We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a unique experience. The area is beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Back of house (ocean side).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back of house (ocean side).
Front of house (road side)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Back of house (ocean side).
Front of house (road side)
Kitchen stocked with all of your cooking needs.
Living Room with doors to deck and beach
Main Level Queen Bedroom with doors to deck.  New laminate flooring.
Main Level Queen Bedroom, door on left opens to front hallway/living room
Upper Level Queen Bedroom with sliding doors to private deck.
Upper Level Queen Room
Upper level bunk bed room with 2 twin beds
Upper level bunk bed room with 2 twins, bunk bed has double on bottom, twin on top.
Upstairs bathroom with corner shower
Upper level reading nook
Back deck
Back deck
Private Walkway to Beach
The Wide Beach and the road to Carova Cottage!
Horses on the dune beside Carova Cottage walkway.
Horse in the driveway.
Horse resting in back yard!
Wild Horses often graze in the grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Carova, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathleen...
1 review
“Truly a unique experience. The area is beautiful and horses visit daily. Relaxing”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

The house was very comfortable and everything you would need was provided other than food. The views from both decks was awesome. When it said 4X4 required because access to the cottage is by beach only, my thought was how fun. For me, it was the only downside of the entire trip, The drive was brutal. Everyone else appeared to be enjoying the beach drive. I guess it may be my age. LOL Very pleased that I was allowed to bring my dogs. The children loved the horses, playing on the deck, and walking to the beach daily. We had a wonderful time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful location, pet-friendly and comfortable.”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

If you want to see the wild horses, this is the place to stay. Every morning they were either in the yard or on the beach. The home was comfortable and the perfect size for our family. The boat ramp and canal are an easy walk and next year we will bring our kayaks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Carova Cottage! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you! We hope to have you back to Carova Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your visit, Carova is indeed a special place! There are lots of horses on the beach this summer! Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again. Gay and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Foxisland...
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Beach House”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place was great, no complaints at all. The kitchen was stocked with basic cooking needs, beds were comfortable, and the house was nice and clean when we arrived. The owner (Gay) was more than helpful throughout the entirety of the booking process, and made booking our week easy and worry free. We loved waking up right by the ocean, and seeing the horses milling around the house. Not for your standard vacationer, you need to be willing to pack in food for meals, and make the sometimes tricky beach drive, but for anyone looking to break the mold of a normal beach vacation, this is the place to be. We are looking forward to returning next year.!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Thank you so much, we are so glad you enjoyed Carova Beach and our little cottage. Carova is definitely not your typical vacation! Please visit with us again, would love to have you back! Gay and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisnercod...
West Virginia
1 review
“So relaxing”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice place, and location. Wild horses everywhere, great views from home and very relaxing. Will return that's for Sure! Nice owners, and was eager to help and do anything for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you so much! We would love to have you visit Carova Cottage again! Gay & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kashmir51...
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach Cottage”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was the best! We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and were extremely pleased. The cottage is wonderful and very clean plus the views are beautiful. The kitchen is fully stocked to meet any cooking needs. Our favorite part were all the wild horses on the property. We will be going back for years to come including our two dogs. What made the vacation even better were the owners. What a pleasure to rent from and easy to get in touch with. I give two thumbs up and an excellent rating!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you! Please stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing