We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Lodges Wales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trefeglwys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luxury Lodges Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A chance find on the Internet but what a place. Not cheap but you certainly get what you pay for. Spotlessly clean and perfectly equipped. Panoramic views (we stopped in Crow's Nest). Best beds we have ever slept in. Hot tub and sauna were just the icing on the cake. The area was fantastic too with loads to do. Thoroughly recommend the shooting centre in the same village, Devils Falls, Elan Valley and the Red Kite feeding centre at Rhayader. We will definately be going again!
Mandy and Colin were very welcome and accommodating and certainly know how it should be done

Room Tip: Crows Nest was the best for privacy and views (in our opinion) but only had 2 bedrooms compared with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
107
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wow what can I say. Amazingly luxurious beds are sooo comfortable best nights sleep in years. Peaceful lovely setting. Plenty to do walking wise. Lovely lovely people so friendly and helpful but left you to it as well. Hottub extremely private and the best holiday expierence I've had in years! Recommending to all my friends would highly recommend you try this. Small cost to use sauna but well worth it! Lovely big jacuzzi bath. The ultimate relaxing romantic break!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supersalsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a beautiful place! Very easy to find. Came here to relax for a weekend and we left well and truly rested! There is plenty to do here like walking and cycling routes, although we didn't take advantage of these on this occasion. The lodges are built to a very high standard with a lot of attention to detail. Hot tub was fantastic. Thanks to Mandy and Colin for some recommendations of places to eat. They were available if you needed them but left you to it which was great. There was an informative file made up in the lodge of things to do in the local area which was helpful too. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbirchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a great one week stay in the lakeside lodge for new year. The lodge was really clean and very spacious. Collin and mandy were very helpful upon arrival and throughout the rest of our stay. The hot tub was great and really relaxing. However it would probably be slightly cramped if there was more than 4 adults in it. Due to the lodge being self catering, you have to supply your own cooking oil, hand wash, shampoo etc.. However tea, coffee and sugar are supplied. There are also laundry facilities in the lodge, so there is no need to take your own iron.
During our stay we went to the border quad treking at shrewsbury which is a 50 min drive from the lodges. It was a great day out.
We also went to the red lion pub down the road a few times. However if you wanted to walk to to the pub there is only access by walking on the road.
Overall our stay was excellent and we loved our daily visits from the ducks and the ginger cat :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L1M5W10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wow, I cant believe just how much we all fell in love with this place. We cant wait to go back and are planning this already. We had an amazing Christmas week here with every home comfort you could possibly want. We had so much fun, doing very little which is exactly what we wanted! As a family of 6 with children aged 9,7,2 & 1 this place was perfect for a family, but as all lodges are away from each other would also be perfect for couples. We fell in love with the local area and everyone we encountered were friendly.

I was worried that with small children, the week would be spent anxiously awaiting for something to be damaged but this lodge is wonderfully solid and incredible well equipped for all ages. The £100 holding deposit is a great idea as I think it holds people accountable for what they do. This Lodge felt like home and we all treated it with as much respect as we would our own home!

We all loved the hot tub and enjoyed its many benefits.. MANY hours were spent in there, it was amazing.

The lodge had many lovely and thoughtful touches, including the complimentary wines, fudge, shortbread & milk ( everything you need after a long journey ) to the information books.

My only negative about these beautiful lodges, are the check in and out times, which if I am honest I cant complain about without contradicting myself, Check in from 4.30 (Although on the day of our check in we received a call to say our lodge would be ready from 2pm which was great, but as we live 4 hrs drive away and it was 11.30am it didn’t help us on this occasion but is great that they do that :-( , we also had a nightmare journey and didn't arrive till 6 double :-(:-(..) And check out is 10 am. I just feel we only got a good 6 days out of the lodge but paid for 7.. but like I said.. Can’t have one without the other. Also the lodge was SO clean, they need this time, But would have loved to have enjoyed more time here and not rushed so much on the check out day despite getting up at 5am to enjoy it and have more hot tube action ;-).

The owners were lovely, friendly and very approachable. Left us to ourselves and were there if we needed anything, which to be fair we didn’t, because we had everything we could possibly want!! Thank you for an amazing break, no doubt you will see us very soon... LOVED IT XX

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaattree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

For New Year we decided to treat ourselves to a 3 night stay in the Honeymoon cottage at Luxury Lodges Wales after hours of trawling websites for a decent place to stay. I am very pleased with the choice we made and although it was probably more expensive than we intended, it was definitely worth it. The cottage is positioned directly next to the owner's house but still manages to remain private and quiet. It is well equipped with a modern kitchen, and nicely chosen pieces of furniture, well heated, always nice and toasty and we even had a Christmas tree twinkling away in the lounge when we arrived. The bathroom is enormous, with lovely 2 person jacuzzi and the bedroom has patio doors leading out to the private hot tub in a little summerhouse.

The area is beautiful, perfect if you like walking/biking and the outdoors, and although we were there over the New Year period, we still found some welcoming places to stop for a cuppa in the little towns nearby.

The owner provided some milk, tea, coffee, sugar and a nice bottle of wine and fudge. The only downside of the cottage I can think of is there are no extra consumables i.e. no more toilet roll or cling film etc, but then you must remember it is a self-catering holiday at the end of the day, and the owners are very helpful, and sorted any queries immediately.

We would definitely return and may try out a lodge next time with a bigger group of people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Recently returned from luxury lodges, we had a great time. So relaxing great to chill out. Hot tub was fantastic great way to end the day after sightseeing. Lodges spotless. Met with Mandy on arrival very friendly, just left us to it during the week which was nice, they where avaliable if need be. Very friendly cat and dog that belong to the owners.
I only had one very slight annoyance during my stay there seemed to be a washing machine/dryer on quite a lot during our stay in the garage which is connected to the honeymoon cottage,sound was a slight annoyance.
We had a great time, would go back in a second, looking forward to trying out one of the lodges.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefeglwys
4.7 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trewythen Lodges
Trewythen Lodges
#1 of 5 in Llanidloes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
14.5 mi away
Penllwyn Lodges
Penllwyn Lodges
#1 of 2 in Garthmyl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unicorn Hotel
Unicorn Hotel
#1 of 13 in Llanidloes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Lodges Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Lodges Wales

Property: Luxury Lodges Wales
Address: Trefeglwys | Grandstand Caersws Powys, Trefeglwys SY17 5PU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Trefeglwys
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Trefeglwys
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Luxury Lodges Wales Hotel Trefeglwys
Luxury Lodges Wales Trefeglwys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing