We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Log Cabin - ( Heaven )”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trefeglwys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luxury Lodges Wales
Certificate of Excellence
WEST MIDS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury Log Cabin - ( Heaven )”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just back from a wonderful Easter 7 night break at Log Cabin No. 2. Colin and Mandy met us with the keys, a friendly, welcoming couple. On entering the Log Cabin it was beautiful, spotless clean and very roomy, especially for all 6 of us who were staying. A lovely bottle of wine, fudge, tea, coffee and milk etc awaiting us after our journey. Their was a 6 seated hot tube which was amazing, just outside on the veranda which we made full use of. The cabin had 3 bedrooms, one of which had a large en-suite & a 4 poster bed. An open plan living, kitchen,dining area. Another cosy living area upstairs if you wanted to sit quietly and read a book. A lovely jacuzzii in the downstairs bathroom/also laundry/iron facilities etc. The views from the cabin were totally amazing, we walked/cycled along the valleys admiring the stunning scenery. Out and about we had a lovely meal at the local Pub - The Red Lion which was about 15 mins walk away. The owner Clair was a lovely welcoming lady (a very good cook I may say). Also we visited the Wagon and Horses in Newtown a short drive away to enjoy another meal, staff were really friendly and welcoming and amusing at times. Another night we had an Indian curry at Gulshan also in Newtown , again the staff were lovely and the food was nice but recommend you take a cardigan if you go it was freezing. (Bearing in mind it was a very cold week!)We visited Aberystwyth for the day and had fish and chips on the pier from a lovely little chip shop opposite the arcade. We had a ride on the cliff top railway - the fit members of the family walked up (I didn't). We visited Elan Valley and Clywedog Dam in Llandidloes which is a MUST just to see the stunning scenery and to see where Barnes Wallace tested the bouncing bomb. Lovely if you enjoy walking and picturesque scenery.

What can I say every single thing was a total positive - 100% . We really did not want to return home. If you are looking for a great awesome get away, in luxury with total peace and quiet this is the place to visit. We will definitely return - CANT WAIT !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
109
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

just had a wonderful 3 night break staying in the crows nest lodge.Colin and Mandy were so
friendly and welcoming .This is 5 star accommodation at its very very best .The Lodge is set right at the very top above everything else ,with stunning views across the valley.The kitchen,lounge and dinning room is open plan , their is 2 double bedrooms,bathroom with 2 people jaccuzzi bath,With shower.The hot tub was amazing ,we cannot praise this little gem enough this place is absolutely stunning.Would recommend to family and friends.Thanks again for a fantastic relaxing short break definitely will be returning in the near future.see you soon Gina&Eden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61ginac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales-uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this lodge for easter weekend for myself,my wife,daughter & 2 of her friends-arriving @4.30pm Saturday 30th March to Tuesday 2nd April.When we arrived at Luxury Lodges we were all amazed at the sight of these beautiful big wooden lodges tucked into the sides of the sloping hillside-it was like looking at a picture postcard of Skandinavia! Colin & Mandy were so friendly when we met them at their stunning home were they gave us the keys for the lodge. When we opened the door we were all taken back by how warm and how stunning these lodges were-they looked fab from outside but were even better inside-so modern immaculately clean&tidy, there was even tea,coffee,sugar and milk for us-& a bottle of wine& box of welsh fudge-talk about attention to detail!! No messing- this lodge is 5* plus -kitchen,downstairs bathroom with Jacuzzi,1st floor en-suite with shower,3 bedrooms,master with 4 poster bed-separate lounge upstairs with open plan gallery leading out to open balcony terrace with views to die for!!- I can go on and on -these lodges are amazing-not forgetting the private hot tub on the ground floor terrace!!!!!! My daughter and her friends loved it-we all did. Colin even came up every day to check the temperature and chlorine etc. We have stayed in some stunning hotels-including The Parc Plaza in London-we had the Pent House suite overlooking River Thames-that was 4* -so we all agree Luxury Lodges are definitely 5* PLUS;; Colin & Mandy have created a masterpiece here and their attention to detail is second to none. Absolutely stunning and we cannot wait to return in the summer-thank you so much for weekend break we will never forget-see you both soon;;; David,Louise &Hollie Thomas& Megan &Natalia.

Room Tip: Just book it you will not be sorry-this place is unbelievable;;;;
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful week's holiday staying in the Crow's Nest, which is situated up high and past all of the other lodges (so very private).

The lodge has an open plan kitchen/diner/living room, two bedrooms and a bathroom with a massive jacuzzi bath! (Tip: don't be alarmed by a loud noise after 5mins of the jacuzzi being turned off - it only lasts a couple of minutes and just blows air through the holes to clear the jets!).

We LOVED the HOT TUB!!!! Missing not having one here at home!! It was so nice to relax in it after a long day's walk! It was thoroughly cleaned before we arrived so needed an evening to re-heat the water, but it was at temperature for the rest of our stay. I think Colin comes and checks all the hot tubs every day around midday and puts in a cleaning solution.

The lodge was immaculate and we were careful to try and leave it in a clean and tidy state. Take no notice of some reviews moaning about cleaning the oven. If you clean up after cooking a meal, like you would at home, you won't need to worry about scrubbing it on the morning you leave!

The lodge is well equipped with kitchen equipment - plates, cups, glasses, wine and pint glasses, cutlery etc. We took washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets but there were some left in the cupboard. Make sure you remember to take hand soap and loo roll. Oven gloves and tea towels are provided, although we took our own. There is a huge fridge/freezer with an ice dispenser, oven, hob, microwave and washing machine (Instructions for these in bottom drawer in kitchen!)

Bed was so comfy!!!!

Towels provided in bathroom but we took a couple of spares for hot tub.

We did a lot of days out:
Red kite feeding in Rhayader at Gigrin Farm and Devils Bridge.

Climbed Snowdon in snow and ice (the train wasn't running when went!)

Hafren forest - walked to the source if the Severn. (Beware this took us ages to find the starting point - despite asking locals and a postman!). Go to Llanidloes, to Short Bridge street and turn left at end and follow forestry commission signs to Rhy-de-benwch picnic site! Don't follow the signs to Hafren forest as you first enter the village! These will take you to Staylittle (about 7 miles and then once passed Staylittle you'll see a sign for Hafen Forest and parking in 5 miles back in the other direction!! - track very narrow at some points! Much better to go via Short Bridge Street - we learned the hard way!!!! Anyhow nice walk - rather steep in places and boggy but keep to the path and it's okay. Free car parking. Toilets were locked but there was a clean portaloo!! There are other less strenuous walks - leaflet available with routes by info board or get it online.

Go to Elan Valley - lovely setting and lots of walks to do (we combined two to make them longer). Nice cafe, information centre (with loos!) too. Free car parking.

Colin and Mandy were very welcoming, but once we were settled they left us alone. They gave us a few contact numbers in case we had any problems.

The only thing that could be improved is the wifi, as we couldn't get a connection from the lodge. We drove down to the antenna at the next lodge and it was okay. We just needed it for finding out information about places we were going to visit. Apart from this it was a perfect stay!

Thanks Coilin and Mandy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balletali_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A wonderful long weekend at Luxury Lodges in February 2013. Me and my girlfriend just used the trip to relax and get away from the laptops/ phones, hustle and bustle of everyday life and it was perfect. We stay in the Crow’s Nest and enjoyed the super large bath, great facilities and outdoor Jacuzzi.

Mandy and her husband were great hosts and really left us to it which was exactly what we wanted. There was plenty of collateral on what else you could do in the area though if you wanted to pack out your time with activities.

Spotlessly clean and spacious - highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from our 6th visit to Luxury Lodges Wales. We usually stay in 'Sunrise View' but we thought on this occasion we would give the new 'Crow's Nest' lodge a try and we were so glad we did.

It is a single storey lodge located right at the top of the hill and it is extremely private and peaceful. There are huge windows all around the living room which give the most amazing views of the surrounding area and there is a similar view from the hot tub. There are two large bedrooms, a bathroom with a jacuzzi and shower, and a big open-plan living area and kitchen which is very spacious and comfortable. This lodge seems ideally suited to couples or smaller families.

We will definitely be back for our 7th visit soon and would love to stay in the Crow's Nest again, but we would be just as happy in any of the other lodges as the whole place is just so peaceful and relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwmc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A chance find on the Internet but what a place. Not cheap but you certainly get what you pay for. Spotlessly clean and perfectly equipped. Panoramic views (we stopped in Crow's Nest). Best beds we have ever slept in. Hot tub and sauna were just the icing on the cake. The area was fantastic too with loads to do. Thoroughly recommend the shooting centre in the same village, Devils Falls, Elan Valley and the Red Kite feeding centre at Rhayader. We will definately be going again!
Mandy and Colin were very welcome and accommodating and certainly know how it should be done

Room Tip: Crows Nest was the best for privacy and views (in our opinion) but only had 2 bedrooms compared with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefeglwys
4.7 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trewythen Lodges
Trewythen Lodges
#1 of 5 in Llanidloes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
14.5 mi away
Penllwyn Lodges
Penllwyn Lodges
#1 of 2 in Garthmyl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unicorn Hotel
Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 12 in Llanidloes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Lodges Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Lodges Wales

Property: Luxury Lodges Wales
Address: Trefeglwys | Grandstand Caersws Powys, Trefeglwys SY17 5PU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Trefeglwys
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Trefeglwys
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Luxury Lodges Wales Hotel Trefeglwys
Luxury Lodges Wales Trefeglwys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing