We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
Chateau and Village combined

We enjoyed a walk around the Chateau, it’s more of a castle really. On arrival at 1pm we found a... read more

Reviewed May 17, 2018
FrancesB615
,
Albury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Interesting place

We visited here on a Wednesday afternoon in April. Had looked at various sources of information... read more

Reviewed April 26, 2018
Sheff6061
,
Malton, United Kingdom
Read all 51 reviews
  
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
21
21
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
21
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english translation surrounding area well worth a visit landscape village chateau information french process
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018

So impressive from the surrounding area as it dominates the landscape and the walk around it is lovely with great views. But ..... inside there’s little to see and it’s quite pricey to get in. They are in the process of excavating and refurbishing areas inside so there’s limited access to the buildings.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank penny025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

A chateaux that is beautifully presented with iPhone technology to show you around. The views are incredible and the furnishings are stunning. The whole Family enjoyed it with a lovely light lunch stop at the restaurant opposite afterwards. Highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank mr232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a walk around the Chateau, it’s more of a castle really. On arrival at 1pm we found a sign outside saying it would be open at 3 so we walked down to the old village and had an excellent lunch at Le Lavalette before returning at 3. We followed the route around the castle, there are great views and information is available in English as well as French. It takes about an hour if you see everything and therefore works well combined with an amble round the village. In the village itself there is a beautiful covered area and on the corner of the square there is an office where you can get more information on when the chateau is open and if the office it shut in the afternoon, it probably means the lady who runs it is up the hill at the chateau and it is open. Beware, it’s quite a steep hill so if that’s not for you, there are some parking spaces near the chateau entrance!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank FrancesB615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

We visited here on a Wednesday afternoon in April. Had looked at various sources of information which suggested it was open all day, or closed 12 to 2, or closed 12.30 to 2.30. We arrived at 2.45 to see a chalk board on the gate to say it would open at 3! There is a small shop/reception inside the main gate. We paid for a wander around by ourselves (not a guided tour in English which are limited at this time of year). It was 2.50 Euro each. We were given a tour booklet in English as well as a map of the various points of interest and an aerial photograph. A little French is required at the start. The tour booklet was very informative and the English translation was generally very good. Most of what you can see and walk around is the defensive walls that have been partly renovated. They are plainly still in the process of renovation, having started I think in 1980. We spent in all around an hour for our visit.
It was well worth the admission price although you are limited as to what you can do when inside. Some great views of the surrounding countryside. Apart from the initial ramp from the entrance to the church area, the rest is relatively flat with a few steps into some areas. The history of the site is very interesting and it's certainly somewhere we would take visitors.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sheff6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Well worth the visit for the views and to work up an appetite for the meal - see adjacent review. Of course, it's not a grand (Loire) chateau with all the trimmings but it's well woth a detour

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews