We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great campsite with a lot of possible acitivities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trecynon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dare Valley Country Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Trecynon B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great campsite with a lot of possible acitivities”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here between visiting St Fagans and Brecon Beacon. The park is just at the edge of Brecon Beacon national park, and there's a lot of nice walks out from here.
Nice area for camping both with caravans and tents.
There's a riding stable that makes guided rides into the national park.
A lot of nice eating places and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The walks and the views here are amazing. You can climb high or take a stroll around the lakes.

Our children cycle their bikes here and it is so safe with no traffic.

Lots of wildlife to see, particularly if you are lucky to see the otters and the peregrines. The visitors centre is worth a look even to see the feeding station and all the different birds.

There are plenty of things for the kids to do, and the food is very nice and well priced.

There is a campsite and a hotel / hostel here but cannot comment on it personally as we have not stayed, but have family and friends who use it regularly and love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareD670206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the campsite in Dare Valley. The campsite is run well, with marshall on duty for any problems. The shower and toilet facilities are kept clean and close to the pitches. Our pitch was right next to the big park and is great for any age kids. There is a cafe onsite that serve food and drinks which are reasonably price. Overall was great place to camp and loads to do in area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshpete09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited Dare Valley Country Park yesterday and had a wonderful time. My boyfriend was brought up in the area and hadn't been since school, and I had never visited before. The photos in the visitor centre were fascinating and told a lot about the heritage of the area. The park itself was lovely and I was really impressed at the lack of litter etc around.

Really interesting how following some mild regeneration in the 1970s, nature has reclaimed the site. Will definitely return and only wish we lived closer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheli_Cymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dare Valley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Valley Country Park

Property: Dare Valley Country Park
Address: Trecynon CF44 7RG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Trecynon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trecynon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dare Valley Country Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape into the glorious countryside of Dare Valley Country Park and discover one of the best kept secrets in Wales! Set in 500 acres of outstanding countryside. Dare Valley Country Park was the first country park in England and Wales to be created from land ravaged by industry. Nineteen pits and drift mines once tore open the land and the countryside was black. Today the river Dare tumbles and meanders from the mountains in the north west of Cynon Valley through a valley of oak, birch and alder. Waymarked trails and orienteering courses take you alongside streams and lakes or climbing to panoramic views. The woodland has regenerated and wildlife abounds. Wild flowers colour the hillsides in the spring and summer while Herons, Coots, Dippers and Cormorants make their home in the lake. Our two star accommodation offers comfortable surroundings at a reasonable price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing