoking.

In the room things were no better. The room was, in general, not clean. In the bathroom there were toenail clippings on the floor, hair in the tub, and the exhaust vent was falling out of the wall. The wallpaper in the room was scuffed and peeling in many places; the A/C unit was in disrepair; and the drapes were stained and could not be closed all the way. Our neighbors were watching TV and we could easily hear the TV and their voices due to thin walls. Even the furniture was falling apart.

As for the bedding, it was terrible. The mattress was so old that it was worn through and springs were visible. The pillows seemed more like old t-shirts stuffed into a pillowcase than an actual pillow. Next to the bed there was black goo on the wall where something had been spilled.

We were exhausted and needed to be up at 3:45 the next morning, so we just went to sleep and dealt with our discontent. However, I think it’s important that others know what our experience was.

I’m not sure how this Holiday Inn managed to get the new branding (they were supposed to have been renovated), but needless to say I won’t be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThreeStarAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear ThreeStarAdventure,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around.

It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on service, cleanliness and the bedding. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We will address these points. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I booked a hotel room for the weekend of 9/15 thru 9/17. I initially wanted to stay at the Hampton Inn across the street but when I called to make a reservation they said their pool was closed to be painted and they were a bit snobby. I checked out Holiday Inn's website and thought it looked very clean and the rooms did not seem outdated. The lobby is very nicely decorated and front staff is very friendly. As we made our way to our room the hotel still seemed very clean. Once we got to our room it was a complete change. The room had a moldy smell and the bathroom appeared to only have been wiped down. The tub had a ring of dirt that would not come off even when I tried to scrub it, which the hotel needs to look into because as a guest that is disgusting to see. On the way to the pool area it smells like cigarette smoke so strongly. Parts of the hallway carpet appear to have been cut off and taped back together with a different kind of carpet. Also when we left for the day they only made the beds and did not take our used towels. They sent someone up to take the towels and give us new ones but the housekeeping woman was so rude. She seemed to bothered to bring us towels and take the dirty ones which should've been done in the first place. I cannot complain about front staff they were very attentive and friendly. Overall hotel is not as clean as they claim it is. For the price (around $112/night) you will be able to find a hotel somewhere else. Please note weddings are hosted here so be prepared if you stay here for a noisy night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lu102384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear lu102384,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Hills
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kirkwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
3.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn St. Louis - Lindbergh Boulevard
10 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 18 in Maryland Heights
709 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Address: 10709 Watson Rd, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range: $99 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW-Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe for breakfast & Twisted Tree for lunch and dinner. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking. Our central location positioned at the intersections of Highway I-44 and I-270 offers an ideal location. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium, home to the St. Louis Cardinals. The Gateway Arch soars an impressive 630 ft. Thrill seekers gear up for roller coasters at Six Flags & then cool down at Hurricane Harbor. Little explorers enjoy a full day at the Magic House located just up the street. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 Saint Louis, MO - Sunset Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing