We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Im trying to type fast due to wi-fi not staying up. Rooms outdated, carpet worn and dirty, rips in carpet , old, outdated tv, inside pool freezing, dirty hot tub, concrete wet and slippery in hall to pool. Slow check-in. Noise is terrible in halls. Got this room by bidding on price line. Not a 3star upscale as advertised. Shame on you Priceline and Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hastypuddins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your visit and review of our property. I certainly apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We rely on guest feedback to know how we can better meet your needs. Our property is under new owner/management and phase I of our nenovations has started. We ask that you come back and visit Holiday Inn Route 66 in the future. We are making great changes at our property and would love for you to review us again.

Thank You,
Mickea Hicks
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 304 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and three friends of mine stayed in this hotel as a base out of which we wanted to discover St Louis. For this, it is a good place as almost all of St Louis' highlights are at a max of 15 minutes driving distance. The rooms are large, there is sufficient parking space, an indour and outdoor pool, excellent aircondition and free wifi. Should I visit St Louis again, I would definitley think about visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennisj2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for you great review of our property. Our location in centrally located to all of St. louis major attractions. Im happy you found it convenient. Im delighted you we able to use and enjoy the many amenities our hotel has to offer. Please come and stay with us on your next visit to St. Louis.

Thank You,
Mickea Hicks
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not my favorite hotel in St. Louis, but the best bid on priceline. It's the kind of hotel room that I won't walk barefoot on the carpet. Desperately needs updating, especially the hallway carpet. And even though i had a non smoking room, the hallways smelled liked smoke and my room had a really weird musty smell.
Not the worst I've stayed in, but I would try for another hotel in another area before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlagroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback and I am sorry for the disappointment experienced during your stay. I am pleased to announce that the Holdiay Inn is scheduled for renovation this upcoming fall. We ask that you reconsider visiting our propery in the future so you can experience the wonderful changes that will take place. You will not be disappointed!

Warm Regards,
Mickea Hicks
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is in dire need of updating. Although the room was adequate and clean, the smoke detector was hanging off the wall, not sure if it was even attached. The wi-fi was almost non-existant if you could even stay connected. Worse I've ever experienced. As far as all of the common areas the carpeting was terrible. Stained, really dirty in places and worn in some areas that if you didn't watch where you were walking you could catch your foot in the frayed places and perhaps be looking at an injury. The breakfast was good. I've stayed in better maintained hotels for the price of $102 that we paid. More than a little disappointing for a Holiday Inn. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gymbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thanks for your stay and recent review of the Holiday Inn Route 66. We have recognized areas of the hotel that needs improvement. Our carpets and common areas are included in the first phase of our renovation which will begin in a few weeks. I apologize for your inconvenience and trouble with our wifi. We did reach out to our IT deparment and all concerns with internet have been resolved. We hope that you come stay with us again!


Mickea Hicks
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family of 5 had traveled for 16 hours in a Toyota Highlander with a 3 year old in a carseat. Needless to say we were all cranky and tired. We had pre-booked this hotel to take the 3 year old to Grant's Farm the next day. I was a little worried about the reviews I had read but it was close. My was very pleased from the first time I walked in. Our room was not ready because we had arrived at 1pm. we ate lunch and again tried at 2:30pm to check in. The Man at the front desk was all smiles and asurred me he would have me sleeping shortly. The corner room was beautiful and large enouigh for the 3 year old to play and we had a glorious short trip, ten on to Illinois to finish our vacation. I wish I could remember the mans name so that all could know how wonderful he was. The pool was beautiful, great breakfast, great sleep..THANKS GUYS!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TURBANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your loveley review of our property! After such a long ride, I am happy we were able to accomodate you and your family for much needed rest. Our team prides itself with customer service and its great you not only noticed but took the time to say thank you. I will make sure to share this with the front desk staff.

Warm Regards,
Mickea Hicks
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel needs some updating. The carpets in the hallways are very worn and appear stained and dirty. The hotel smells clean and the furnishings are nice. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom is adequate with a nice shower and tub combo. The hotel staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered in a hotel. Britney was very welcoming and helpful during check-in. She called our room after we had time to settle in to see if there was anything that we needed, which was a nice touch. We took advantage of the indoor pool. It was a bit cool since the heat wasn't on, which was expected since it was so hot outside. The outdoor pool looked nice too but it was a sunny day and we forgot our sunblock. It wasn't crowded and they had plenty of towels for everyone. The workout room looked fine through the windows but we didn't stop in. The lobby downstairs is quite comfortable and they have free coffee with takeaway cups in the morning. ((You can also make coffee and tea in your room.)) Parking is free. We got a great deal on priceline and only paid $50 with taxes and everything. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLovin084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. Its great knowing our staff took very good care of you. I will be sure to share this with Britney. Its been such a hot summer in St. Louis. Im glad you were able to enjoy our indoor pool and the many other amenities our hotel has to offer. Please come back and visit us next time you're in St. Louis

Thank You,
MIckea Hicks
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Was it amazing? NO Was it a clean bed, hot shower and no bedbugs? YES The place is definately in need of a remodel. According to Carlos, the front desk clerk, they are in the process of doing that. There was new furniture in the lobby but they said they are waiting on getting the carpet in. The wifi kept kicking me off every 10-20 minutes. I can't complain though I paid $50 a night for the room on priceline. So it was definately worth the money. Skip the breakfast. It was typical bland buffet.

If you stay here try out the restaurant Mile 277, a motorcycle themed place. My husband, who loves to ride his motorcycle, loved that Wednesday night was Bike Night. The food was great! Try the shredded bbq sandwich. Just so you know, the waitresses dress a bit on the skimpy side, kind of like Hooters. We ate here both nights though cause the food was so good and they had bands both nights.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor. The first floor rooms seems as if it can be really noisy in the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear MeganRN,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you had with the condition of our hotel and the breakfast. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Hills
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kirkwood Inn
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
6.8 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
851 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Address: 10709 Watson Rd, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range: $104 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed newly renovated guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe for breakfast & Twisted Tree for lunch and dinner or in-room dining. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within short 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking for your convenience. Guests that didn't arrive by car but want to explore the city, we offer Avis car rental on property. Our central location positioned at the intersections of Highway I-44 and I-270 offers an ideal location no matter what brings you to St. Louis. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium home to eleven time World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals. Adventurers visit the tallest man made monument in the US, the Gateway Arch soaring into the sky at an impressive 630 feet. Thrill seekers gear up for massive roller coasters at Six flags over Mid America & then cool down at Hurricane Harbor. Little explorers enjoy a full day of hands-on learning, creativity, experimentation & interactive play at the Magic House located just up the street. Nearby corporations include Liberty Mutual, ADP, Maritz, Lutheran Church Missouri Synod & General Electric. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 Saint Louis, MO - Sunset Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing