We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated rooms & multiple cars broke into over night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outdated rooms & multiple cars broke into over night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here because it had good reviews on here and was close to our family. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First we asked for a non-smoking room o. The first floor but they said they didn't have any non-smoking rooms on the first floor so they put us on the second floor in a SMOKING room. By the time we got to the room we were to tired to fight for another room. The room service stops at 10:00pm and there is no free breakfast. On Saturday night our car was broken into as was several others. Our GPS and wallets were stolen. While making a police report...along with several other people...the manager comes out and doesn't offer any condolences or assistance, instead she stated "it happens here ALL THE TIME"! As we were leaving this morning the cops had returned as more guests were getting ready to leave and noticing they had been broken into as well. There are no video cameras on the premises so it's doubtful if the individuals will ever be caught. This hotel is not worth it. The only good thing about this hotel were the pleasant housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longanecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    83
    29
    33
See reviews for
93
45
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

No continental breakfast with the high price room. The business lounge's computer is probably one of the first computers ever created. A roach was in our bathroom and they charge you a $7.95 tourism charge. The prices in the resturant are too expensive and not very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Hills hotels

Holden, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Recently spent two nights in the hotel using a discount booking site. The price I paid was a bargain for the accommodations. The room I had was on the first floor facing the pool. The room was quiet and appeared to be recently renovated, nice carpet, extremely clean, and well furnished. The bed and bedding was very comfortable. Bathroom included an overabundance of towels and wash clothes. Other amenities included coffee pot with plenty of coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. The high-speed wi-fi was dependable. I also used the computer in the business center which had a printer attached. Desk staff was extremely helpful in providing suggestions and directions.

The Saturday evening of my stay there was a wedding and two reunions being held in the attached convention facilities. Even with all the attendees, I did not find parking to be a problem, in fact the back lot was empty.

The room might be overpriced at it's rack rate, since there is no breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed 2 nights there when visiting friends nearby. The room was clean and odor-free ( not always the case at other accommodations). It was quite warm that weekend, but the A/C kept us very comfortable. There was a pool at this location, but we were too busy to be able to use it. No free breakfast at this location. The staff was very helpful when our shower faucet handle came off in our hand and got it fixed quickly. In their defense the faucet was new and for some reason had not been properly installed. We didn't think this was too big an issue and did not ask to be compensated (despite having to trek down to another room to shower until the problem was resolved), but it also was not offered. All in all no complaints from us. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paj3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights because I got a Priceline name your own price for $50. For that price, it was fine. At the $100 or so for regular price, I would have felt cheated. You can get a Drury Inn for that price and they are much nicer.

The good was that the room was spacious and clean, housekeeping was nice and the front desk clerk (Jason, I think) was helpful and pleasant. The hotel was right off the highway and we had no trouble getting downtown for sightseeing. There are a lot of restaurants around and a convenience/liquor store next door. The bed in the room was nice, the sheets seemed crisp and clean and there were both soft and firm pillows. The free wifi in the rooms worked great!

The bad was that the breakfast buffet was $10, which is not a big deal, but so many hotel, even cheap ones, now have a free breakfast of some sort, that it's notable that Holiday Inn does not even put out a box of donuts. The food was good though and the restaurant staff were friendly. The place is a little dated. It looks like some remodeling has been done, but the elevators were a little rough inside, the couch in the room had seen better days, and the TV was old and would go wavy from time to time. If I were running this hotel I'd get someone in to spruce up a few of the rough edges that make it look like there hasn't been much attention to detail.

The worst thing about the hotel was the door slamming though. On both Friday and Saturday nights, the stairwell door, which was near our room on the second floor, was banging all night and in the early hours of the morning. Not just opening and shutting, everytime someone used it it would BANG shut. I'm pretty sure a new hinge on that door would let it close softer and not wake up that whole wing. We had the air conditioner on in our room and a white noise machine, but it still woke us up over and over. Sunday night it mostly stopped, but I think there just wasn't hardly anyone else at the hotel Sunday night.

Anyway, overall for $50 a night it was clean, safe, and in a good neighborhood, had free wifi and had a good, if overpriced restaurant. For $100 a night you could do better in the same area and I wouldn't stay here unless I could get a good deal like that, but for the price I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Hotel was outdated. The parking lot was small. The pool was not convient locted in building. There was only one washer and dryer for laundry facilities. The dryer did not work properly. Everytime we visited the pool the were out of towels. No free contiental breakfast. The prices for food in the restuarant were high. The fire alarm system looked very old.

The shower in our room was small. The whole bathroom was small. Our room was missing a suitcae holder. I was told over the phone when I called regarding questions I had that the hotal had went thru a MULTI-MILLION-dollar renovation. We were diapappointed. We were sad we had to spend 2 nights there after staying the first night. We stayed at a Drury Inn and Suited our 3rd night are were very very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltonunhappy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was our last night's stay on the way home from the Grand Canyon and we picked it because of the proximity to downtown St. Louis which was the main advantage. Overpriced for the age of the hotel. Hotel seemed to be updated somewhat based on the furniture but the bathroom was dated and shower tub was dirty. King sized bed was comfortable and it was fine for just a night's stay but I wouldn't stay longer than that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Hills
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center
3.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Property: Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Address: 10709 Watson Rd, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed newly renovated guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe for breakfast & Twisted Tree for lunch and dinner or in-room dining. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within short 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking for your convenience. Guests that didn't arrive by car but want to explore the city, we offer Avis car rental on property. Our central location positioned at the intersections of Highway I-44 and I-270 offers an ideal location no matter what brings you to St. Louis. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium home to eleven time World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals. Adventurers visit the tallest man made monument in the US, the Gateway Arch soaring into the sky at an impressive 630 feet. Thrill seekers gear up for massive roller coasters at Six flags over Mid America & then cool down at Hurricane Harbor. Little explorers enjoy a full day of hands-on learning, creativity, experimentation & interactive play at the Magic House located just up the street. Nearby corporations include Liberty Mutual, ADP, Maritz, Lutheran Church Missouri Synod & General Electric. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 Saint Louis, MO - Sunset Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing